Team Spirit

Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 1:16 am 18 comments

Hook em hornsAmerica loves football – and I’m not talking about soccer.  We live in the land of tailgate parties, super bowl commercials, and THE HALF TIME SHOW.  Still, with all this team spirit,  I’ve never been much of a sports fan *collective gasp*.

Surprised Lady

Oh, I can get excited about sports every two years or so.  First for the summer olympics and then for the winter olympics.  Actually, my dad did get me to like baseball (for many years we had only one television in the house so it was baseball or nothing).  We watched the Atlanta Braves when they were a new team and made more errors than… Dan Quayle on a spelling test.   They were so bad, when the other team hit a pop fly, they got more nervous than the Queen of England at a Fourth of July picnic, or Michael Vick at a P.E.T.A. rally.   (Of course in recent years they have improved and gone on to win multiple world series.)

 I don’t know exactly when I fell in love with tennis.  Perhaps it was when I had my first lesson at a tennis camp in the summer of my eighth grade year.  Or maybe it was the first time I saw John McEnroe throw a temper tantrum. 

Over the years I learned to like basketball and thanks to Tiger Woods I can even watch a little golf – emphasis on “little”.  Under the right circumstances I can also enjoy a good football game.

I attended the University of Miami at the height of the Canes’ domination of college football.  I lived in Miami when the Miami Dolphins made it to the AFC finals, when the Miami Heat won the NBA championship, and when the Florida Panthers played in the Stanley cup.  But I never attended a game.  Yes, I was even in Miami when the Florida Marlins won the world series. 

Despite living in a city with very successful sports franchises, I never followed sports.   However, now that I am in a state where football is almost a religion and the University of Texas Longhorns are practically my neighbors…  I find myself being caught up in a wave. 

I want one of those rust colored  (I mean burnt orange) Longhorn T-shirts … and maybe even a pair of cowboy boots (however the family has threatened to disown me if I get the boots.)  Every time I see the throngs of fans in UT colors, I want to wear them too.  I’ve always been an individualistic type of individual – if you know what I mean.  So what’s happening to me?  What’s with this desire to root for the home team, which is in a new home for me?  

Last night we attended a festival of all the high school and middle school bands in our school district.  (We went to see our eldest play in her school’s band)  All the bands did a great job.  But the highlight of the evening was when the UT Longhorns marching band made the final performance of the night.  I’ve never seen anything like it in person ( you can tell I don’t get out much).  They were INCREDIBLE.  They stormed the field like an army of cavalry soldiers with banners waving and brass instruments polished to a high gloss  gleam.  300 members strong!  They marched, they played, they danced, they DOMINATED. 

UT Band Spells Texas

 This is the UT band spelling Texas on the field taken with Hubby’s cell phone.

All I have to say is :  HOOK EM HORNS!!!

UT Hook em sign

Do you any favorite sports teams?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

A Few of My Favorite Things My How Things Change

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emmap  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 3:33 am

    i love sports…as long as it is live! i also love a good drum corp. bugle corp…. whooo hoot!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 7:14 am

      I think I’m hooked!

      Reply
  • 3. Camille  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Stop by your closest HEB–they have a great selection of UT t-shirts for reasonable prices. (Well, as reasonable as branded shirts get.) Heck, I probably have an extra–or two or three–that you can have. haha

    Welcome to the world of burnt orange, hook-ems, and drunk frat boys. Just stay away from 6th St on game night. Seriously. Unless you want to get hit on or peed on, or both, probably at the same time. 🙂

    Camille
    http://TheEclecticMom.blogspot.com/

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:40 am

      Ewww, no 6th street for me!

      Reply
  • 5. Gary  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:23 am

    It’s good that you are getting hooked Era. Now you have something to look forward too ever week and something more to talk about with your family and friends.

    Era: Hi Jenny!

    Jenny: Hi Era!

    Era: Did you see the longhorns game yesterday?

    Jenny: YEAH! Can you believe it?

    Era: No….they kicked some major BOO-TAY!

    I’m a BIG Chicago Cubs and Chicago Bears fan!!!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:31 am

      LOL, never thought of myself as one of those “so how about those Llonghorns?” kind of folks. I actually enjoyed following the Cubs for quite a while, back when I was watching the Braves with my dad. I enjoyed the announcing of the great Harry Carry and his son Skip.

      Reply
  • 7. Doraz  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:33 am

    My brothers did sports in High School, so it was fun to watch. I play the flute. I was in the marching band. It was a blast! I like to watch sports if I know someone playing in the game. It makes it more personal for me. It is also more fun. 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:37 am

      It is a lot more fun when you know someone playing the game. I didn’t know you play the flute. That’s awesome. All of us who play an instrument should make a little video of us playing and make a blog series out of it. That would be fun! 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. S. Le  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Nope. Not a sports fan. Husband only watches the Tour de France and Indy car racing.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:41 am

      That reminds me, I need to learn more about NASCAR. I am trying to broaden my horizons and sports has always been beyond me… until now 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:47 am

    What means this word “sports”?

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 2:53 pm

      I would say that sports are a glorified forms of fetch. Baseball even uses a stick like fetch except you use it to hit a ball.

      Reply
  • 13. Just a Mom  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Say it ain’t so! You have poisened by the Austinites! I must send you something in the shade of Maroon! As you can tell I am an Aggie fan, Texas A&M all the way!
    We love sports here at my house. We love the Indy Racing League and try to go to Dallas to see them run every year. We also like golf and we are lucky enough to have the regular PGA and the Senoir tour stop here in Houston. The kids love going to watch them.
    Baseball ~ Astros & Red Sox
    Football ~ Dallas Cowboys

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 2:55 pm

      “Say it ain’t so!” Lol! I can’t help it, there are longhorns everywhere I turn! I even saw a guy in a Hawaiin shirt where the flowers were longhorn burnt orange. *help me* I’m gonna have to get better aquainted with the Cowboys. My kids want to go to local games with Florida Gator shirts on. That’s suicide. I’ll have to lock them in their rooms for their own good 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. cindy  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    i have never been into sports…i’m definitely a bookish type of gal. lol. my husband isn’t even into football or baseball or anything because he’s just not the jock type. i also have no idea how to play football at all so i get really confused anytime i try to even watch it… lol 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 11:23 pm

      I still don’t understand the game very well, but… hey is that a tailgate party? Lol! I’ve never been to a tailgate *sigh*

      Reply
  • 17. Raji  |  Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Cool, now I know what to get you for your birthday. When is your bday ?

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 7:27 am

      Its in March. If I can keep the blog going, the 1 year blogoversary will be around that time also.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

