The Poster Post

Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 12:00 am 24 comments

I’ve spent a lot of time in the guidance counselor’s office.  Oh, not because I was in trouble – I was just enrolling the kids in their new schools.  While I was there I made a few observations.

Have you ever noticed that in school and government offices there seem to be an abundance of motivational or inspirational posters?  Raise your hand if you haven’t seen the poster of the cute kitten hanging on a clothesline  by its claws with the caption “Hang in there!”.    There are a whole bunch of these posters and some of them can be fun and/or cute.  I’ve taken the liberty of compiling some of my favorites.  So here we go. 

The first poster gives me hope. If the monkey can get it, we can all get it, right?    

Manners Poster

 

 There’s nothing worse than a family outing when someone is in a grumpy  mood (OK, I’m working on my attitude, give me a break, will ya?) 

Attitude Poster

After years of feeling left out, I finally embraced the message of this poster. 

 

Be Yourself Poster

Being a parent will drive home the message of this next poster real fast.

FlexibilityPoster

Too bad I didn’t realize this one when I was young and had lots of time.  If only I could have saved time in a bottle.  Jim Croce said it best. 

Time Recycle Poster

When I was in school I couln’t seem to get inspiratation to do my reports until the night before.  I still have that same relationship with deadlines.

Warning poster

 I’ve got to remind myself of this next one every day!!!

Common Sense Poster

Notice the Kitty’s clueless face and the bandage on its paw in contrast to the grin on the fish’s face?   I don’t want to be that Kitty!  In fact I put a lot of effort into not being that Kitty on a daily basis. (Whether or not I succeed is another matter)

mistake poster

 

As much as I am a skeptic, have an irreverent sence of humor, and don’t like to take anything too seriously, I still am an incurable romantic and hopelessly optimistic.  Therefore, I had to include the final poster.

 

Dream Poster

If you have any favorite motivational, inspirational, amusing, or wise sayings… please do share!

All posters can be found here (Sorry about the poor resolution)

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Brown Baggin’ It A Princess Like Me?

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. richajn  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 2:52 am

    🙂 really neat posters.
    i used to be ahuge ‘poster’ fan in college. My room was chocablock with them… now in a ‘nice’ house with matching ‘decor’ – no posters ..

    The one about ‘attitude’ is defnitely my fav!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 6:17 am

      The froggy is cute. Did I see a picture of a toy similar to it on your blog? One of Goosh’s favorite toys, I think?

      Reply
  • 3. emmap  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 3:41 am

    the only one I remember from school was when I was in middle school and it said something about planning ahead and it was a visual leasson, cuz the last word was the word “preparation” (i think) that had to be squished into the margin of the poster, as the “writer” obviously HADN’T planned ahead.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 6:22 am

      LOL! Here’s to planning 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Tony  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 3:48 am

    I really like the Common Sense card & the Be Flexible one too

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 6:25 am

      I always wonder how the photographer stumbled upon that bird or is it some creative editing?

      Reply
  • 7. Veda  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 10:26 am

    I love the “Be Yourself” poster. I can celebrate my different-ness now, but back in my school days it wasn’t so cool. Gorgeous “Dare to Dream”. I love starry skies.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 10:39 am

      Vivez la difference!

      Reply
  • 9. S. Le  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 10:42 am

    I heard a different take on an old saying about when you assume. It goes like this: “When you assume, you become an a** to me!” I like that better than the original.

    I don’t tend to like posters though I will say I like the deadline one.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 10:46 am

      I guess I like the ones in places of business that give you something to read while you wait such as ” In God we trust, all others pay cash!”

      Reply
    • 11. Just a Mom  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 11:00 am

      I have to laugh at your Assume saying! My youngest daughter is in the 5th grade and this was one of her spelling words this week. I am just waiting for my phone to ring because I told her, “remember when you assume you make and A$$ out of U and ME!” I learned that as a kid from the Odd Couple Show!

      Reply
      • 12. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 1:00 pm

        Lol, I learned that in class years ago too. Every time I use the word I think of the saying.

        Reply
  • 13. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 11:03 am

    I tend to like the “de-motivational” posters myself. My favorite is the one with a picture of the Pyramids and underneath it says, Achievement: “You can do anything you set your mind to when you have vision, determination, and an endless supply of expendable labor”.

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 1:01 pm

      Lol, that’s a good one!

      Reply
  • 15. Doraz  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Great ones! I have tons on my blog. Take a peek. You are doing an amazing job on your blog. Heep it going! 🙂 Hope you are having a great day!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 1:01 pm

      Thank you 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Gary  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 11:50 am

    We had posters plastered all over the walls of my grade school when I was a kid. All down the halls, classrooms, offices, you name it. By the time I was in 3rd grade, I got tired of looking at them all. It was just too much for such a young lad. Like my parents correcting my every move wasn’t enough but when I went to school to escape it, I was bombarded with subliminal messages.

    Now I take medications that help me deal with this issue. 😀

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 1:03 pm

      Too much of a good thing, huh 🙂

      Reply
  • 19. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Be Yourself, is the mantra am teaching Adi all the time. He is getting to the point where kids are noticing his lunch looks different from theirs and is being made fun of !! Poor kid has started life’s hardest thing of dealing with bullies 😦

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 1:06 pm

      I know how it is. School can be rough, but he has a good head on his shoulders and I know he’ll be fine.

      Reply
  • 21. cindy  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    some of these are simply hilarious! i love the giraffe one the most!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 10:30 pm

      Me too 🙂

      Reply
  • 23. Jenidefendmuh  |  Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 2:44 am

    Lots of people blog about this issue but you said some true words.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Saturday, November 28, 2009 at 12:35 pm

      Thanks for visiting my blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

