My Apologies for the Carbon Footprint

Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 12:00 am 22 comments

Carbon footprintYou may have heard adults talk about how hard it was for them as kids.  How they walked to school uphill both ways in the snow…

Well I didn’t walk to school, but my kids have walked to and from school.  We have had the good fortune of living near the school in both our old neighborhood and in our present neighborhood.  There is a slight difference however.  Florida was flat.  I mean mega flat.  If you see a hill in southern Florida you’re looking at a highway overpass or the landfill.  I repeat:  The topography is incredibly flat.

Texas hill country is not so flat – and I love that.  However it does add a new dimension to the walk to and from school.  The girls worked it out in the beginning.  They walked themselves to school daily.  But then one of them started playing trombone and had to carry the heavy instrument and case combo.  I also felt that they must be really tired at the end of the day and the weather was too hot to struggle home in the sun.  I would wait until the weather got cooler to have them walk home.

That part of the plan never materialized.  The drive home from school became my favorite part of the day.  From the moment they enter the car it starts with “guess what happened today” or “there was this kid who…”  It’s my favorite thing ever.  When they walk home they’re tired and just sit and catch their breath before going to their rooms.  When I pick them up we have these great conversations – for at least 20 minutes.

Every mile we drive we burn fossil fuel and add to the carbon footprint.  We live two miles from school and technically the children can walk.  It’s hot and parts are uphill and they’re loaded down with books and band instruments.  The time we spend talking on the way home is to me – priceless.  Sorry about the carbon footprint.  I’ll have to be more vigilant and conservative in other ways.  I wouldn’t trade this for the world.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Don’t Try This at Home Whoopie!!!

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emmap  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 3:17 am

    most teachers wh live within 2 miles of the school wouldn’t dare walk! esp with all of the books… i drov my kids too. i loved it! I tend to get behind on laundry, though. so, I gues I am conserving water… hahaha! 😉

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 8:38 am

      Ha ha, that’s a good one 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Terri  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 8:46 am

    It’s great that you could spend that time just chatting with your kids I think it’s really worth it in the long run:)

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 10:11 am

      Thanks Terri, and thanks for visiting my blog.

      Reply
  • 5. S. Le  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I live in a semi-rural area of Ohio. Everybody drives everywhere. Not much choice. Sometimes I think I’d like to live in an urban area where I could walk everywhere or take public transport but then I look at all the lovely trees surrounding my somewhat secluded home and think I love it here. Do trees cancel out my carbon footprint?

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 12:39 pm

      I’ll say yes, they do 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Jax  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Sounds wonderful.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 12:39 pm

      It’s a tiny thing that makes my day!

      Reply
  • 9. Just a Mom  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 11:51 am

    I drive my oldest to school and she rides the bus home. I take and pick up my youngest daughter. My oldest daughter gets the “Floor” in the mornings and the afternoon is my youngest ones time. I’m with you I wouldn’t trade that time in with either of them for anything!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 12:40 pm

      Awesome!

      Reply
  • 11. Doraz  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    I have ALWAYS enjoed “the talk.” Priceless, indeed. I still have “the talk” with my kids! It is the best! I just walk other times to make up for the extra fuel! 🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      I need the exercise anyway 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. Jaymie  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    These are the times your girls will remember. I vote for the let the laundry go and conserve water approach! What about asking the girls about ways to cut down on carbon footprints? Maybe a topic for the ride home?

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 2:34 pm

      Definitely a worthy topic.

      Reply
  • 15. Lakshmi Srinivasan  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    There are ex-colleagues of mine who don’t understand why I can’t ‘outsource’ some things with my children and get back to work.. well this is exactly why! When I pick up N from school I get this detail brain dump of all tha she has absorbed from the work, friends and teachers at school that I would not hear in such detail if I met her later in the day at home! Enjoy – I am looking forward to more such adventures from N too!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 4:07 pm

      Yep, there’s nothing like it. I’m glad you’re enjoying it too.

      Reply
  • 17. dipali  |  Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 12:33 am

    such precious time! enjoy!

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 5:19 am

      Thank you, I do.

      Reply
  • 19. Gary  |  Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    These talks ARE awesome! I pickup my son’s from school every day and have “guess what happened today” or “this kid got into trouble” or “look what I made” or “guess what I did today” talks. I wouldn’t trade them for the world either.

    Now….about the carbon footprint thingy. I conserve water by reusing my bath water. When you pull the plug in the tub, the water runs into a holding tank (plastic storage tote) in the basement for future reuse. I use that water six or eight times before using new. It’s a little bit of work but whatever I can do for the environment I am all for doing!

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 1:01 pm

      Great idea! keep up the good work. If my son had his way, he’d conserve on bath water by skipping it altogether LOL.

      Reply
  • 21. Tony  |  Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Walk uphill BOTH ways???? Wouldn’t one way be downhill???
    I ride my bike to work everyday so you can have my carbon saving credits to drive your girls with. Don’t go crazy now & use them up all at once…

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 5:24 pm

      Uphill bothways is sort of a standing joke about how the previous generation says we’re a bunch of weaklings. Thanks for the carbon savings!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

