Sniff Sniff Ahhhh

Monday, October 26, 2009 at 1:15 am 22 comments

BurberryFrom time to time I find myself at the mall.  I don’t really like going to the mall.  Maybe it’s because of the stores filled with racks of clothing that refuse to fit me.  Or maybe,*drumroll please* it’s the menacing throng of smiling ladies threatening to spray me with the latest perfume. *gasp choke sputter*

Having grown up with severe allergies, most of the products I used were unscented – from body lotion to laundry detergent.  Then when I was old enough to appreciate the value of a dollar I gasped, “$80.00 for 1/2 an ounce of what?!!!”  Perfume can be expensive.

Anyway, back to the mall’s army of fragrance spritzers.  No one wants to be rude, but if you stop for every whiff, could take several hours to get from the Gap to the JC Penny that’s two stores away.  This calls for a strategy.  You could avert your eyes and just keep walking, or smile and mumble a “no thanks”  and something about being in a hurry.   Otherwise you can give in and try a product that you know you will decline.  And once you decline, you must endure a brief lecture on what an exceptional value it is. 

Oscar de la Renta PerfumeDespite my uneasy relationship with various aspects of the fashion industry, I will admit to a growing acceptance of perfume.  It all started in college when a good friend gave me a bottle of Oscar de la Renta for my birthday.  That bottle opened my eyes – or my olfactory senses to be more accurate.  Oscar is still one of my favorites.  

Most perfumes  are too “sweet” for my liking.  There are a few fragrances, however, that have captured my fancy.  Sunflowers by Carolina Herera, the afore-mentioned Oscar de la Renta, and Burberry occupy my favorite’s list.  Eternity for men is dreamy stuff.  Hmm, maybe I should get some for Hubby…  My dad wore Old Spice aftershave and I still like the smell of it.  I was also pleasantly surprised by “M”, one of  Mariah Carey’s  perfumes.  It is surprisingly subtle and sophisticated.   I didn’t know that Mariah did subtle.   

One perfume related treat that I enjoy is Burberry shower gel.   After a long tiring day, the smell of that stuff lifts my spirits and allows me to relax.  Do you have a favorite perfume, cologne, or a beauty regimen that makes you feel like royalty? 

Enjoy.  You’re worth it!

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Still Alive Dark and Gloomy – Just the Way I Like It

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jax  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I hardly wear perfume anymore since I work in a hospital. But I used to like Oscar & some of the Avon scents. Eternity for men smells wonderful (Preferred Stock is an inexpensive smell-alike). Every time I take a whiff of perfume, I cough. I detest all musks but flowery or fruity are nice.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 10:20 am

      Preferred Stock, thanks for the tip 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. wordjunkie  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Old Spice and Brut were my dad’s choice , and i still like them too.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 10:23 am

      Nostalgic isn’t it.

      Reply
  • 5. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 10:35 am

    My wife likes this “Woodland” spray stuff that I get from Bath & Body Works. It’s not really cologne and isn’t very strong, but she still stops by to sniff it off the back of my neck once in a while.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 11:30 am

      That’s really sweet. The special fragrance associated with the closeness of a loved one is very poweful.

      Reply
  • 7. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 10:57 am

    I love Valentino’s Rock n’ Rose.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 11:31 am

      I like the name. I’ll have to check it out sometime.

      Reply
  • 9. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Ooo, Burberry one of my favorites too.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 11:32 am

      Nice isn’t it.

      Reply
  • 11. Hannah  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    The way I “handle” the perfume spritzers at the mall is to walk by looking like I am just completely in another world. They usually don’t even bother me! 🙂

    Hm. It’s been a long time since I’ve tried any perfume so I can’t quite remember what I like. Oh, this isn’t the same, but I do love the grapefruit-scented body spray from Origins. Don’t remember what it’s called exactly, but it’s yummy!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 7:15 pm

      Botanicals and essential oils are yummy. Mother nature always gets it right.

      Reply
  • 13. sraikh  |  Monday, October 26, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    I love Sunflower.
    Have to try the others you mentioned.

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:17 am

      I’m going to throw some hints at Hubby. Maybe he’ll get me some for Mother’s Day or something.

      Reply
  • 15. emmap  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 3:11 am

    i love oscar too! i can’t do too strong or “flowery” scents. i have to stick to the more citruis-y stuff. but i find it amazing how various perfumes interact with our own body chemistry… i can wear tommy girl. and i just spaced my other fav, dang it!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:19 am

      I haven’t tried Tommy Girl. Perhaps I’ll have to brave the mall spritzers to get a whiff.

      Reply
  • 17. Jaymie  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Burberry is wonderful…my latest favorite is Dolce & Gabbana’s Light Blue.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:24 am

      I love their names – Dolche & Gabbana.

      Reply
  • 19. Gary  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:42 am

    I wear Aeropostale cologne! I like it and my wife seems to enjoy my manly scent. 😀

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 11:58 am

      I’m gonna have to add that to my must try list.

      Reply
  • 21. dipali  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I love spicy perfumes like Bulgari’s Extreme, and the smokiness of Dune.
    Thanks to the spouses shopaholic tendencies at duty-frees, I have a vast collection.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      Awesome. Next time I’m at a shop I’ll check them out. A shopaholic spouse seems a good problem to have 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

