Salad for St. Patrick’s Day Anyone?

Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 12:00 am 18 comments

I’ve decided that I should take the nutritionists’ advice about adding more greens to my diet.

But salad every day can be a bit boring.  And if organic, it can be quite expensive.  Now that spring has sprung or is in the process of springing,  I’ve noticed what looks like an exciting alternative to store bought greens.  We’ve had atomic weeds for quite some time now.  The bigger they get, the more they look like salad to me.

Take a look at a few of the beauties that we’ve been cultivating with absolutely no effort.

Among the rocks…

In the dead Dead DEAD grass…

If you squint your eyes just right this one kinda looks like cilantro.

Couldn’t these pass for young chives?

This is what the grocery salad looks like.

This is the backyard version.  It could work.  Right! Right?

To add variety to the mix I’ve decided to conduct the great avacado experiment.  As you can see a root has extended from the seed down into the water.

In this shot you can see a sprout growing out of the top of the seed. 

So how long does it take for the seed to go from sprout, to tree, to acutally bearing fruit?  One to two decades!?  Oh well, I’m not that hungry right now anyway.  Until then, backyard salad anyone? 

Warning:  Do not try this at home.  If it’s a weed, don’t eat it.  It may be poisonous!

And by the way, Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  Is salad green enough for ya?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Spring Has Sprung Because I’m a Patron of the Arts…

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tony  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 2:54 am

    The backyard version looks good enough to me.
    By the tone of your warning disclaimer I think you are a bit worried about any alternate salad advice oming back to you in a law suit

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 3:36 am

      Well, just in case… We live in a country where a woman won millions of dollars from McDonald’s because she spilled hot coffee on her lap while driving and there was no warning label on the cup that said it contained hot liquids. Can you imagine? When one orders coffee, don’t they expect it to be hot?

      Reply
  • 3. Mom Gone Mad  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 6:09 am

    Harhar – McDonalds lady. I swear – litigation has made idiots of us. Move along. No Erin Brokovich to see here!

    best of luck with your diet. I’ve already crashed and burned on my doomed-to-fail plan!:-)

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 9:43 am

      No diet for me. I’ll try to make a few more sensible choices, but none of those lose several pounds in a short while. I didn’t get like this overnight so I don’t expect to change overnight.

      Reply
  • 5. Doraz  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Making the right food choices can be sooo hard. I just love my dark chocolate and oatmeal raisin cookies. I will just have to throw in more salads! lol 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 10:03 am

      We’re big lovers of oatmeal craisin cookies here. Something about those dried cranberries- yum.

      Reply
      • 7. Doraz  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 10:13 am

        Oh great, now you gave me something else to try! lol 🙂 Next trip to the store! lol 🙂

        Reply
        • 8. Era  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 1:34 pm

          They’re good! Slightly tart but good.

          Reply
  • 9. S. Le  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Dandilions make dandy salad greens. Some purchased salads now include them. Not so sure about the rest. They certainly look tasty!

    My Mum loves to sprout avacado pits. Looks like yours is coming nicely!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 7:02 pm

      We do have dandelions, but as you’ve said, I’m not sure about the rest either.

      Reply
  • 11. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Those are some lush weeds you are growing there.
    Not sure how long it takes for an avocado seed to produce fruit. We have a potato growing in our window, probably at the same rate as that avocado.

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, March 18, 2010 at 1:21 am

      Happy gardening. I think the potato will start producing long before the avacado.

      Reply
  • 13. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Is it just me or should this salad involve shamrocks as well?

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, March 18, 2010 at 1:22 am

      I think clover is one of the few plants that I didn’t see in the lawn. I’ll have to work on that for next year.

      Reply
  • 15. emmap  |  Thursday, March 18, 2010 at 12:33 am

    this post made me chuckle! thanks!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Thursday, March 18, 2010 at 1:23 am

      Bon appetit 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Tasneem R  |  Saturday, March 20, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Oh yes salad everyday could be very boring ! Think of some good alternative mate !
    Era, suiting to the theme of your post here’s a funny test for you ! Enjoy !
    The Salad Personality Test -What salad are you like?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/salad-personality-test/salad-personality-test_instructions.asp

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Saturday, March 20, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      Interesting, there’s a salad personality test. Thanks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

