The Hot Sign!

Friday, February 26, 2010 at 12:00 am 23 comments

It’s always good to see this sign.

It’s even better to see this sign. 

Nothing like fresh hot donuts.  Still better is free samples of the hot donuts!  Now that I’m – ahem- older, these treats are just a little too sweet for me.  However when faced with a fresh, hot, free sample… how can I say no?  As an added bonus, this trip to the local donut shop provide great family entertainment.

This is a the assembly line.  The formed donuts are placed on racks and then moved onto the conveyor belt which drops them into the oil to fry.  

 

The donuts are flipped while in the oil so that both sides are cooked and then the conveyor belt leads them under the curtain of sweet glaze and then on to dry  and be boxed.  I was so busy eating my free donut, that I forgot to take a video of the assembly line before they stopped it for the night.  I will just have to add the video at a later date for posterity sake.

On this particular visit it was family night.  Who knew?!   We got snowman shaped donuts and were able to decorate them.  What a treat.   We were so busy having fun that  by the time I remembered to get my camera from the car,  most of our group had started eating their snowmen.  Luckily a few survived for picture taking purposes.

Somehow second my daughter’s snowman looked kind of evil – or just angry. 

My son thought he’d dress his in a suit like a man…

 and mine was totally overdressed for such a casual get together.

I know the holidays are over but I’m posting this becauseI have to keep a record of these things for proof – we actually did do fun stuff once in a while.  We even made candy cane reindeer while we were there.

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

Walkin’ in a Winter Wonderland The Ghosts of Christmas Past

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doraz  |  Friday, February 26, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Well…welcome back! What a fun post! It sounds like you guys had a fantastic time with all of those yummy donuts. It is funny to see a story on donuts, for me. I had mentioned to my family how I just really wanted a donut! I have not had one for a good year..or more! NOW, seeing this….I gotta have one TODAY! 🙂 Stay happy!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, February 26, 2010 at 12:02 pm

      Hi there! It’s good to be back. Enjoy that donut now 🙂 .

      Reply
  • 3. Just a Mom  |  Friday, February 26, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    It definitely looks like you all had a good time!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, February 26, 2010 at 6:34 pm

      It really was fun. I never expected so much from a donut shop.

      Reply
  • 5. Jax  |  Friday, February 26, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Your snownut is good looking & tasting, I imagine. I also like the reindeer.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, February 26, 2010 at 6:34 pm

      Snownut – I like that.

      Reply
  • 7. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Friday, February 26, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Mmmmm, donuts …

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 2:21 am

      I know.

      Reply
  • 9. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Your snowman donuts are ADORABLE!!!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Sunday, February 28, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      Thank you, they tasted pretty good too!

      Reply
  • 11. carlos  |  Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    haha i also i love donuts i really do

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Sunday, February 28, 2010 at 1:00 pm

      Cheers Carlos!

      Reply
  • 13. Tony  |  Monday, March 1, 2010 at 4:02 am

    I have only tried them once at Sydney Airport. We don’t have them here in Tasmania. They were alright but I like Wendy’s Donuts better
    http://www.donutking.com.au/
    I love their Mudcake Donuts, super duper ultra over the top chocolatey

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 8:31 am

      Mmmmm chocolate! I have a soft place in my heart for the stuff.

      Reply
      • 15. Tony  |  Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 8:12 am

        I have a soft place in my stomach for the stuff

        Reply
    • 16. Tony  |  Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 8:14 am

      Why did I say Wendy’s, Wendy’s sell Icecream & Hotdogs n stuff I meant Donut King

      Reply
      • 17. Era  |  Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 9:01 am

        I was thinking that the Wendy’s in Australia had totally outdone ours by selling donuts.

        Reply
  • 18. azfree  |  Friday, March 5, 2010 at 1:13 am

    This is sooo cool. I love Krispy Creme but I’ve never gotten to actually decorate a donut there! I think my favorite part is the lobotomized suit-clad snowman!

    Reply
    • 19. Era  |  Friday, March 5, 2010 at 7:36 am

      Who knew lobotomies could be so delish 😉

      Reply
  • 20. Gary  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Ha! What fun! Decorating doughnuts with the family would be awesome. We used to have a Krispy Kreme here but it closed up about six months ago. Such a shame….I love Krispy Kreme!

    Reply
    • 21. Era  |  Monday, March 8, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      That is a shame that Krispy Kreme closed 😦

      Reply
  • 22. starlaschat  |  Monday, February 27, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    Hi Era! Just seeing if you were home? When you start blogging again come on by and say Hello! Miss reading your blog. I hope you are doing well. I’m stuggling with crispy creams or eatting more veggies and fruit. Guess which is winning? At least for now there’s always hope for the future.

    Reply
    • 23. Era Sundar  |  Wednesday, July 4, 2012 at 8:13 pm

      Starla, it’s great to hear from you again. I haven’t blogged in a long time. I’ve been busy working and have switched to my professional blog – although it’s been a while since I’ve posted there also. Here’s the address http://theeraofjournalism.wordpress.com

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

