Hope I Don’t Flunk Out!

Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 12:00 am 25 comments

Classroom Scene

What was I thinking?

Monday Sept. 28, 2009

Dear Diary,

What was I thinking?  I’m not a native Spanish speaker.  But tomorrow I am going to teach Spanish to my son’s class.   Hay caramba! (do native Spanish speakers even use that expression?)

What makes me think I can stand up in front of a bunch of kids and teach them Spanish?  When it comes to language, if you don’t use it you lose it.  I mean, after staying at home with three kids for 13 years and not having time to read anything more involved than Dr. Seuss books, my English vocabulary is almost gone. 

So what if my mother grew up in the Dominican Republic and speaks fluently.  So what if I took Spanish for several years in school.  I’m still nervous! 

So how did I get myself into this situation?  The school asked for volunteers.  Yeah, I guess I did this to myself.  Spanish is not formally part of the curriculum so the program is volunteer driven.  Once again I ask, “What was I thinking ?”    Well,  I’ll let you know how it went tomorrow.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed while hoping my tongue won’t be tied.

Sincerely,
Era

Dear Readers, have you ever gotten into something and felt that you were in over your  head?   How did it turn out?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

A Princess Like Me? Ho Hum

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 1:06 am

    Yup. Ballroom dancing. But eight years later it has turned out okay. 🙂

    Don’t worry, you’ll do great!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 9:03 am

      Ballroom dancing – nice. You say eight years later, does that mean you’re still dancing? Thanks for the vote of confidence 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Doraz  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 9:21 am

    ¡Silencio! ¡Cálmate!

    You will be a big hit, I have NO doubt!
    Have fun with it!
    Get the kids to talk more and you can just smile at them!
    🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 9:31 am

      Si, estoy tranquilo 🙂

      How did you get the Spanish punctuation in wordpress? I’ve been looking for it – probably not hard enough though.

      Reply
      • 5. Doraz  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 8:44 pm

        I speak Spanish. 🙂

        Reply
        • 6. Era  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 9:48 pm

          You are awesome. Spanish, Italian – any other languages in your arsenal?

          Reply
          • 7. Doraz  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 10:23 pm

            DORAZOLOGY……… 🙂

            Reply
            • 8. Era  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 11:11 pm

              Giggle giggle – nice one 🙂

              Reply
  • 9. Gary  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Yikes! Good luck Era! I hope you do an AWESOME job and can’t wait to hear how it went for you.

    I must admit that I don’t envy you though! 😀

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 3:03 pm

      Thanks, I hate how it’s turned me into a nervous wreck.

      Reply
  • 11. Just a Mom  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Wow, good luck!
    Let’s see have I ever gotten my self into something and felt in over my head? Hmmm…does parenthood count?! 🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 3:04 pm

      You bet parenting counts. It’s kicking my butt every day!

      Reply
  • 13. cindy  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    half my husbands family is all from the dominican republic and he can only speak enough spanish to get by. good luck! 😀

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 9:47 pm

      Thank you! 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. ajcl  |  Friday, October 2, 2009 at 12:38 am

    came here from Richa’s .. you’ve got a nice blog..

    very thoughtful of you to volunteer and thoughtful gestures are always sucessful.. all the best

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, October 2, 2009 at 7:01 am

      Thanks Ajcl, nice to meet you!

      Reply
  • 17. June  |  Friday, October 2, 2009 at 10:34 am

    Those kids (hopefully) wont know any Spanish either. I say do it with a corporate flourish..CHEAT

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Friday, October 2, 2009 at 11:38 am

      Lol! Even if I don’t know what I’m doing, I plan to look like I know exactly what I’m doing.

      Reply
  • 19. Hannah  |  Friday, October 2, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    I’d say the results have been mixed. 🙂 But I totally applaud your boldness! And hey, if anyone complains that you’re not doing a good enough job or not speaking with a pristine accent, you can always offer THEM the job!

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Saturday, October 3, 2009 at 4:12 am

      Exactly, no complaints allowed 🙂

      Reply
  • 21. S. Le  |  Monday, October 5, 2009 at 11:38 am

    You was suckered! How did it go?

    I was once scheduled to give a talk about ADHD at a local library. The talk was, thankfully, canceled! We did NOT reschedule.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Monday, October 5, 2009 at 11:16 pm

      Alas, was I bamboozled?

      Reply
  • 23. blissbait  |  Monday, October 12, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    does life itself count?
    ’cause there are days when I’m sure
    i may not belong…

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    Hope it went well! I’m willing to bet You had a blast!

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Monday, October 12, 2009 at 3:32 pm

      Thank you! It did go well. I’ve been meaning to post about it.

      Reply
  • 25. blissbait  |  Wednesday, October 14, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Oh, do!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

