Dark and Gloomy – Just the Way I Like It

Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 12:00 am 20 comments

It’s raining. 
Not storming, not pouring.
Just a good steady rain – the way I like it.
The sky is dark. 
The air is fresh.
The earth is renewed.
And deep down inside, I feel like the rain rejuvenates my spirit too.

Rain drops dance in silvery patterns down the dark glassy street.
They join forces in a coursing river that  swirls into the storm drain.
My thoughts travel with them.
I bid them adieu.
Moisture congregates  on leaves and then plops to the ground.
Solitary droplets adorn the velvety fuchsia rose petals on the bush outside my window.
They shimmer like diamonds on black velvet in a jeweler’s showcase.

The rain keeps falling – just the way I like it.
Some call this dark.
Some call it gloomy.
I call it beautiful.
Rain nurtures life.
It fosters renewal and growth.
Without it we die.

The previously crisp  grass is tender, verdant,  and juicy.
If we had cows, they’d be excited 😉 
Hopefully the drought will end
And the lake will be full again.
Just the way I like it.

Do you like the rain? 
Do you use an umbrella ?
Or do you prefer a rain coat?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Sniff Sniff Ahhhh Oh, it Got Me!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emmap  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 3:38 am

    i agree! plus, i sleep better when it rains. just dont escalate to a tropical storm or hurricane 😉

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:20 am

      Me too! I do sleep better, but that sometimes means sleeping in when I’m not supposed to 😉

      Reply
  • 3. Jaymie  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 10:05 am

    The perfect kind of rain to splash around in – to take your time and not rush through – no umbrella or rain coat for me, perhaps a child’s hand?

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:24 am

      Sounds like fun. Last Memorial Day my daughters started out in the pool and then a torrential rain broke out. They swiftly switched to dancing on the grass. I got some great video out of it.

      Reply
  • 5. S. Le  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Lovely thoughts! Brava!

    I usually prefer an umbrella unless I’m collecting the Library book drop. Then it’s a slicker for me. Need my hands for books.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:27 am

      Thank you.

      I like raincoats. If it’s windy the rain drives sideways under the umbrella and I get wet anyway. I also used to live in Florida – the lightening capital of the US. I met a lady whose family had been struck twice by lightening being attracted to the pointy metal tip of the umbrella. Now that we’re in Texas I don’t think about it so much.

      Reply
  • 7. Just a Mom  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I love the rain! I don’t like using an umbrella or a rain coat. I prefer the mad dash in the rain myself. 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:31 am

      Sounds like good fun. I tend to feel cold easily so I try to stay dry when possible. I know – weak.

      Reply
  • 9. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I like the rain! We rarely get rain in the desert. Last time it rained, the kids put on their swimsuits and went outside to play.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 12:02 pm

      I’d like to visit a desert region sometime. I haven’t experienced that type of landscape.

      Reply
  • 11. Gary  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Wow Era! You should write a book! You have a wonderful way with words. 😀

    I do like the rain, yes. The rain makes me sleep better at night and it makes everything so nice and green outside.

    No umbrellas or raincoats here. 😀

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:58 am

      Thanks, it was such a lovely day. Every thing was sooo beautiful. But the rain was accompanied by a cold front so I definitely bundled up when I went outside.

      Reply
  • 13. Hannah  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Rain is okay, and necessary, and even welcome when you can snuggle down with a blanket and a good book, but I like today’s clear sun much better!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 3:40 pm

      Today is gorgeous!

      Reply
  • 15. Veda  |  Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at 10:15 am

    I love that kind of rain. And you’ve painted such a beautiful picture of it. Love this poem.

    And if it is at all warm enough, I use neither umbrella or raincoat. I let the rain soak me.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at 12:19 pm

      Hmmm, I’m gonna have to rethink this raincoat thing. Sounds like a lot of people are having fun in the rain.

      Reply
  • 17. Doraz  |  Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    I just love when it rains! I am so happy to see that you did not go away from blogging. I thought you were still out! I was so happy to see you are back. Come visit me on DorazSays….LaughwithDoraz is on hold. Thanks! I am happy to see the rain!

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 5:20 am

      I always visit Luisa, just been sick lately. I’ll see ya soon.

      Reply
  • 19. dipali  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 11:24 am

    I hope you’re okay now, Era.
    Rain is lovely, especially if you are snugly indoors and getting wet in it only if you want to:)

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 12:38 pm

      I totally agree! Yes, I am much better now, thanks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

