Buzz Buzz…Splat. They’re Dropping Like Flies

Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 5:49 am 18 comments

Fly swat

It started with one, spread to two and now there are four people sleeping in my family room.

It looks like a makeshift hospital triage center.  Everyone has a throw and a pillow.  When someone feels strong enough to get up they ask if anyone else wants some tea or water or fruit.  That has become the staple diet around here.  Stomachs are just not interested in food.  I was planning to start a weight loss program but this is not what I had in mind.

We’re definitely getting better, but not fast enough for our liking.  I feel especially bad for the kids because this is a bad week to miss school.  There’s a lot of good stuff and a lot of important stuff happening and the fun stuff simply cannot be made up.  Boy are they gonna get slammed with makeup work.  If this were a normal illness I would have them do a little of their homework everyday so as not to fall behind.  However, when your very eyeballs hurt, there’s no reading going on.

I just woke up and feel reasonable.  Over the past few days I’ve come to learn that this means nothing.  I’ll probably feel exhausted in a few minutes.  At least I don’t have time for my usual long-winded posts.  Gotta keep it short.

Thanks for all the good wishes everyone and stay healthy! Please!!!  You DON’T want this. 

PS:  For Halloween I’ll probably have to post a quarantine sign on the front door.  However, if this is anything like my old neighborhood, they’ll read it to mean “please ring my doorbell”.

Fly experiment

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Oh, it Got Me! Dear Friend,

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doraz  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 10:39 am

    You are on the way….You can all be zombies for Halloween. LOL Always look on the bright side. OK, I will shut up now! 🙂 Get better soon!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 1:17 pm

      LOL, we’re the perfect shade of green!

      Reply
  • 3. S. Le  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 10:57 am

    How awful! Well, at least maybe you will be done with the flu for the rest of the season. One can only hope.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 1:17 pm

      Let’s hope so!

      Reply
  • 5. Jaymie  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 11:06 am

    I’m hoping the fly is the germs…kill the fly. Sending healing thoughts your way.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 1:17 pm

      Thank you!

      Reply
  • 7. Just a Mom  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I guess they figured you were having so much fun that they would join ya!
    Hopefully you guys shake it off quickly and this will be it for the season!

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 1:18 pm

      Talk about misery loving company, lol!

      Reply
  • 9. Gary  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Take care of yourselves everyone! I hope you all start feeling better real soon!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 1:18 pm

      Thanks, I think it’s turning around.

      Reply
  • 11. Tony  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Love the cartoons, glad your feeling a bit better & hope the rest of the family get well soon. Borrow someones Doberman or Rotweiller & chain to the front door handle, that may keep the haloweiners away

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 4:45 pm

      Lol, I like the idea of big dogs to keep the haloweiners away. I guess I am feeling better. I can at least laugh at the situation now.

      Reply
  • 13. Hannah  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Oh my goodness, y’all sound like the Ingalls family in Little House on the Prairie! Whoever is the LEAST weak and sick gets to drag his body across the floor for the dipper of well water …

    Well, please keep mending. This weekend promises to be too beautiful to spend on the family room floor!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Friday, October 30, 2009 at 8:45 am

      Thank you. I hope we are OK by then.

      Reply
  • 15. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Friday, October 30, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Hope you’re better for the big day. If not just scatter candy around the front yard and tell the kids to find it themselves!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, October 30, 2009 at 8:46 am

      Ha ha! I love that idea. A Halloween scavenger hunt!

      Reply
  • 17. Nitya  |  Friday, October 30, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Fingers crossed for a quick recovery!

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Friday, October 30, 2009 at 8:47 am

      Thank you. It’s heart breaking. My son is begging to go to school but he’s just not well enough and he’s missing a big event!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

