Don’t Try This at Home

Monday, November 2, 2009 at 11:21 am 23 comments

laundry

Just a friendly reminder:  do not use electronic appliances near open water and be very very careful of what you wash!

If you are acquainted with my blog then you may be familiar with my tales of destruction – broken cameras, melted clarinet mouth pieces… and counting.  Now we can add laundry mishaps to the list.

I do the majority of the laundry.  In a pinch I can count on anyone tall enough to reach the machines to pitch in, still, I am usually the one who enjoys the extreme pleasure of tackling and taming the smoldering mountains of  laundry.

In return for my services I do ask for a couple of things:
1.  Put all clothes intended for washing into the designated hampers, and
2.  Empty pockets and unfold all fashionable cuffs as you take off your clothes and deposit them in said hampers. 

Yes, I am a prima donna of housework that way.  Just because I don’t get a paycheck every week , that does not mean that I embrace indentured servitude.  I’m free to walk at anytime.

Just help me out a little with the above requests and make the job go a little faster.  I’m just asking for a little self policing.   But ya know what?  Stuff happens.   Some poor forgetful soul (who shall remain nameless – IT WASN’T ME!) simply forgot to take their cell phone out of their pocket.  I didn’t detect it while I was loading the machine and I’m sure you can imagine the rest.   Hey accidents happen. 

We dried it out, but let’s just say it was never the same.  Had any mishaps with your prized possessions?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

Dear Friend, My Apologies for the Carbon Footprint

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Just a Mom  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    My oldest daughter has been doing her own laundry since she was 12. She couldn’t follow simple instructions like yours above so I quit on her. So far my youngest is smart enough to know how good she has it and she obeys all of my laundry rules!
    I have only had little mishaps with the laundry like turning my husband’s underwear pink. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 12:56 pm

      Lol! I’m sure it was an adventure for him.

      Reply
  • 3. Gary  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    I do 95% of the laundry here at our house as well. This post cracked me up because I have the same rules and have washed a cell phone as well. I have also washed watches, money, candy wrappers, sunflower seeds, colored pencils, standard #2 pencils, crayons, pens, pink pearl erasers, love notes, girls telephone numbers, school ID’s, pictures, wallets and many many more.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      LOL! Love the list. Last week I washed a rock. Once I even washed gum which ruined the favorite shirt of the person who left the gum in their pocket.

      Reply
      • 5. Gary  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 7:07 pm

        OH yes, I almost forgot about rocks and gum! Thanks for the reminder. LOL

        Reply
        • 6. Era  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 7:55 pm

          LOL!

          Reply
  • 7. Doraz  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I have washed dollar bills and pens. I hate when they forget to take tissues out of their pockets and I do not have time to check! What a mess! 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 4:20 pm

      Ugh! Tissues make a mess.

      Reply
  • 9. S. Le  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    My husband’s fave shirt was ruined by an errant pen Benny the Troll forgot in a pocket.

    Reply
    • 10. S. Le  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 4:21 pm

      Oh, and I’ve also laundered money but not in the bad way… Really!

      Reply
      • 11. Era  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 4:32 pm

        Sorry to hear about your husband’s shirt. I wash money all the time too. Those bills are very sturdy. Unless I know who it belongs to, it becomes my tip much like in the cartoon above.

        Reply
  • 12. Hannah  |  Monday, November 2, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Once our washer was backing up consistently and we had pay $75 for a serviceman to come to the house and tell us that we had a quarter (from someone’s pocket) lodged in the drain mechanism. A very expensive lesson!

    Reply
    • 13. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 12:17 am

      It costs a lot of money to have these simple things taken care of. We’ve had our share of expensive lessons.

      Reply
  • 14. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Hmm, the last weird thing I pulled out of the washing machine was a fork. I have no idea what it was doing in there …

    Reply
    • 15. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 8:36 am

      Now that’s unusual.

      Reply
  • 16. emmap  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 2:58 am

    nothing electronic. however, when i was a kid, my mom saved all of the certificates, ribbons, letters of recognition, etc. from school and placed them in a box. I kept this box under my bed. Early one Sunday morning I heard a bunch of tiny squeals from under my bed. The cat had decided to have her kittens in *my* box… I told my mom to just throw it all out but they were my acheivements and she wanted me to have them. She tried convincing me that after she wiped the afterbirth off with a damp cloth they would be as good as new… bleh. pleasant? no. but memorable? definitely!

    Reply
    • 17. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 8:37 am

      That is memorable! I bet the kittens were cute though.

      Reply
  • 18. dipali  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    One of the spouse’s watches survived a good trip in the washing machine. My MIL was most impressed:)

    Reply
    • 19. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 2:32 pm

      That’s a lucky watch!

      Reply
  • 20. azfree  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    I washed the e-mail address of a couple my husband and I met at a wedding reception. We took their e-mail address so we could send them the photo we took of them. However, once it came out of the wash, it was nothing more than a blue blur of nothingness. Needless to say, they never got their photo!

    D’oh!

    Love your blog!!!!

    Reply
    • 21. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 4:09 pm

      I’ve lost a few receipts that were supposed to be charged in as business expenses. Oops! Needless to say we never got reimbursed. Oh, well it is what it is. Thanks for visiting my blog!

      Reply
  • 22. Tony  |  Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Goodness a washed cell phone. Oops!!!!
    I dropped my glasses on the floor at work once & didn’t notice. Then I dropped a pallet on them. Couldn’t find my glasses anywhere later on. Then a fellow employee found them crushed to pieces on the warehouse floor. Cost me a couple of hundred bucks for new ones.

    Reply
    • 23. Era  |  Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 5:25 pm

      Ouch! You need that chain thingy so you can hang them around your neck. My daughter uses one. She decided to get it after dropping her glasses in the band room one day. Luckily the teacher found them in tact.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

