Ooops!!! Hehehe

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 2:00 am 8 comments

As you may know, I have a love/hate relationship with technology

On Thursday, I loved it.  The mechanic was servicing my Bentley …bentley(OK – you busted me, its a mini van) old vanI didn’t even notice the time roll by.  I just made use of the free Wi Fi and visited my favorite blogs.  Viva technology! 

However, on Monday May 4th, 2009, technology literally made my life flash before my eyes. Allow me to explain.

I wanted to work on my blog but I was too tired to write.  What else could I do?  I know, organize my digital photo gallery!  Genius, right?  My photo directory was a disorganized mess.  Yes, the perfect chance to bring order to my digital world. 

I was moving at the speed of light and slaying dragons. 

  • duplicate photos – deleted
  • new folders – created and named
  • new  images – labelled and categorized

Alright, just one more duplicate image to delete and I’m done!  CLICK!  Uh … where did all my pictures just go? Confused, decided to press “control z” .  That would undo whatever I just did, right?  After the command I didn’t see any change so I pressed “control Z” again.  The screen went blank for a second and then came back on.  This was not the screen I left.  Where was my picture directory!?!

I panic.   My heartbeat is now the loudest thing in the room.  I search through my directories and find N-O-T-H-I-N-G.  It was all gone.  Pictures of  family vacations, birthdays, school projects, pictures of EVERYTHING since 2001  !!!  That picture of the kids on Cinnamon Bay flashes before my eyes.  The picture of my Dad holding my daughter in the hospital – vivid in my mind’s eye.  The picture of  Hubby trying to throw me into the pool – gone…gone…gone.  All 4,466 images!

  • I signaled Hubby for help. 
  • He sat down and inquired. 
  • I tried to explain.
  • He inquired some more.
  • I had no satisfying answers.
  • He admonished me to a greater standard of care.
  • I sobbed uncontrollably (on the inside, it’s a figure of speech, people – have I not mentioned my stoicism? Hold on, I need a tissue for my blurry eyes and snotty nose.)
  • He continued tinkering with the machine. 

I’ve heard that if you are trying to hide confidential information, just deleting everything on your hard drive is not enough.  So there’s hope!  Right?  Maybe I can call the Geek Squad.  I’ve seen the advertisements by Best Buy.  Then  it appeared.  My Picture directory with all 4,466 images.  Thank God! and thank you, Tech Support – I mean Hubby!

(pictures from here and here)

PS:  The majority of our pictures were backed up on an external hard drive.  But all the new stuff from the last three months was not.  You guessed it. We’ve backed up everything now!

PPS:  I edited a previous post after it had been published and then pressed “update post”.  The entire post except it’s title disappeared.  I can’t make this stuff up!  I assure you I did nothing wrong.  It’s either WordPress or Vista.  I’m not taking the blame for this one!

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , .

A Virtuous Woman Pet Peeved

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom Gone Mad  |  Monday, May 11, 2009 at 9:20 am

    The computaah is out to get you. Never turn your back to it. Not for a minute. Those luddites were onto something!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, May 11, 2009 at 9:42 am

      I know!

      Reply
  • 3. Camille  |  Monday, May 11, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    That gave me cold chills. What you described is a recurring nightmare of mine!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, May 11, 2009 at 4:07 pm

      That was sheer terror. Thankfully it ended well.

      Reply
  • 5. Gary  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    oh man! That’s SCARY!!!

    I’m REALLY glad this story ended on a happy note!!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 4:02 pm

      Me too. Meeee tooooo.

      Reply
  • 7. deeola  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    HA HA HA.

    Maybe this time you will try learning more tech stuff.

    Glad it came out well for you afterall.

    deeola
    http://laughtoday.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 11:17 pm

      Me too, thanks 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors