What I Did Wrong: Crime and Punishment (Essay#1)

Tuesday, March 31, 2009 at 7:00 am 3 comments

This essay was written by the little guy who just turned 10 a few days ago.  It is the first  installment in a three part series (See post titled On Crime and Punishment for background).

What I Did Wrong

Everybody makes mistakes.  You’ll probably be sorry about it, but sometimes you will still get punished.  You might get punished at the best of times (maybe during a fun project but since it’s for school and therefore mandatory, you get to do it anyway) or, you might get punished on the worst of days (possibly your birthday which will cut short all the fun activities).  I have been punished because I failed to clean up the Library, the Bedroom, and the Bathroom.

I failed to clean the rooms because I was being lazy (not a good thing for a growing person).  Also, since none of the objects lying around were mine, I thought I wouldn’t have to clean up anymore.  I should have known better.   You’ve told us many times, ‘When you clean up pick up everything even if it’s not yours’.

I can prevent this scenario from reoccurring by thinking about all the punishments I might get if I do not do my duties.  I can clear away tempting thoughts and focus on what I am supposed to do.  I can also turn off my computer when I am cleaning, so when I try to use it again I have to go through the extremely annoying process of turning it back on which is worse than cleaning (seriously).

Arvind
3/21/09

PS: He admits he was being lazy.  Well, I guess there is something to be said about heredity after all.  Yes, I’m lazy, but I’m working on it.  He used a beautiful font which I am not able to show in this version of word press.com but I’ve enclosed an image of his original Word document so you can get the full effect of his work.  I am proud that he put so much effort into it.  Oh, and by the way, this punishment did not take place on his birthday.  Sisters’ essays appear in tomorrow’s post and the next day’s (Why We Don’t Have Privileges  and Oops…for background please see On Crime and Punishment).  Stay tuned…

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

On Crime and Punishment Why We Don’t Have Privileges: Crime and Punishment (Essay#2)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Tuesday, March 31, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    It DOES look like a lot of effort was put into this! I know I would be impressed to get this from my 10 year old son. I’ll have to try this one out when the little guy gets older…it seems like it is a much more effective punishment than just sending him to his room right away.

    Reply
  • 2. wordjunkie  |  Wednesday, April 1, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Hi Era. I’m impressed! With this essay and the fact that the kids actually sat and wrote them. Especially liked the end of this essay:)

    Reply
    • 3. Era  |  Wednesday, April 1, 2009 at 2:47 pm

      Thanks for coming over and reading. Poor fellow, his computer is a bit of a relic so re-booting can be laborious or at least very time consuming. Luckily I no longer suffer that fate as described in It’s Alive.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

