Random Thoughts

Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 2:00 am 21 comments

twitterThis post is like tweeting except :

  1. I’m too lazy to open another tab and go to my twitter account , and 
  2.  the entries are not subject to a 140 character limit.

So in retrospect … it’s nothing like tweeting.

Anyhow, here we go.

After focusing your mental abilities on cranking out a post, an incoming comment is like a vitamin boost. 

Wednesday April 29, 2009 was a cold and lonely day… at least here at Today’s Thought.  Not even one comment came in.  Even the usual spam was conspicuously absent!  I never thought I’d miss those guys trying to peddle colon cleansers on my site.  I tell you, use the word “health” just once in a post and they’ll be all over your blog like talcum powder on heat rash.

Am I the only one who wants to take dance lessons after watching Dancing with the Stars?  Hubby and I took Salsa lessons once.  Lot of fun, but his out of townness became problematic.  I think I need to start dancing again.

I went to the mechanic with a coupon for a $19.99 oil change and came back  with a $1,500 repair bill.  I feel like I’ve been car jacked – not to mention hoodwinked and bamboozled.

Lately I’ve been waking up more tired than when I went to sleep.  How is that possible?

I went through checkout at the grocery, only to realize I’d forgotten to buy a major item on my list (note to self: CONGRATULATIONS on remembering to take the list into the grocery store with you.  Next time, actually READ the list).  I asked the cashier if she would keep my lone bag on the side while I shopped for the forgotten item.  Yes, in retrospect – a bad idea.  However, she agreed at the time and I returned to find that my food had been given to another customer.  No problem, I was able to use my receipt to recreate my purchases at no additional charge.  To the unsuspecting recipient of two boxes of maccaroni and cheese and a twix bar, you’re quite welcome!  Dinner’s on me.

While waiting for my cousin at the hairdresser, I watched the TV mounted up on the wall to the right of me.  The right side of my neck now hurts.  Later that day I went to the grocery (see above incident) and got a cart that had an inclination to go right.  Now my right side (just along my ribcage) also hurts due to trying extra hard not to veer to the right and knock over the contents of the fourth shelf  from the bottom in every aisle.

I hope your week has been better than mine.

(photo from here)

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , , .

Pet Peeved This Made My Day!!!

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vasan  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 8:26 am

    I think you should stick to blogging. Twitter is for guys :). Jk. 148 characters to express random thoughts hmmm. Look at the positive side. You got to spend time with your cousin. You remembered the stuff before you left the store. You may have made a unsuspecting spouse happy with the twix. With regards to comments. Here I am to make sure that does not happen again.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 9:30 am

      Awww, thank you. I hope they got as much joy out of that Twix as I would have .

      Reply
  • 3. wordjunkie  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 8:58 am

    That was a tough week, E. here’s wishing you a better one this time around.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 9:26 am

      Thanks, I need it.

      Reply
  • 5. Paula  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Thanks for your comment. I like your blog very much. I have always been curious of what is life like in America. We are always fed this image of the American Dream, thats true.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 11:24 am

      Hi Paula, thanks for coming by. I guess the American dream is about living the way that suits you, despite pre-conceived notions.

      Reply
  • 7. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 11:28 am

    I agree with Vasan… look at the bright side of things 🙂 As for the pain a little tiger balm would help. Hope you are feeling better now though !

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 11:48 am

      Lol, you know, I never thought about Tiger Balm. I am feeling better. Thanks.

      Reply
  • 9. Doraz  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Era…you are one funny person with the imagination needed in life to go ahead! Do not fear, people visit…lots of time they are too busy to comment! Hope the rest of the week is marvelous!
    🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 12:09 pm

      Thanks Doraz. I hope you have a great week too! 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. cindy  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    I tried twitter for two seconds and gave up. lol. I could not get into it at all. Sorry about your rough week! 🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 1:58 pm

      I’m not into twitter either. Hopefully next week will be better.

      Reply
  • 13. S. Le  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I blog and Twitter. Don’t give either one up.

    What ever did they do to your car?!?

    Good help (grocery store clerk) is hard to find. Sheesh!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 4:34 pm

      You know what, I’m gonna try twitter again. Although, my very presence will probably make it fall out of fashion. (see link in Raji’s comment below, it’s pretty funny) Why can’t I be cool!?

      Reply
  • 15. Raji  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    You may want to read this, Why FB is for Old Fogies (that would be us, btw, whether we like it or not!) http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1879169,00.html?imw=Y

    Reason #9: We don’t understand Twitter. Literally. It makes no sense to us.

    That’s me! I signed up and could not make head or tail of it or the point.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 4:30 pm

      Lol. Great link, it sounds just like me.

      Reply
  • 17. Gary  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Awwwww, sorry to hear you have been having a crappy time. CHEERS!! Here is to better days Era.

    If you start twittering again I will follow you. I twitter like crazy!! LOL

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 9:24 pm

      All right, I’m back on twitter. I’m not an old fuddy duddy yet, lol!

      Reply
  • 19. Gary  |  Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    I just found you and am following you on twitter.

    TWEET ME BABY!!! ROFLMAO!!

    Reply
  • 20. starlaschat  |  Friday, May 15, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Funny Post! Don’t forget to send a check to Doraz :+)

    Reply
    • 21. Era  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 7:55 am

      Thanks! Do you think she takes traveler’s checks?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

