Because I’m a Patron of the Arts…

Monday, March 22, 2010 at 11:13 am 35 comments

During spring break the kids and I spent some time in the great outdoors soaking up the beautiful sunshine, accumulating vitamin D, and plucking, digging, and chucking giant weeds.  But how does this make me a patron of the arts?  Pay close attention, this explanation is even more convoluted than usual.

While making the rounds at the local music shop, my daughter saw and fell in love with a ukulele.  She decided that she had to have it.  But how was she going to pay for it?

She thought, and thought, and then she thought some more.  Not having enough allowance saved up, she asked if there were any jobs that she could do to earn the rest of the money.  My eager mind went to work.  I couldn’t think of anything.  

When we got home from the music store I noticed the fabulous weeds dotting our landscape and it came to me –  $0.50 per weed.   And so we spent a few hours a day over spring break plucking weeds.  The weather was glorious – sunny and breezy with not a cloud in the sky.  All that fresh air made me happy – yes I worked with her, there were plenty of weeds to go around.  On one day my other two children came out and helped us clear our flower beds of the dead shrubs that had succumb to the winter frost.  We were on a mission.

Here was the landscape before.  Notice the dead shrubs and half of a stop sign .

Here it is now – sans the dead shrubbery and half a stop sign.    (We didn’t weed out the stop sign – it’s still there.)   The beds need further clearing and must be replanted but… one step at a time.

Before there were lots of weeds… and weird shadows.

Now the yard is weed and shadow free.  I think that fat shadow was stalking me.

We enjoyed quality family time, lessons on life and money, and wholesome outdoor activity… but how does this make me a patron of the arts?  There’s a new ukulele player in town. 

By the way, in the process of clearing the yard I got some cool sticks to put in my giant vase.

Neat hun?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Salad for St. Patrick’s Day Anyone? Anticipation

35 Comments Add your own

  • 1. S. Le  |  Monday, March 22, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Clever you! Perhaps she can be the next Tiny Tim! (ooh! Sorry. Scary thought!)

    The landscaping looks fabulous! I also like the sticks in your large vase. I have some thin bamboo in mine. Love the green walls as well.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, March 22, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      Ever since she got the ukulele I’ve been thinking of Tiny Tim so I know what you mean.

      Reply
  • 3. Hannah  |  Monday, March 22, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Wow, a new ukelele AND some natural room decor? I think that makes you a platinum level patron!

    We’ve done the pay-per-weed scheme before. Except that my son ended up yanking a lot of grass out of the yard. We needed to clarify the definition of a weed!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, March 22, 2010 at 2:19 pm

      🙂 Our weeds were so pronounced there’d be no mix up with the grass. Our grass is pretty dead looking right now but I’m hoping with the aid of the sprinklers it will come back to life.

      Reply
  • 5. emmap  |  Monday, March 22, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    nice job on the weeds! my daughter can play 2 kinds of ukeleles. the one she is learning now is basically a 4 stringed guitar. she loves it.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, March 22, 2010 at 10:03 pm

      When we first got the ukulele home I was skeptical, but I’ve grown to love its sound.

      Reply
  • 7. Doraz  |  Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 12:22 am

    You know….you are all a bunch of very talented people! Enjoy every moment of wonder! 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 7:25 am

      Thank you, we do try 🙂

      Reply
      • 9. Doraz  |  Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 10:19 am

        Hope all is well and happening! 🙂

        Reply
  • 10. Lakshmi Srinivasan  |  Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    umm.. with that kind of weeding skills please send her here the next time she needs to make some money for a purchase.. it can be a big ticket item… we have LOTS of weeds!

    Reply
    • 11. Era  |  Thursday, March 25, 2010 at 7:45 am

      Lol! I can’t afford to keep her on the payroll here.

      Reply
  • 12. Tasneem R  |  Thursday, March 25, 2010 at 3:22 am

    O yes very neat ! The sticks are suiting the giant vase . And yeah the weed free ground is looking amazing ! So finally you’re daughter earned the money enough to buy ukulele !
    Here’s a fun test suiting the theme of your post !

    Your Garden Personality- Which type of garden goes with your personality?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/garden_personality/garden_personality_instructions.asp

    Reply
    • 13. Era  |  Thursday, March 25, 2010 at 7:46 am

      Thanks, who knew a few sticks could seem so important?

      Reply
  • 14. souldose  |  Thursday, March 25, 2010 at 7:48 am

    A shadow stalker, ha ha ha you’re funny

    Reply
  • 15. dipali  |  Friday, March 26, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Such fun, Era!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, March 26, 2010 at 6:48 am

      Fun really can come in unexpected places – like weedy yards.

      Reply
  • 17. souldose  |  Friday, March 26, 2010 at 1:13 am

    My mom’s sisters has a vase that big, it had flowers on mother’s day but they died long ago… I’m gonna share the stick idea with her, it’s pretty neat yeah

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Friday, March 26, 2010 at 6:49 am

      Bamboo works well also.

      Reply
  • 19. Tony  |  Saturday, March 27, 2010 at 3:57 am

    That’s a nice Op sign. I also like that big slab of rock in the garden. Don’t ya just hate lawn weeds, it’s a constant battle to keep the lawn weed free.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Sunday, March 28, 2010 at 5:58 pm

      I applied some weed and feed (weed killer/fertilizer) after manually weeding but there was a thunderstorm 12 hours later that washed the stuff away. The grass is only slightly greener and some weeds are starting to grow back. I guess I’ll be out weeding again.

      Reply
  • 21. starlaschat  |  Monday, March 29, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    What a great project and a happy ending to boot. I loved the picture with the shadow. Weeding can be rewarding it looks so nice when your done. Looks like your doing well and having fun with your family!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Wednesday, March 31, 2010 at 1:09 am

      Hi Starla! It’s great to hear from you again. It was a great project and there are still some left over weeds to be taken care of.

      Reply
  • 23. Doraz  |  Wednesday, April 14, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Starla is having a party. Wanna come on by for a bit? Hope all is well. 🙂

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 4:06 pm

      Thanks for the invite. I somehow fell into another vacation from blogging 🙂

      Reply
  • 25. Doraz  |  Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    Snap out of it! 🙂

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 6:39 pm

      🙂

      Reply
  • 27. Doraz  |  Friday, April 16, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    The party ar STARLA’S is fun….Come on over. Bring the family! 🙂

    Reply
  • 28. Anonymous  |  Friday, May 7, 2010 at 8:30 am

    ROFL

    Reply
  • 29. starlaschat  |  Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Hi Era just checking in. :+) Hope all is well in your world. Warm wishes.

    Reply
  • 30. Mom Gone Mad  |  Thursday, July 8, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Era, come back! Where are you? Hope all is well with you. Send a mail?

    Reply
    • 31. maidinmalaysia  |  Tuesday, August 31, 2010 at 10:19 am

      exactly! come back!!!

      Reply
  • 32. starlaschat  |  Wednesday, September 15, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Hi Era, Judy coming by to say HI Hope all is well Miss You.

    Reply
  • 33. starlaschat  |  Wednesday, September 15, 2010 at 8:56 am

    Judy, thats funny I just woke up and I’m drinking my first cup of coffee, I didn’t mean to say Judy I ment to say Just. so Just.:+) I guess I should wake up before I try to type.

    Reply
  • 34. Tony  |  Wednesday, December 29, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Era!!! Are you ever coming back??? Miss your blogging stories…

    Reply
    • 35. Era  |  Monday, January 17, 2011 at 11:06 pm

      I will be back! Not sure of the exact date but I am coming back soon. Thanks for inquiring.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

