A Walk in the Clouds

Friday, November 20, 2009 at 12:00 am 21 comments

Several years ago I saw  a total chick flick – A Walk in the Clouds – starring Keanu Reeves.  For the most part the reviews were poor, but I really enjoyed it.  Of course this was many years ago before I developed a dry and sarcastic sense of humor.  Ok, there was never a time I didn’t have a sarcastic sense of humor.  I think I developed it by watching so many Bugs Bunny and Tom and Jerry acartoons as a child.  Be that as it may, I still enjoyed the movie.

Anyway, the recent fog reminded me of the movie’s title – A Walk in the Clouds.  The fog was so dense, it was as though we were actually walking through the clouds;  which technically we were – fog is extremely low lying clouds.

This is a view down a street in a local neighborhood.  Notice the houses on the hill tops in the distance.  (Yes, I did take the picture while driving.  I will be more careful in the future.)

This is the same view on another day with a cloud in the backyard.  Cool isn’t it?  (yes, I’ve started keeping my camera in my purse for situations just like this.)

And now, the same view on a  different day, with the background completely obstructed by early morning fog.

 

Sorry about the view of the green rubbish bins in the bottom left corner, it was collection day.   This picture was taken after a good deal of the fog had burned off as the sun rose higher in the sky.  Earlier that morning you could hardly see the hand in front of your face.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

In Search of Fall Unpaid Vacation

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nitya  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Ah, I saw that movie myself and thought it marvelous. In my defense, I was 16 and too young to know any better. 🙂
    Beautiful pics!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 8:28 am

      Now that I think about it, just because the critics didn’t like it, that doesn’t mean that we can’t like it. I loved it.

      Reply
  • 3. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 2:45 am

    We saw that movie — it was a lot better than we were expecting. My wife in particular really liked it.

    Reply
  • 4. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I certainly enjoyed it. My husband thought it was ok. Chick flick.

    Reply
  • 5. Hannah  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Saw it, can’t remember what I thought of it, but never understood why people through Keanu Reeves was so hot. Just didn’t see it. I do remember from the movie, though, a cool grape-stomping scene. Cool, except what about foot fungus getting into the wine???

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 11:14 am

      I think the alcohol from the fermentation process would take care of that problem.

      Reply
  • 7. Veda  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    I love fog. I love the idea of walking in the clouds, the shroud of mist wrapping around you like a cloak. I’ll have to check out the movie just because of the title.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 12:49 pm

      Enjoy!

      Reply
  • 9. Gary  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    oh wow! Fog is cool no?

    I can’t say that I have seen that movie but I do like movies with Keanu Reeves in them. BTW….is he related to Christoper Reeves?

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 3:33 pm

      No, as far as I know, they aren’t related.

      Reply
  • 11. Silindile Ntuli  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    It’s great, looks like three different places.

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 7:02 pm

      The fog really does change the look of the place.

      Reply
  • 13. Just a Mom  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    I loved that movie and I have seen it at least 5 times. I usually love the movies that the critics hate!
    Great pictures too! I love the second one.

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 7:01 pm

      I was a really good movie. What do the critics know anyway?

      Reply
  • 15. Doraz  |  Saturday, November 21, 2009 at 3:00 am

    I enjoyed the photos! I do not remember the movie. I will look into it also! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Saturday, November 21, 2009 at 5:52 am

      I think you’ll like the movie. It’s set in California wine country and very romantic :).

      Reply
      • 17. Doraz  |  Saturday, November 21, 2009 at 10:03 pm

        Thanks for that! 🙂 Hope your weekend is turning out as planned!

        Reply
  • 18. azfree  |  Saturday, November 21, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Cool photos! Never saw the movie though.

    Reply
    • 19. Era  |  Friday, November 27, 2009 at 2:26 pm

      Thanks. If you like romantic comedies, I think you’ll like this one.

      Reply
  • 20. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Wednesday, November 25, 2009 at 1:10 am

    Mmmmm, fantastic photos! I also enjoyed the movie.

    Reply
    • 21. Era  |  Friday, November 27, 2009 at 2:13 pm

      All this talk about it, I just might have to watch it again 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

