Pet Peeved

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 2:00 am 18 comments

Picket Fence (2)A house with a white picket fence,  2.3 children, and a dog:  the American dream.  I’m not sure where this idea originated, and my half baked google search failed to provide any clues.  Nonetheless, I have heard this statement practically all my life – so I’m gonna run with it.

Based on the above premise, I’ve missed out on major portions of the American dream.  First of all, there’s no white picket fence surrounding mi casa.   Secondly, I have three children (that’s .7 too many).  While my son isn’t as tall as his sisters, I find calling him .3 children insulting.  How dare you, statistical analysis.  The third deviation from the alleged norm: where’s the dog? 

puppyBefore you break out the gallows, try to understand.  I’m no heartless tyrant, nor am I immune to the cute and cuddly factor.  I’m just practical.  My house already fluctuates between comfortable abode and sty on a regular basis.  I don’t need anything else to clean up after.  Another mouth to feed?  Given my record with house plants … I don’t think so. 

We’ve had fish, but cleaning the aquarium was a drag.   Dwarf hamsters are outrageously cute, but where would we keep the cage?  More importantly, who’s gonna clean it?  No one can resist a a puppy.  But who’s gonna feed, walk, train, and play with the little creature?  We haven’t even discussed food and vet costs.  And what about smell?  How do you de-smellify a pet residence?  

The kids claim that they will care for the proposed pet.  Personally, I’m not so sure.  These are the same children who can’t be bothered to put away clothes that have already been folded for them.  If, and most likely when they lose interest, who’s responsible for the newest addition to the family?  Mmm Hmm.  Thought so.

I have allergies.  While I’m not a sneezing mess, the eczema on my hands gets aggravated when I handle animals.  This being said, I’ve been tempted with the idea of a kitten.  They’re really cute and playful and when they grow up they seem to be pretty self-sufficient.  Maybe it could keep me company while I’m blogging.  Hubby doesn’t like the idea.  He says the dust situation in the house won’t get any better if we have a cat.  Is he taking a shot at my domestic skills?  You bet he is!

 (pictures from here, and  here)

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Parenting. Tags: , , , , .

Ooops!!! Hehehe Random Thoughts

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vasan  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Can’t agree with you more :). Also 2.3 kids = 2 kids who put 80% effort and 1 who putbin only 70%. Or some variation of it :$). Jk. Another concern would be travel. Just to add to your reasons not to have one.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 8:47 am

      Fine, just go ahead and dash all my hopes and dreams! Was that dramatic enough? I’ve been practicing.

      Reply
  • 3. Camille  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 8:50 am

    We’re pet lovers, and at one time we had 8 animals. We’re down to 4 now, with our favorite cat being eaten by a great-horned owl. (At least it was quick.)
    Now they’re all old and expensive (old-folks medicines) … all except the cat, that is. She’s old too, but she’s healthy and cheap. If you want ease of care, go for the cat.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 8:55 am

      Please accept my sympathy concerning your favorite cat. Cats do seem to be the easiest to care for. Thanks for the insight.

      Reply
  • 5. Doraz  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I can relate!
    🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 11:44 am

      🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Raji  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    You have my unequivocal support to put your foot down and say no! I have seen all my friends who succumbed to their childrens’ pressure be the sole caregiver for the dog. Mind you, now they love said dogs more than anything, maybe even more than the kids, who knows. So they don’t mind, but still, that is beside the point. And you cannot de-smellify the place. Impossible! You want company while blogging? trust me, you have it, you just can’t see me 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 2:46 pm

      Thanks for bringing me back to my senses and thanks for the company 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Gary  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    No worries! I don’t have a white picket fence either nor do I have a mere 2.3 children. We have 4 children and all boys which is totally off balance from the american dream. We do however have a dog so I suppose we can still say we are american. LOL

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 4:05 pm

      LOL. Luckily we can tailor make the dream ;).

      Reply
  • 11. Mom Gone Mad  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Oh buy a puppy! please!

    And then I can live vicariously 😉

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 5:43 pm

      As much as I’d like to oblige you…Hubby is holding fast. Yeah, I’ll just blame the puppy resistance on him 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. emma  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 12:14 am

    personally, i think the ideas about the white picket fence, came from “family tv shows” in the late 50’s and early 60’s. Y’know the kind… the kind wherein the mother also had on a lovely dress and her pearls while cooking dinner, and the dog’s name was spot and that father called out, “Honey, I’m home!” You just couldn’t see the dust – cuz it was black & white TV – oh, and the housewives weren’t too busy blogging back then! 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 12:24 am

      LOL! Good point. “Leave it to Beaver” and “Father Knows Best come to mind”.

      Reply
  • 15. She talks like June  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 1:22 am

    “And what about smell? How do you de-smellify a pet residence? ” Well you dont. The smell lingers.. in your house , in your hair, your couch..I simply call it Eau De Collie.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 7:00 am

      Lol. I’m starting to get the point 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. deadmousediaries  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Ditto on the nice to meetcha. And thanks for reading! If I had a prize to give the very first unknown reader to stumble onto my blog, you would win! (Can I just envision a prize and send it to you via telepathy?) It was very exciting to see an unrecognized handle in my comments file!
    I am brand new to the blog world, only a week-old yesterday, so I have a lot to learn about connecting, linking, promoting, making my site appealing, etc. I’m here for the learning experience and to force myself to finally start writing for myself.
    I loved your piece on the American Dream and like several of your other readers, I think a cat would fit in nicely — despite the hairballs. We live across the road from a farm so we have a never-ending supply, inside and out. The maintenance issue that some of your readers mentioned is a great selling point for cats over dogs. Cats can stay home and be in charge of the house if you want to slip out for a long weekend whereas dogs need a sitter or a vacation of their own. Do be prepared to come home to cat tracks on your kitchen counter, fur on your dining table and possibly cat pee on your bed pillows if you fail to provide enough attention in the days before you depart however. Good luck with all that. For my part, my American Dream would be not be as rich without my continual parade of critters like Yappy Sue, Pete and RePete, Bart, Smokey Jo Lonesome, Miss Cleo….

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 7:12 pm

      Your prize is duely noted and gratefully accepted. Hope to see you again.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors