Date Night Revisited

Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 2:00 am 11 comments

 

romantic-beach-night

You may have read about the disaster that was last week’s date night in the posts He Said… and She Said…  If not, I recommend them for the context they provide.  Plus, I don’t mind if you have a laugh at our expense.  Just don’t laugh too hard.  This date night was a huge improvement, although, we did end up in the emergency room.

I know… shame on me for being sensationalistic.  We did end up in the emergency room.  But not due to some freak accident or lame attempt to relive our youth on the mini-golf course, thus resulting in injury (that’s more likely to happen at the bowling alley). 

How it Started:

When it comes to food I tend to be  the non-adventurous type.  Largely vegetarian, but not completely, and allergic to the universe, I usually stick to a few safe bets.  However, on this night, I went for bold.  We went to our first Korean restaurant.  It was fabulous.   

The food was delicious and spicy.  For me that means only one thing – ice cream for dessert!  But first…

A Slight Detour:

On our way to get ice cream, we received word that my cousin (who is  recovering from a life altering diagnosis and surgery) had been taken to the emergency room.  I was floored.  Just the day before he seemed to be improving, albeit slowly.  Hubby suggested we stop by the ER.

We stayed for a while, trying to be cheerful and encouraging.  I only wish there was more that we could have done.  After a brief visit and prayer, my cousin and his wife shooed us out and asked us to continue with the rest of our evening. 

Sappy cliche’ alert:  It certainly wasn’t the sexiest part of the evening, but visiting my cousin in the emergency room renewed our appreciation for life and our time together.  

Back to Where We Left Off:

After leaving the hospital, Hubby and I went on to share a delicious  ice cream dessert.   He ordered cookies-n-cream  because it’s my favorite (now I’m blushing).  We then drove to the beach for a quiet stroll. 

It was a beautiful, breezy night.  Waves crashed loudly against the shore while moonlight transformed sand into a glowing caret.  The wind whipped at our clothes and tousled our hair.  The  ocean seemed endless and the sky swallowed us whole – peaceful yet invigorating.

The Grand Finale: 

(video from here)

PS:  Don’t worry, we won’t drag you with us on each and every date.  But if something interesting should happen …   let’s just say, I know you love a good story.

PPS:  My cousin is recovering from what the doctors tell us is a common and manageable set back.  Prayers on his behalf are greatly appreciated.

PPPS:  The wardrobe situation is still dire.

(above picture from here)

PSSSS:  For full perspective please read He Said… and She Said….

Entry filed under: Family, marriage, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , .

Technology Tech-shmology A Special Investigation: Uncovering the Real “They”

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom Gone Mad  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Fireworks? how awesome! So happy that date night got righted:-)

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 6:06 am

      Me too. Thanks

      Reply
  • 3. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 10:21 am

    How beautiful !! Both the fireworks and the date 😉 Glad this one went off well ! lol

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 1:44 pm

      I guess the second time is the charm.

      Reply
  • 5. Jax  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 10:46 am

    I’m just curious. What’s wrong with the wardrobe? Also, I thought you were going to tell us that you got food poisoning or something. Sure glad you didn’t.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 1:42 pm

      Wardrobe, at least mine =outdated, worn, tired clothing. It is just necessary to go clothes shopping every couple of years. It is also good to have appropriate clothing for various occasions such as casual, casually elegant, dressy, and formal. I specialize in outdated, tired and worn. I promise to go shopping soon though.

      Reply
  • 7. Jax  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 10:48 am

    How romantic.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 1:38 pm

      It was quite nice.

      Reply
  • 9. Eric Richardville  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Hey. I do a thing called HOT SOUP which features what I think is the best blog of the day. I made you hot soup. I put your link in a post so you get all the credit. Also I don’t think my blog went up on your roll. I’m not trying to be an a** I’m just letting you know because you said you had put it on there. I didn’t know if it accidentally didn’t go up or something. Hope to hear from you soon and thanks for the great stories. I also see that you are friends with Tooty. I must say you keep great company. OK, I’m done, sorry about the book of a comment.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 9:58 pm

      Thanks for the extra publicity. You were on the blog roll as Richard (I put the wrong info in the right box – don’t ask, it’s been a long day at the keyboard) but now it reads Soupalaxy. Thanks for the catch.

      Reply
  • 11. Eric Richardville  |  Saturday, May 2, 2009 at 1:07 am

    No problem. Thank you for putting me on in the first place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

