Technology Tech-shmology

Wednesday, April 29, 2009 at 2:00 am 6 comments

It’s great to be alive in the 21st century.  Can you imagine being a contemporary of  Gallileo and just knowing that you were the center of the universe?   Or how about living in the time of Columbus, and wondering if you might fall over the edge?  We are fortunate to live in an age like no other.  Indoor plumbing, electric lights, automobiles, computers! …

D-V-R.  Need I say more?  No need for a separate VCR .  Record right into the satellite receiver.  You can even pause and rewind live TV.  Yes!  That’s what I said – rewind live TV!  Where has this been all my life?

flying-car1We still have quite a ways to go, however.  The other day a friend mentioned that she was stuck in traffic for three hours.  Now if I’ve learned anything from Star Trek (yes, big Next Generation fan here), it’s that if we can dream it, we can do it.  So, where are the flying cars? Yoo hoo, still waiting…

Unfortunately, there is  also a dark side to all of this technology.  First there was the laptop.  If there had been an option to have one surgically attached, I think Hubby would have gone for it.    Then, there was the Blackberry that I couldn’t pry out of his hand (hmmm, maybe that was surgically attached).  That device simply made him more mobile and even more distracted.

One evening (when normal people had stopped working for the day) Hubby was on a conference call while driving the family to one of our favorite restaurants.  The first time we neared the restaurant I REALLY did try to get his attention.  After passing it, I simply sat back to enjoy the ride.  He was just too caught up in his conference call. 

By the second pass, our kids started noticing our predicament.  Finally, we were able to get his attention and point out that we had orbited the restaurant 3 times, adding an extra fifteen minutes to our journey.  I’m afraid to think about what might happen – now that he has an iPhone.

Don’t get me wrong.  Technology is great, but come on ………….

Well if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em.  It’s my turn now.
Are you going to get off the computer”?  Hubby asks.  “You can’t blog all day long, can you?
And I implore, “May I?”

computer-addiction1

 

(above pictures from here, here, here, and here)

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Our World. Tags: , , , .

They’re Plotting Against Us Date Night Revisited

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom Gone Mad  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Oh hon. As the long-suffering spouse of an iphone geek, I can tell you right now that its all downhill from here. The only sage advice: “If you can’t beat ’em, join em”

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 6:09 am

      …or hide the iPhone. I’ve threatened to pitch it out of the window on several occasions. Do I have the guts to follow through? That remains to be seen.

      Reply
  • 3. Jax  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I joined facebook on Saturday nite. Will you be my friend?

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 5:09 pm

      Certainly.

      Reply
  • 5. Nitya  |  Monday, May 11, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Ah. Err. Ahem… I am the technology freak in my house. So I am just going to hide out this one.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, May 11, 2009 at 11:47 am

      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

