Ho Hum

Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 12:08 am 34 comments

Lethargic

*sighhhhhhh, chin resting in palm* Now what?

The fizz in my proverbial soda has gone flat.  The helium has escaped from the balloon.  There’s no snap in my “snap out of it.”  I’ve got 39 drafts in the pipeline, but I just can’t bring myself to dust one off, polish it up, and hit the publish button.  Yeah, you read right – 39 drafts!  Apparently I am capable of having more than one thought here at Today’s Thought.  The question remains, however :  are any of those thoughts worth the effort?  

What’s with this bout of mental malaise?  Am I sleep deprived?  Am I sad?  Am I bored?  Probably mostly sleep deprived… and perhaps a little bored.  Maybe I need a vacation from the mundane.  Now that we’re mostly settled, what’s left?  I think I need some inspiration – a muse if you will.  What can I do that’s new and exciting?  Any suggestions?  What do you do when things seem ho hum and you’ve got a case of the doldrums?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Hope I Don’t Flunk Out! It Was One of Those Days Until…

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 1:04 am

    Hmm, I’ll let you know when I figure it out. For now I just put up with it.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 6:22 am

      I thought you might say ballroom dancing 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. richajn  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 4:03 am

    wow! am impressed! house and kids all settled in?
    I still havent arranged/organised my house after we got the furniture etc made in .. March 2008! yes.. more than a year now!! And I’m still wondering when I’ll get time to arrange that beautiful dressing table…..

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 6:26 am

      Difference: you have a cute little baby who needs more attention and a job which takes up a major chunck of your day. My kids are in school (thank you God!) and I am between jobs (for 13 years) so I do manage a little more free time now and then. Although I do spend entire days in my home office paying bills and preparing schedules as if I had a 9 -5 job. I still don’t understand how that happens.

      Reply
  • 5. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 8:17 am

    How about a trip up to NY !! Maybe even all by yourself, now that the kids are older 😉

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 8:20 am

      Seriously?! I’d love to!!!

      Reply
  • 7. Camille  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 9:03 am

    I know exactly what you mean. (If you think I’m kidding, read last night’s post in my blog. Similar, except that my problem is inertia instead of the doldrums.)

    My DD gave our homeschool a name: CASA, which stands for “The Clark Academy of Science and Art.” I, however, tend to think it stands for “The Clark Academy of Sloth and Apathy.”
    🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 1:01 pm

      LOL! You cheered me up. I guess my misery loves your company! 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Doraz  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 9:19 am

    I was wondering where you were! I am sleep deprived. Welcome to the club! 🙂 I like to look at my family photo albums with a good cup of coffee or tea. I start laughing at all the crazy memories! It usually snaps me out of it. I also love to dance. I put on some favorite songs, and away I go. I go into my own little world. I lock the bedroom door, and everyone stays away…or else! 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      LOL! Sounds like great fun 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. S. Le  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 9:45 am

    You are clever! 39 drafts? I think I’m brilliant if I have 5 ahead!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 1:04 pm

      Let me clarify: by draft I mean a random thought that I jot down so I can remember to take up that topic someday. Some are just titles, some just titles with one sentence. I’m lucky if three actually have a few paragraphs.

      Reply
      • 13. S. Le  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 3:44 pm

        Still impressive. I thought one up on the way to work and had to repeat it over to myself so I could write it down after parking!

        Reply
        • 14. S. Le  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 3:45 pm

          I’d tip my hat to you if I owned a hat!

          Reply
          • 15. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 5:00 pm

            That’s very kind of you 🙂

            Reply
    • 16. Gary  |  Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 10:26 am

      I think I’m brilliant if I have 1 ahead!

      Reply
  • 17. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 11:29 am

    I had a case of the doldrums just a few months ago. Decided to take one picture a day for a month, and that did a pretty good job of shaking me from my slump.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 1:05 pm

      That’s a great idea. I think I need to take up an activity where I meet actual people in person more often.

      Reply
  • 19. Hannah  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    I hear ya! Sometimes I feel like I have potential, mentally half written, all bottlenecked up in there, and other times I feel like … well, the way you do now.
    I’m sure inspiration will strike you like a bolt of lightning any minute now.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 5:01 pm

      Since we’re referring to inspiration, does that mean that I shouldn’t duck? Probably a moot point. With my reflexes I’ll never see it coming.

      Reply
  • 21. cindy  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    i always have so many drafts ready to go,..then i totally forget about them and never post them!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 7:57 pm

      Trading drafts and finishing someone else’s post would be funny.

      Reply
  • 24. richajn  |  Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 1:56 am

    wanna try it?? 🙂

    Reply
    • 25. Era  |  Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 2:15 am

      Why not!

      Reply
  • 26. Gary  |  Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I hate it when your thoughts run dry. I have no doubt that your creativity and wits will get you through this little doldrum and you will be back to your old blogging self real soon. 😀

    Reply
    • 27. Era  |  Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 10:40 am

      Thanks!

      Reply
  • 28. Gary  |  Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 10:30 am

    P.S. Sorry I called you old.

    Reply
    • 29. Era  |  Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 10:40 am

      Not you too, Gary! That’s it, where’s my hair dye? LOL!

      Reply
  • 30. blissbait  |  Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    jump into the sea
    and swim swim swim swim swim swim
    that gifts me greatly!

    Cheers! 🙂

    Reply
  • 31. Tony  |  Saturday, October 17, 2009 at 3:58 am

    I get like that sometimes & what ever rubbish I come up with for a post just doesn’t seem worth posting for anyone to be bothered reading.

    Reply
    • 32. Era  |  Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 1:01 am

      It really is hard to come up with material sometimes.

      Reply
  • 33. Tony  |  Saturday, October 17, 2009 at 4:00 am

    Oh forgot my suggestion. I usually go outside & do something in the garden unless it’s rain that’s giving me the doldrums then I just put on good music to listen to & drink lots of coke or coffee & consume chocolate if there is any in the house.

    Reply
    • 34. Era  |  Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 1:05 am

      Chocolate is always good, but I’ve got to cut down. I recently got myself some jig saw puzzles. That usually cheers me up but my worklike obligations are starting to pick up again and I don’t know when I’ll find the time for the puzzles.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

