The Ghosts of Christmas Past

Monday, March 1, 2010 at 12:00 am 16 comments

This is the last of my delinquent holiday posts.  You know, one of those drafts that I just never got around to polishing up and posting during the appropriate season.

 There have been a couple of years where I didn’t decorate due to travel  or other circumstances.  But there were several years of breaking out the ladder and stringing icicle lights along the eaves.  Times when I questioned the validity of the manufacturer’s warning not to combine more than three strings of lights.  Oddly enough, those seem to be the same years when I had to change the tiny fuses in the plug at the end of the string.  Go figure.  There was one year when I started with the wrong end of the lights and had to take them down and start all over again.

Despite paying my dues thusly, one of my children thrust a dagger into my heart by saying that I hardly ever decorated the house for Christmas.  Do you think if she hadn’t been so busy watching TV and had come out to help me, that just maybe she would have remembered all that decorating?  Not that I’m bitter or anything – excuse me while I snarl.

My decorating efforts were already being questioned when we realized that we had left all of our decorations in the attic of our old house during our move from Florida.  So off we went to get some new ones,  put ’em up just in time, and now it’s time to take them all down (they’ve been down for several months now, this is an old draft).  Nonetheless, I am posting a few pictures as proof  for fond memories.

Outside we placed three cute penguins to let everyone know that JOY was the secret password to gain admission.

The inflated Snowman served as bouncer in case the party got out of hand.

A wreath greeted guests at the door.

Stockings were hung with care, but nowhere near the chimney lest they catch fire from the excessive heat generated by the fake logs and the gas fire-place…

…and the tree was lighted.  As you can tell we don’t make a big deal about gifts.  I bought my husband a sweater two Christmases ago and this Christmas was the first time he wore it.  As for me, I never stop giving myself gifts all year ’round :).  As for the kids, we allow them to live with us ;).  Isn’t that enough of a gift?

I had planned to post these pictures on Christmas day, but a brilliant scholar who shall remain nameless (cough- Era-cough) forgot to charge her camera and so – no pictures were available.

Oh, by the way, we even assembled and decorated a ginger bread house. 

Alright, it’s all been documented – finally, whew!  Are holiday celebrations and decorating left up to you?

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

The Hot Sign! Yes Dear, Deer

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lakshmi Srinivasan  |  Monday, March 1, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Love the decorations.. My 3 year old has already started with accusations (yes – how long has she been around again???) so I think I may get numb soon – so let’s hope i have the enthusiasm to do all this in the future! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 8:28 am

      Lol! Sounds like you should put her in charge. Decorating the tree is something that my kids like to do so at least I can catch a break there.

      Reply
  • 3. sraikh  |  Monday, March 1, 2010 at 1:35 am

    Yes… and I love doing it most of it..I took down the tree and decorations the next day though 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 8:29 am

      Where did I lose that fun part? It seems like a job now. I’ve got to find a way to enjoy it again.

      Reply
  • 5. emmap  |  Monday, March 1, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    you did a great job! and what a find someone will get down the road when they venture into that old attic!

    Yes. Me. Decorations. Right after my divorce I got “antsy”. Don’ know how else to describe it but that. I think I wanted to decorate a little for each holiday cuz I had never really done so through out the marriage. I guess it sort of added to the feeling of a fresh start. Then. last year after the whole “big-d break-up” fiasco, I wasn’t in the mood for ANYTHING!

    This year, I actually managed to put Christmas away by mid-January. For February I put my little Valentine Plaque and little vase of red flowers on the piano. Since Easter is early, I decided to put those little knick-nacks out when I took Valentine’s down. Oh, and I managed to change out my bright orange flowers with some green ones. I figred they were springy and would go with both Easter AND St. Patricks day. But that’s all I got till Halloween. Who knows… maybe I’ll see some cute July 4th.

    Anyway, you did good and I love your tree! so pretty!!!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 8:40 am

      I don’t even think about other holidays and then I drive past the neighbors’ houses and see Valentines, St. Patricks and other stuff and I think – where did all my motivation go? It must be nice to look forward to these holidays. I need a change in perspective.

      Thanks, the tree was a great find. We bought one at Walmart and on the way home we saw this display unit in Target on sale for 75% off! It even had lights on it. It dismantled into 3 parts, we put it in the car and returned the other one. Not bad for $30, eh?

      Reply
  • 7. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Monday, March 1, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Merry Christmas, Era! Great job decorating. You really got into the spirit, which I’m sure your daughter appreciated.

    Hubby does most of the decorating here. He hangs the lights and brings the faux tree out of storage.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Merry Christmas! I think I need to delegate more and share the joy of decorating 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Veda  |  Wednesday, March 3, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I love the tree. I like that narrow but full look all the way up.

    Mr. Wonderful is into real trees, so I get what I get. I, too, am just not a decorator. I am going to *try* to do some little thing for Easter. But I make no promises!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 8:55 am

      Thanks Veda. I don’t know exactly when I lost the passion for seasonal decorating but maybe it would be good to get some of it back – no promises here either :).

      Reply
  • 11. Doraz  |  Wednesday, March 3, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    Update complete!
    LOL
    🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 8:59 am

      Hopefully I didn’t forget anything 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. souldose  |  Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I don’t think you forgot anything, it all sounds perfect

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      Awww, thank you.

      Reply
  • 15. Mom Gone Mad  |  Wednesday, March 10, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    .. You’re back back back and funneee with it!

    Awesome stuff. loved the joy sign!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, March 10, 2010 at 5:58 pm

      Hey there, good to hear from you again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

