Yes Dear, Deer

Monday, March 8, 2010 at 10:21 am 23 comments

Since moving to Texas, I’ve seen many of these signs – but never any actual deer.  Now, in all too predictable fashion, I will describe how this changed.

We like to see how the other half lives, so family and I went driving through an exclusive looking neighborhood.  We oohed and ahhed as we drove down tree-lined streets and  passed great mansions – well, mini mansions, at least.  I used to dream of having a house like any one these.  But I’ve since realized that you have to clean all that extra square footage.  Cleaning is not one of my favorite pastimes.

Anyway, while mini mansion gazing, we were surprised by the sight of not one –  but seven deer.  As we viewed them with wide-eyed admiration, they stared back with doe-eyed disdain, as if to say, ” Can’t we go anywhere without the paparazzi showing up?”   It was obvious that they were not impressed by gawking humans,  a mini van in dire need of a paint job, or a tiny shoot and click camera.  Their reaction might even be described as… underwhelmed. 

There we were, in the middle of civilization – not out in the boonies – yet, there they were.  Amazing.

Heer is a deer – ahem – I mean here is a dere – no wait!  Here is a deer.  There are two others in this frame but they are well camouflaged behind the trees.  There were seven in all but I took a close up of this one in a failed attempt get a stunning photo.  The lighting and her natural coloring wreaked havoc with the camera.  Talk about blending into your surroundings.  I guess that’s how they are able to survive in the suburbs of Texas no less.  Isn’t this like the NRA capital or something?  Sorry, bad joke – don’t shoot me. 

After extensive research (it’s a free blog, Google will have to suffice) I found out that the National Rifle Association headquarters are located in Fairfax, Virginia.  Happy Hunting!  I mean run, Bambi! Run!!!

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

The Ghosts of Christmas Past My Questionable Parenting Skills

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Oooh, did you go to Westlake? Our friends live in one of those neighborhoods you mentioned, and we see deer all the time when we visit them. On the down side, apparently it makes it hard to do any gardening when you live in deer country.

    Had same epiphany on the square footage vs. cleaning thing. I guess if you have the space, you have the professional help. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 11:25 am

      We were near Mt. Bonnell / Westslope. I’d welcome some professional cleaning help now, even with smaller square footage. By the way, do I get to meet you before you move away from Austin? :).

      Reply
  • 3. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Bambi? Is that you?

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 7:38 pm

      I suspect Thumper lives nearby.

      Reply
  • 5. sraikh  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    We see deer all the time where I live. My kids scream and point all the time. 🙂

    And the mansions, I sigh and sigh and sigh some more

    Reply
  • 6. Raji  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    The next time you want to see deer, come to the greenbelt behind our house. When the deer are there you can see them 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. Era  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      Oooo! Can we feed them?

      Reply
  • 8. Gary  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Deere’s are beautiful animals and I’m glad you and your family FINALLY got to see one. There is a raveene behind my house and I see them quite often running around down there.

    I don’t think I could kill one so RUN BAMBI RUN! LOL

    Reply
    • 9. Era  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      It seems like every other house around here has a stuffed deer head on the wall. Don’t look back, Bambi. Just keep running!

      Reply
  • 10. emmap  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Most of the Deer around here “live” up where the “rich folk” do. But that’s because the more affluent you are, the higher up the mountain you live (views etc.). So, that is where the deer are. Although, it never fails, as “we” invade their habitat, every year several families of deer are forced down the mountain and come into town looking for food. Oh – and there is always the token moose-in-backyard-story for the evening news 🙂

    Reply
    • 11. Era  |  Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 10:18 am

      Lol, now we don’t see any moose around here.

      Reply
  • 12. wordjunkie  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Ooh, lovely! And yes, RUN BAMBI!! LOL!
    It’s always a thrill to see wildlife in the urban jungle.
    The area I live in blesses us with monkeys and snakes. Leopards too, but those are thankfully on the other side of a very high wall .

    Reply
    • 13. Era  |  Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 10:19 am

      I love to see monkeys in the wild, they are so playful.

      Reply
  • 14. Jax  |  Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 11:30 am

    March 7th was your blogiversary! Happy Blogiversary!

    Reply
    • 15. Era  |  Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 4:34 pm

      Thank you! I’m surprised you remembered.

      Reply
  • 16. Sudharsana  |  Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Thats why you have professional help with cleaning the house 🙂 When one can afford one of such mansion / mini mansion, help to keep that mansion clean, am guessing is not too expy ! LOL

    I love deer watchin. Have plenty of them in our neighborhood.

    Reply
    • 17. Era  |  Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 4:38 pm

      There is something very peaceful and gentle about deer.

      Reply
  • 18. Doraz  |  Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    OH DEER…..where are you? lol 🙂
    Have a GREAT week with your wonderful family!
    🙂

    Reply
    • 19. Era  |  Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      Thank you, and likewise my friend.

      Reply
  • 20. Tony  |  Friday, March 12, 2010 at 1:30 am

    It took these old spectacle assisted eyes a while to find them. They are such magnificent creatures, I don’t know how anyone could shoot them. But I do like venison. If I had to kill my own meat rather than rely on butcher shops I reckon I’d turn vegetarian.

    Reply
    • 21. Era  |  Friday, March 12, 2010 at 2:18 am

      It can be hard to look dinner in the eyes.

      Reply
  • 22. Juniper  |  Friday, February 4, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    I thoroughly enjoy your style of writing, your stories are very amusing. Thanks!

    Reply
    • 23. Era  |  Sunday, February 20, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      Thank you, for the kind words. Do you have a blog that I can visit?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

