My How Things Change

Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 8:32 am 18 comments

Reflecting on the past

While visiting Jean Has Been Shopping,  I read her letter to her 1989 self.  Immediately I knew this was a post I wanted to do too.  But what would I say to the Era who existed in 1989?  How would I write a letter to someone I’d lost touch with so long ago?  I’d have to travel way back in time:  back to a time when the Berlin Wall was still standing, back to when Paula Abdul was at the height of her career, and Margret Thatcher was still Prime Minister ; back to when Columbus… oops, I think I’ve gone a bit too far. 

Dear 1989 Me,

Congratulations !  You’re in a good place now.  In fact, you were always in a good place but just not smart enough to know it.  You let other people devalue you with their judgements and hurtful remarks.  You didn’t know that they were the ones with the problem.  You let it ruin your self esteem but I promise you, you will get it back.  It won’t be easy, and it may take the rest of your life, but you’ve come a long way baby.  (Uh… yes, I did just use the popular slogan of a cigarette company but don’t get distracted by trivia as you sometimes do).

Ok, I’ve got to wrap this up by midnight because as Cinderella will tell you, pumpkins are hard to steer.  So let’s get this going.

Beauty:   Stop looking in the mirror and thinking that you’re not pretty enough or thin enough.  The gray hair and extra 30 pounds you have in 2009 will put all of this into perspective pretty quickly.  The people who made you feel unworthy are irrelevant.  Forget them.  I wish I could snap my fingers and make you see that you are not ugly and that your beauty has little to do with your outward appearance.  It comes from above and must be realized from within.  Please realize it sooner.  *sigh* I guess some things just take time, don’t they?

Men:  The wall that you’ve erected to protect yourself from the world will be dismantled brick by brick by someone who sees you better than you see yourself.  He sees your true value.  He will take your heart and your hand and give you his in return.  You’ll both have to stand up for each other when no one else will but ultimately, that’s all that matters.   You’ll never guess who I’m talking about in a million years!  And even if I told you, you’d never believe me.  So just trust me on this one.  It’s gonna be good.

Children:  Yeah, you’re not gonna believe this one either, but you’re gonna have three children in three years.  They are pretty awesome in spite your best efforts. “What about my career?” you ask.  Don’t worry, we’re still figuring that out.  Maybe Era from 2029 can shed some light on that with another letter.  When she sends it to me I’ll forward it to you. 

Family:  I don’t want to make you sad, but dad is not here anymore.  Don’t worry, you’ll be there for him when it counts and he’ll be there for you.  You’ll learn that one of the biggest reasons to live every day to the fullest and treat each encounter as it were your last, is not because you might die the next day, but because we change everyday and over time we aren’t the same people we used to be.  It’s possible to lose people long before they pass away and not even realize it.

Money:  Everything your parents taught you will serve you well.  Follow their example.  SAVE. SHARE. ENJOY.

Miscellaneous:  

  • That summer semester  of law school in London – take it.  It will be one of the best experiences of your life. 
  • The only way to make money is not to pursue a traditional degree and become a lawyer, doctor, or accountant – go to art school or design school!  It’s your true calling! (Drat, you didn’t hear me did you?) 
  • Times get tough and the prospect of unemployment forces your family to move. You’ll have choices.  Pick Austin, you’ll love it!  Trust me, you can’t handle winter in Chicago.
  • Start blogging, you’ll love it.  Don’t ask me what a blog is, just trust me! 
  • Keep your head up, you’ll be fine!

 Sincerely,
 Me in 2009

This is an open tag.  If you would like to, write a letter to the “1989 you” and share it in your blog.  Ciao!

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Team Spirit The Impossible Dream

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Just a Mom  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Great letter! I thought this was a fun post to do.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 10:47 am

      Thanks, it was fun.

      Reply
  • 3. Veda  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    interesting idea. I’ll have to do this one as well.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 12:57 pm

      Definitely try it , it’s lots of fun.

      Reply
  • 5. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Love it! It makes me want to know more!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 1:00 pm

      Thanks, was a vague enough?

      Reply
  • 7. Camille  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Great idea! I think I’ll add to mine, “Buy Microsoft, Apple, and Google (just trust me) stock.”

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 2:58 pm

      Lol, if I could change the past I’d add all kinds of stuff like that.

      Reply
  • 9. Doraz  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    It was very cool going to the past and writing that letter. Maybe you should do one for the future? Very interesting thought, huh? 🙂 You are the creative one in the bunch! LOL

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 3:03 pm

      Hmmm, the future… all your dreams will come true and… I don’t know, this was difficult enough, lol.

      Reply
  • 11. S. Le  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    That was a bit of fun. I don’t think I can remember anything that far back.

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 6:06 pm

      It took me a while to remember.

      Reply
  • 13. Gary  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    LOVE IT! I’m going to do this too one of these days. I’m a little behind at the moment but I will get to it. 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 10:36 pm

      It’s a fun post to do. I can’t wait to read yours.

      Reply
  • 15. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 9:58 am

    This is a fun exercise! One of my pieces of advice to myself would be to buy lots of tech stocks and sell them all in 1999.

    “Everyone’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen)” would be a good song to play for our younger selves I think.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 10:56 am

      I wish I had worn sunscreen when I was younger! Oh well, water under the bridge.

      Reply
  • 17. Mom Gone Mad  |  Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    LOVED IT, Era! So glad you’re back to blogging full time again!

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 6:32 pm

      Its good to be back and I’m glad you’re back. I missed you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

