A Few of My Favorite Things

Monday, September 21, 2009 at 12:00 am 26 comments

We all experience little moments that just make us relish life or at least feel really, really good for a while.  Sometimes it’s the simplest of things.  That is what this post is all about.

Here we go in no particular order:

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens… oops, that’s someone else’s list.  Let’s try this again.

1.    Coming inside on a really hot day and collapsing onto a  cool leather sofa.

2.    Taking a steamy hot shower on a frigid winter day. 

3.    Reading a blog and realizing that you’ve been given an award.

4.    Reading a blog post or comment  that turns out to be riproaringly hilarious or  emotionally moving.

5.    Driving on a freshly paved road – nice and smooth with glistening black top and freshly painted yellow lines.

6.    Sitting down for dinner with loved ones and realizing from that first bite, that it’s delicious.

7.    That quiet time in the wee hours of the morning when everyone is safe in bed and when you can think, plan your day, or just appreciate life.

8.    The whole family gathered on the sofa watching a favorite TV show like “So You Think You Can Dance” and chatting.

9.    Being snug in bed during a rain storm, or snug at home looking out the window at the gray world.

10. Downsizing and organizing so that everything has a place and everything is in its place and you know just where to find what you’re looking for.

11.  Sharing a really good laugh.

12.  Watching a dance performance where music and movement speak directly to the heart and express emotions so much better than words ever could.

13.  When someone says “You were right” (you know you like it too).

14.  Finding exactly what you want at the store.

15.  Having a perfect hair day (I have very limited experience with this one)

16.  Witnessing the colorful display of autumn leaves.

17.  Seeing the early morning sun light the sky on fire.

18.  That cool, long drink of water when you’re feeling parched.

19.  Getting a phone call from someone you really want to talk to.

20.  Sharing a good hug.

This post is inspired by a really neat blog called 1,000 Awesome Things.  Check it out for your daily dose of awesomeness.  While this post was in my auto post queue, I came across Emma’s post Moments that Make My Heart Melt .  Enjoy Emma’s list and make one of your own to share with your blogging friends.  So tell me, what are some of your favorite things?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

An Oasis of Memories Team Spirit

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dipali  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Very nice! I must do this one:)

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 6:43 am

      Yes, please do!

      Reply
  • 3. emmap  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 5:42 am

    oooh… #8 makes me melty… it’s one of my favs too!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 7:03 am

      It’s so simple yet soooo nice.

      Reply
  • 5. cindy  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 7:42 am

    totally agree with number 7 and 10. i’ll be doing some organizing this weekend that is long overdue!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 8:46 am

      Hi, I hope your’re feeling better and over that cold!

      Reply
  • 7. S. Le  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Excellent list! I’ll have to do this sometime.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 10:43 am

      And I look forward to reading it.

      Reply
  • 9. Gary  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 11:23 am

    These are all great but #13 would have to be my favorite. LOL

    I should do one of these lists sometime as well. 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 1:56 pm

      # 13 is the bonb 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. sraikh  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Fun list,
    The drink of water after a long run is the best!
    The kids and I have taken to watching Wipeout(I know not the best choice but the youngest loves the big bouncing balls).

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      That show is so much fun. Big laughs constantly.

      Reply
  • 13. Just a Mom  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    One of my favorite things is similar to your #2 but it’s taking a cold shower and a very hot day!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 2:00 pm

      Change to a more pleasant temperature is always welcome.

      Reply
  • 15. Doraz  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    This reminds me of:
    Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
    Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
    Brown paper packages tied up with strings
    These are a few of my favorite things

    Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
    Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
    Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
    These are a few of my favorite things

    Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
    Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
    Silver white winters that melt into springs
    These are a few of my favorite things

    When the dog bites
    When the bee stings
    When I’m feeling sad
    I simply remember my favorite things
    And then I don’t feel so bad

    THANKS…..Love what you wrote!
    🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 2:45 pm

      I was singing along with you 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    All these references to “My Favorite Things” are putting me in the mood to go do some Viennese waltzing, which coincidentally is one of my favorite things. 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 11:53 pm

      Save me a dance 🙂

      Reply
  • 19. Hannah  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Well, I must do this one too, it’s wonderful! I love all of yours but I must give a big Amen to #15. You mean I’m not alone in the world? 🙂

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 11:55 pm

      Well from the picture on your blog, your hair looks really nice to me 🙂

      Reply
  • 21. Tony  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 4:56 am

    I like #13 but I don’t experience it very often

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 7:15 am

      Getting other people to admit it is the hard part.

      Reply
  • 23. Veda  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I am inspired as well. Look for a list of my favorite things on my blog in a few days. I want to give this some thought. Thanks for sharing. I needed the lift.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 3:00 pm

      I’ll be stopping by to check out your list.

      Reply
  • 25. Jean Has Been Shopping  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Awesome list! I’d love to get a handle on number 10!

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 3:06 pm

      Hi Jean, thanks for visiting my blog. Nice to meet you. Number 10 is an ongoing process. In addition to my own shortcomings I have four other people in the house who may or may not (most often NOT) put away their own stuff. After years of my fussing, I think we’re getting better at it as a group.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

