In Search of Fall

Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 11:12 am 22 comments

Autumn is my favorite time of year.  I like the cool crisp air, the electric blue sky, and the rainbow of colored leaves.  However, for the past 100 or so years, I’ve lived in climates that don’t lend themselves to four seasons.  At least I don’t need to rake the yard, but I still miss the changing foliage.  So this year I’ve decided to embrace autumn in its more subtle manifestations.

As you can see, the landscape is mostly green.

 

However, if you  look closely enough, life can be a whole lot more colorful.

  

 

If you look really really closely outside your car window, color will just pop out at you.

 

Sometimes a vine growing on a tree gives a great burst of color.

 

Or you might even find a vine with purple berries.

One of my personal favorites is the yellow wildflowers along the side of the road.

Whatever form it comes in – in your part of the world- have a great November through December.  What are your favorite things about this time of year?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

One Word Tag! A Walk in the Clouds

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. blissbait  |  Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    this is so lovely!!!
    i saw a bright grand council
    of trees yesterday…

    Funny! I almost posted along these same lines! In all the wonderful wonderful greenes yesterday, I drove past about ten trees, all in a row, that were completely bedecked in fall splendor. BEEEAUTIFUL!!!

    Thank You for sharing Your gorgeous pictures and thoughts. Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 1:11 pm

      I guess we can be more appreciative of the color when the majority of the leaves are green! Namaste.

      Reply
  • 3. Just a Mom  |  Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Great pictures! I love the change of the weather, that crispness in the air!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 2:04 pm

      Thank you. I love autumn but I don’t do well when winter brings the real cold.

      Reply
  • 5. Hannah  |  Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    You know how I feel about this issue.

    But, we just returned from Mayfield Park (end of W. 35th st, right near Laguna Gloria) and there among the roaming peacocks were some trees with actual fall foliage. Go check it out!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 7:59 pm

      Awesome, real fall foliage! Now that’s encouraging.

      Reply
  • 7. Jaymie  |  Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    I love the purple berries! How wonderful that you still are enjoying fall colors. The past couple of snow storms have knocked most the leaves down. Luckily snow is also beautiful. Thank you for sharing your surroundings, your beautiful surroundings.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 8:35 am

      Snow is amazingly beautiful.

      Reply
  • 9. richajn  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 12:38 am

    lovely colors!
    I love falls colors too.. but have got to see them just a few times on my US trips.
    This part of the world, well, right now everything is a nice green. The monsoons came and went. But the rains continue. And ofcourse, the trees love that!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 8:36 am

      We travelled through Kerala during monsoon season once. It was soooo beautiful and green. There were waterfalls everywhere.

      Reply
  • 11. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 1:45 am

    We have those yellow flowers all up and down our hill every spring — we call it telegraph weed but I’m not sure that’s what it really is.

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 8:39 am

      In Carmel, CA we saw these amazing purple flowers. They were a ground cover (short like grass) and covered the ground everywhere! They were so beautiful.

      Reply
  • 13. Tony  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 3:53 am

    Some beautiful foliage colour in your photos. However I must bring your attention to this sentence

    However, for the past 100 or so years, I’ve lived in climates that don’t lend themselves to four seasons

    Just how old actually are you???

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 8:41 am

      They say age is just a number and what really matters is how you feel. Well, lately I’ve been feeling every bit of those 100 years 😦 . The sentence however was just one of my huge exaggerations. The last time I lived in a place with four seasons, I was 8 years old.

      Reply
  • 15. S. Le  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Really love the purple berries but don’t suggest eating them.

    My fave things are:

    Seeing the changing foliage.
    The smell of the air.
    Wearing jackets and jumpers/sweaters.
    Hot beverages.
    Comfort foods.
    Fires in fireplace.
    Being done dealing with fallen leaves on the yard.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 4:19 pm

      You’re right. I won’t be eating any of those berries. They say whatever the birds eat is safe for us to eat, but I never see birds eating berries. I also enjoy hot chocolate and a nice fire in the fireplace.

      Reply
  • 17. Tasneem R  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 8:56 am

    I look forward to a few things during autumn . That is eating foods which momma prepares. I acknowledge nature in all it’s beauty and charm .

    Which season are you like? Your Season Personality Test ( 5 questions)
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/season-personality/season-personality_instructions.asp

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 9:13 am

      I accept any reason to eat good food 🙂

      Reply
  • 19. Gary  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    I’m a rare breed that doesn’t enjoy the fall. Fall to me is a prelude to months and months of cold, wet and snowy days. I would be MUCH happier somewhere where it’s warm all year round for sure! These feelings get stronger the older I get as well. 😀

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Friday, November 20, 2009 at 3:35 pm

      The fact that winter is coming does make autumn bitter sweet. And I know Chicago gets COLD! All I can say is stay warm buddy! 🙂

      Reply
  • 21. Doraz  |  Saturday, November 21, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Autumn is beautiful if you can “see” the changes it has to offer! 🙂 Thank you for your kind words when I was hit with “it!” 🙂

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Saturday, November 21, 2009 at 5:50 am

      You’re most welcome. I hope you’re feeling better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

