He Said…

Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 2:00 am 12 comments

his-picture-i

This weekend Hubby and I instituted Date Night. This is his account of our memorable evening. My account follows in tomorrow’s post She Said…. Ladies and Gentlemen, I present my first guest author.

 

 

My Plan:

  1. Take you to an expensive place to eat…
  2. Spend some quality time chatting about stuff (other than the children)
  3. Talk more about you, your goals and how I can help…
  4. Enjoy a movie, depending on how early we would start

This is How it Went Down:
The Good

  • We did have the date night
  • It was just me and you
  • The food was good
  • The conversation was light (shared introspection and personal views on politics and religion

The Bad

  • Started later than expected (thanks to last minute shopping for the kids )
  • Despite wanting to take you to a high end place, we went to Macaroni Grill because it was late, the restaurant was close to home, and the fact that we hadn’t been there for a long time (I know, not your favorite place)

The Ugly

  • The conversation about the kids was great… until we got to the part about education fractions
  • We started talking Math
  • Then I started explaining…

When I start explaining:

  • I think I am doing a great job, while the others are rolling their eyes
  • I get mad
  • The discussion gets heated
  • I don’t let go
  • This is what we call “to Hell in a hand basket” and real quick :)…

The Way it Ended:

mushroom-cloud

  • After discussion went south, I was in a hurry to leave and forgot my credit card at the restaurant
  • Drove straight home from the restaurant, no movie, no dancing, or anything
  • We continued the discussion in the car during the drive home
  • We continued the discussion sitting in the car, with the car in the driveway
  • A potentially great Date Night, ended up in the proverbial “dog house”

What I Learnt:

  • Never try to discuss math when she is eating dessert!
  • We have to re-learn to communicate with each other, communication takes skills and talent
  • Better communication means “tell her what she wants to hear” 🙂
  • Don’t discuss the kids on Date Night
  • Date Night is not for solving personal/household issues, it is to set the stage so you can have those communications in a friendlier environment
  • The effect of nights like this tend to last longer than the night itself…. So use it wisely
  • Ask servers to take the food away from the table when we’re done or we will continue to graze until it’s done
  • I need to treat you to a new wardrobe for Date Night!
  • Just because you are dis-interested in my impromptu math class, does not mean that you are ignoring me
  • Different people learn differently….Everybody is not wired the same… It is OK to think differently…(but I still can’t believe you didn’t get that wonderful exposition on fractions)
  • There is no baseline to understanding. If you say you don’t understand something, I should listen and not state that it is impossible for you not to understand. (but once again… I still can’t believe you didn’t get that wonderful exposition on fractions)

What I Will Do Next Time:

  • Make Date Night about more than just food. We have not gone dancing in a while… we should try that again
  • Take a walk on the beach
  • I should avoid teaching… but I am not sure I can guarantee that 😉
  • End the night on a better note
  • Remember that patience is a virtue…

Love,
Hubby

PS:  For follow up please read  She Said… and Date Night Revisited.

Entry filed under: Family, marriage, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , .

Miss USA: Smile and Wave, Just Smile and Wave She said…

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom Gone Mad  |  Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 4:41 am

    This is priceless:-) He had me in splits, woman! And really? Math? Why? why? Would the line, “Shut up and kiss me?” have worked?

    On tenterhooks for the the She Said…

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 6:43 am

      It would have been more like “shut up before I borrow the chef’s frying pan and aim it….SERENITY NOW…. SERENITIY now…serenity now…”

      Reply
  • 3. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 8:21 am

    *Whew* Its a relief to know that we are not the only ones like this…. date night always ends up being about kids, plans for them… I say lets just take the kids with us then 😉 lol

    This has inspired me though to try “Date Night” again, now that we will have grandparents. Who better to watch the kids, right ?

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 8:27 am

      I am confident that Date Night will only get better. Don’t give up.

      But I’m not taking the kids with me. I have to draw the line somewhere 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. cindy  |  Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    I’m REALLY waiting to read the She Said! 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 9:09 pm

      Stay tuned. It’s coming. No pressure, right?

      Reply
  • 7. emmap  |  Thursday, April 23, 2009 at 11:42 am

    wow! i really hope those were all in HIS words! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, April 23, 2009 at 12:14 pm

      Oh, it’s him all right.

      Reply
  • 9. Lakshmi Srinivasan  |  Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Nice to see your hubby has a sense of humor 🙂 hilarious writing — tell him to not speak ‘Math’ on date night.. sheesh when will these geeks learn? 😉

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 11:55 pm

      I know! Like math is soooo romantic.

      Reply
  • 11. Tasneem R  |  Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Hi Era…! Is Era your full name or a short form to the original name? I’m pleased to read your date night story…I wish every wife experiences this with her husband for at least once . You’ll certainly make a great pair . Love ya and cheers!

    Check out your Dating Personality – How do you date, like a man or a woman? ( It’s a free fun test )
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/dating_persona/dating_persona_instructions.asp

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Friday, November 27, 2009 at 2:09 pm

      That’s my name. Glad you enjoyed the post.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors