Seriously, Where Can I Rent a Mongoose?

Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 12:00 am 42 comments

rattlesnakeInhale deeply.  Enjoy the fresh air.  Nature in all of its glory…  ummm, what’s that creepy looking thing over there?

During the first week of staying in our new home, my oldest daughter ran in through the back door yelling “SNAKE!”  Of course, without asking if she’d been bitten, I yelled ” close the door behind you!!!”.  Don’t worry, she was just fine.  But how come no one closes the door behind them?  Especially when something undesirable can follow you in???  Anyway, little did I know that this was the beginning of a trend…

According to a local newspaper, a 2 year old in our neighborhood had been bitten by a baby rattlesnake that was hanging out under the family car in the garage.  He pointed to the rattlesnake when it struck him on the finger.   (Baby snakes are just as venomous as adults.)

Have you ever had to rush a friend or family member to the hospital?  Worse yet, have you had to call an ambulance for someone?  It’s a surreal and often frightening experience.  Now multiply that a few hundred times and imagine what it’s like to wait for the medivac helicopter to land outside your house to take your toddler to the hospital!

Within five minutes of the bite, fire rescue was at the door.  Due to heavy traffic, the rescue officials decided to airlift the child to the nearest pediatric hospital.  They made it within 45 minutes of the bite.  One thing that surprised me was that the anti venom wasn’t administered immediately after they arrived at the medical center.  Anti venom has to be mixed slowly from powder so the first dose was given about 2 hours and 15 minutes after the bite.  Six doses were administered in all.

From the finger where he was bitten to the top of his shoulder, the little boy’s arm looked like a swollen balloon and he could not bend his fingers (I also saw the story on the local news).  Thankfully he’s fine now.  Well, at least he’s got a great story for his grandkids.

The hospital reported that it averaged about 1 snakebite per week .  Yes, encouraging isn’t it?   Guess who is never going outside again?  That would be me.  Have you had any close encounters with the wild kind?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Whoopie!!! Flat Tony’s 24-Hour Dash

42 Comments Add your own

  • 1. wordjunkie  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 12:30 am

    This is scary!
    I blogged about a scorpion encounter a while ago, though things were more tragic for the scorpion.Rattlesnakes..yikes!!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 8:41 am

      I guess I live in the wild west now.

      Reply
  • 3. richajn  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 12:31 am

    er, yes. way back in college. I was amongst the few crazy wildlife enthusiasts. and a few of the things i well, kinda pride myself on – but dont want my kid to ever know lest he try to imitate – was holding a snake. we had many snakes on campus – mostly the non poisonous variety. and usually, if spotted, the workers wud just beat them to death. we tried to change that. there was this student who’d actually catch the snakes and release them to a safer place.

    damn – that sounds like from another life time!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 8:43 am

      I’m not sure which are poisonous and which are harmless so I steer clear!

      Reply
  • 5. Doraz  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 1:09 am

    The only “wild kind” I run into are all the crazy people in CA who think they are “special!” Be careful~~~~ 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 8:43 am

      LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 2:19 am

    I’ve been rushed to the hospital but not for anything like that … just for kidney stones.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 8:43 am

      Ouch! I’m told those are very painful.

      Reply
  • 9. sraikh  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 2:59 am

    That is scary indeed.

    I wouldnt know what to do if it was my child that was bitten.

    I read a few reports last week, that in our area 2-3 dogs were bitten by rattlessnakes while out on a walk and had to be out down. Sad 😦

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 8:45 am

      That is sad. In our area we’ve had hawks carry away some little dogs if they are left outside unattended. I guess we call it suburbia, but to the animals it was their home first.

      Reply
  • 11. S. Le  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 11:01 am

    That is truly frightening! My Aunt used to live in Kentucky and routinely shot snakes!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 11:27 am

      I don’t like snakes at all!

      Reply
  • 13. Just a Mom  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    We have a Canal right behind our house so we get snakes at our house ALL THE TIME! I HATE snakes and it is usually my husband who has to kill them. I have had to step up to the plate twice this summer and do it myself. YUCK!
    I ran into a bobcat about three weeks ago on our bike trail. He jumped out in front of me on the trail and then jumped back into the bushes just as fast. We also have coyotes in the field behind our house. Luckily we just hear them! Who says Texas is boring!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 1:49 pm

      Not me, I never said it was boring. We lived in front of a lake/pond in Florida and saw snakes all the time but not rattlers. One day I came home and saw my neighbor beating one to death with a shovel after it hissed at him while he was doing the lawn alongside his house. I am not a snake fan.

      Reply
  • 15. Camille  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Welcome to Texas! I’ve lost a dog to a copperhead and a cat to an owl.

    Now we have brown recluses and scorpions, but no black widows, so far as I know.

    That’s truly scary about the toddler. I didn’t see that on the news. I guess I need to be a little more connected, huh?

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 1:50 pm

      I’m still amazed that it was in my neighborhood and I didn’t see the helicopter. I never go anywhere.

      Reply
  • 17. Tony  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Nothing like a rattlesnake in your back yard. So are you moving back to where you came from now???
    My daughter used to often come inside when she was a toddler telling us about a snake outside. When she would show us it every time it would always be a worm in the garden…

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 5:13 pm

      I don’t know where to move to now. I’d go north but I am truly afraid of the cold. After reading this story in the papers, I’m glad your daughter was only finding earthworms.

      Reply
  • 19. Gary  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I was bitten pretty good by a dog on the leg when I was a kid but never a rattlesnake. YIKES!! That’s pretty scary stuff Era! Be careful out there! 😀

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Friday, November 6, 2009 at 8:09 am

      It is scary!

      Reply
  • 21. Jaymie  |  Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Just spider bites that the emergency room circled with a marker. Scary, strict instructions to rush back if the red moved out of the circle.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Friday, November 6, 2009 at 8:10 am

      Oh no, spider bites are aweful.

      Reply
  • 23. emmap  |  Friday, November 6, 2009 at 5:19 am

    hmm… you could become a recluse… or just live in a bubble… “Bubble Mom”.. tee hee.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Friday, November 6, 2009 at 8:11 am

      Or wrap the kids in bubble wrap!

      Reply
  • 25. Silindile Ntuli  |  Friday, November 6, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    In our part of South Africa seeing a snake is a usual thing, sometimes if luck is against you they even come inside your house as if they got an invite…

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Friday, November 6, 2009 at 7:17 pm

      Thanks for visiting my blog. Nice to meet you. I can’t handle the snake in the house thing. I think I’d run away!

      Reply
  • 27. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Friday, November 6, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Oh gosh! We haven’t been bit, knock on wood. A couple of months though my youngest daughter and I were taking a walk, and saw a pink snake slithering into a pile of wood. I told my husband, and the next day he saw it eating a rabbit! We thought it was a rosy boa, but later found out it was a coach whip.

    Reply
    • 28. Era  |  Saturday, November 7, 2009 at 2:43 pm

      Whoa, poor rabbit. But I guess that’s the circle of life.

      Reply
  • 29. Deepa  |  Saturday, November 7, 2009 at 10:03 am

    I grew up in India, in IIT Madras campus, and a snake followed by a mongoose, entered our house once. No one was hurt, and it had to be killed.

    Reply
    • 30. Era  |  Saturday, November 7, 2009 at 2:44 pm

      Thankfully I’ve been able to avoid snakes while in India. I’m glad no one was hurt when one entered your house!

      Reply
  • 31. azfree  |  Sunday, November 8, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    We lived into a condo in a newly excavated hillside and we had many close encounters: Snakes, tarantulas, scorpions, mice. I would run up on the stair case screaming (snakes can’t climb stairs, right?) while my husband did the dirty work of shoeing the creature outside. My cats had a lot of activity in that condo.

    Now we just have a mean neighbor 😉

    Reply
    • 32. Era  |  Monday, November 9, 2009 at 10:44 am

      Just wondering, which is worse – critters or the mean neighbor ? 🙂

      Reply
      • 33. azfree  |  Monday, November 9, 2009 at 1:59 pm

        I’d have to go with the mean neighbor. At least the critters provided amusement for my cats.

        Reply
        • 34. Era  |  Monday, November 9, 2009 at 2:44 pm

          I was thinking that might be the case 🙂

          Reply
  • 35. blissbait  |  Monday, November 9, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    golly willikers!
    where in the world do you live?
    that’s cool and scary

    All in one! I have tons of close encounter nature stories, but none that were dangerous or required hospitalization! I’m glad Your daughter didn’t get bit! Oh wait……actually, when I was thirteen we moved from a tropical place to the desert. I’d never been around rattle snakes. We were out for a relaxing evening stroll when my stepfather ( a gentle man!) shoved me hard. I went flying off the trail and was stunned. Well, I’d come close to stepping on a rattle snake. Close call but uneventful! I learned to walk in the desert looking down A LOT!!! Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    Reply
    • 36. Era  |  Monday, November 9, 2009 at 12:29 pm

      We live out in the wild west of suburban Texas :). I’m glad your stepfather saw the snake and saved you from an aweful bite!

      Reply
  • 37. Tony  |  Wednesday, November 11, 2009 at 6:09 am

    Maybe you could pick up a cheap 2nd hand Mongoose on Ebay. Just a thought…

    Reply
    • 38. Era  |  Wednesday, November 11, 2009 at 8:30 am

      I was actually waiting for a buy one get one free sale. I wonder if those late night infomercials have any?

      Reply
  • 39. Tasneem R  |  Wednesday, November 11, 2009 at 7:13 am

    Never…Only had seen a wild cobra in the zoo!

    Which animal matches your personality?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/animal/animal_instructions.asp

    Reply
    • 40. Era  |  Wednesday, November 11, 2009 at 8:31 am

      Good! That’s where wild animal encounters should take place. It’s much safer that way.

      Reply
  • 41. dipali  |  Saturday, November 14, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    That is truly scary. Brrrrrr:(

    Reply
    • 42. Era  |  Saturday, November 14, 2009 at 10:52 pm

      Yeah, it wasn’t fun.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors