Marching Orders

Saturday, March 7, 2009 at 1:17 pm 4 comments

How to raise happy, well adjusted kids – or so I hope.

Through interactions with my children, I’ve learned something about myself… I really do need to become  more pleasant.  I’m always asking them to modify their tone when they speak to each other, but I now realize they get it from me.  I set the tone.

In trying to fulfill the duties of training, teaching, and molding character, social graces, work ethic etc. etc., its easy to sound as though I don’t approve of anything they do.  Left unchecked, this would be the greatest mistake.  Its no fun growing up thinking that the people who are supposed to love us unconditionally,  think that we  are just not good enough.

So today and every day, here are my marching orders.

  1. Answer their questions without my characteristic ” I can’t believe you didn’t figure that out”  and my patented ” what I’m telling you is obviously the only viable option” tones.  Who knows how much longer they’ll even bother to consult me.  So use the opportunity for good and get off the high horse.
  2. Don’t criticize.  Offer what may be, in my humble opinion, a better option or… just be quiet… sometimes…. (that last part is really hard for me).
  3. Don’t cast blame.  Identify a problem without making it their  personal flaw.  Focus on the solution and improvement not the shortcoming.
  4. Stop complaining already.  Nobody knows the trouble I’ve seen?  Really? Am I kidding myself?  Everyone has baggage.  Mine is no heavier, just different.
  5. Have no prejudice towards anyone.  I really do need to walk a mile in their shoes and be open to how they might feel.  This doesn’t mean accept any and all behaviors.  It just means that if corrections need to be made, do it without passing judgement and condemnation.
  6. Give respect to everyone even if they don’t reciprocate.  That’s my baseline, I don’t need to conform to someone else’s.  Our children need OUR respect.  How else will they learn to respect themselves?
  7. Actually listen until the end of their statement.  Yes, they can and do teach me stuff I didn’t already know.  Note to self : modify the “shoot first and ask questions later” policy. (I’ve already laid down the law.  I don’t need to hammer them into the ground with it.)
  8. Smile – a whole lot more.
  9. Hug at least once a day.
  10. Say I love you.  Say I’m proud of you.  Say it everyday.

Okay, I’ve thought about.  Now the important part –  Just do it.

Entry filed under: Family, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

Somewhere in Suburbia

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Camille  |  Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    These are brilliant marching orders. All points that I often need to be reminded of when I get caught in the minutiae of day-to-day stuff.
    It is interesting to see how the dynamics change as our kids get older, but your ten points are things that work no matter how old our children are.

    Nice to meet you too!
    The Eclectic Mama (aka Camille)

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 11:22 pm

      Hi Camille, thanks for stopping by my blog. I found your posts to be fascinating. I’ll be back for more!

      Reply
  • 3. maidinmalaysia  |  Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 3:55 am

    okie, blogrolling ya

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 8:03 am

      I look forward to seeing you.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors