Spring Has Sprung

Monday, March 15, 2010 at 12:00 am 20 comments

Spring has sprung here in Austin.  The signs are everywhere.

The birds are getting really noisy.

Although the grass is still dead, ground covering weeds are sprouting flowers everywhere.

My shoe is in the shot to show how small most of the flowers are.

Wildflowers are getting in on the action.  Is wildflower a euphemism for weed?

Individuality has always been a trait I hold in high regard.  Just look at the audacity of this flower- daring to be orange in a field of yellow.  I have a fascination with tiny ground cover flowers.  They always look so cheerful even though no one really looks where they are walking and they get stepped all over.  Tenacity sure is something isn’t it.

The trees are budding.

Roses are blooming.  I’m glad the rose bushes survived all those deep nighttime freezes.  So many other plants didn’t.

Hedges are bursting into bloom also.  I guess this doesn’t change the fact that this one is overdue for a trim.  I’ll get around to it eventually.  Or hopefully I’ll at least get around to calling a landscaper.

 For now, I’ll just enjoy the flowers.

Now that I’ve seen my shadow, does this mean that winter is finally over?  Look at those jumbo weeds!  They weren’t phased by the cold at all.

 

Sheeesh! The camera adds an extra 100 lbs.  I shouldn’t have eaten that extra slice of birthday cake.  Don’t worry Punxsutawney Phil, your job is safe.  My shadow is too scary looking.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Happy Life-o-Versary! Salad for St. Patrick’s Day Anyone?

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emmap  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 2:55 am

    looks nice… i wish spring would get here soon in my neck of the woods!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 8:01 am

      Winter is beautiful, but at a point enough is enough.

      Reply
  • 3. Tasneem R  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Lovely pictures you have got here ! I too love flowers..! Spring is the best time you see.. And I would love to be that orange flower !

    Fragrance Of Spring – Find your signature spring perfume.
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/spring-perfume/spring-perfume_instructions.asp

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 8:02 am

      I was so impressed by the way the orange flower stood out among the other flowers – the vast majority of them being yellow.

      Reply
  • 5. S. Le  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Love the photos! Gorgeous! Our back garden will soon fill with wild flowers. We live in a woods and have at least 25 varieties of them. So lovely.

    The comment about your shadow is hilarious. I feel that way every time my photo is snapped!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 10:01 am

      I look forward to seeing the spring flowers. I’m told the blue bonnets will be out soon. The woods where you live must be so beautiful!

      Reply
  • 7. Jax  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I love wildflowers. I don’t consider them weeds. I take pictures of them before pulling them up.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 2:10 pm

      I like that – you take pictures of them before you pull them up.

      Reply
  • 9. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Weed, wildflower … potato, po-TAH-to …

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 2:10 pm

      Aha, good point.

      Reply
  • 11. Veda  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Love the pics. Spring can’t be too far behind for Kansas! I enjoy winter, but this year – enough was more than enough.

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 2:13 pm

      I hear ya!

      Reply
  • 13. Tony  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Some beautiful flowers. Maybe we should have more weeds & less grass then our lawns would be greener. Going by your shadow you are very tall

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      Did I mention that the camera not only adds 100 pounds, but it also adds several feet of height.

      Reply
  • 15. Doraz  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Great photography! 🙂 Thank you for making me feel warm and happy with Spring in the air! 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      I just hope we don’t get a crazy cold snap 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Hannah  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    You and I are thinking (and writing) alike today! 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Tuesday, March 16, 2010 at 11:28 am

      It’s a great time of year isn’t it. 🙂

      Reply
  • 19. starlaschat  |  Wednesday, April 14, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Such beautiful pictures! Love all the flowers. Hope you and your family are doing well.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 4:06 pm

      thank you. Yes, all is well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

