An Oasis of Memories

Friday, September 18, 2009 at 12:00 am 24 comments

When I was fourteen I attended my first piano lesson.  I know what you’re thinking.  “Fourteen is old.  Most kids start at four not fourteen!”  So call me a late bloomer.

 piano

My parents bought this piano for me when I was a teenager.  It’s been through a lot!  First of all, it’s endured my practicing – in that case, the whole family has endured a lot!  Secondly, in 1995 it survived the wrath of hurricane Marilyn which tore the roof off my parents house in St. Thomas and knocked them to the ground when the front door they were trying to secure with furniture was blown in. 

Luckily… AMAZINGLY…  my parents were not seriously injured.  The piano also made a full recovery once all the rain water dried out of it.  There a few rusty strings but it still holds its tune pretty well.  When we bought our house in Florida,  my parents had the piano shipped to us all the way from St. Thomas.  Some house warming gift, huh?  They wanted me to have it and for that I’m grateful.  While I only had lessons for a couple of years, I still love to sit and play my old songs from time to time, and a few new ones that I’ve picked up along the way.

My children took lessons at this piano. For a few years they practiced regularly, albeit sometimes reluctantly.  When their protests over taking lessons became too much for me to bear, I made a deal with them.  They could stop piano lessons if they took up an instrument in the school band.  I guess there will be no concert pianist in the family this generation.  They’ve all chosen band.  However, every once in a while and to my great delight, they visit their old friend “the piano” and play.  I don’t think any of us could imagine our house without it.  Even Hubby will have a seat and play a duet with me.  We taught him well – we couldn’t have him feeling left out now, could we?

Adorning the top of this family heirloom, if you will, are some of my favorite family photos.

 piano closeup

What special items in your home come with fond memories or a personal  story?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

Elaborate is Wholly Unnecessary A Few of My Favorite Things

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. In love with my life  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Wow..i love that piano. It look so shiny and nice:-)

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 8:58 am

      You’d never know by looking at it that it’s a hurricane survivor. Yamaha makes good stuff.

      Reply
  • 3. Gary  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Awesome post Era! LOVE the piano also. I can’t think of a single thing in my house that has a fond memory attached to it. CERTAINLY there is but I can’t think of anything right now. When I do, I will come back. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 10:41 am

      Awesome, can’t wait to hear about it. 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. S. Le  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 10:34 am

    The piano does look very nice for such a perilous history! I used to have my Gran’s piano but gave it away when we moved to our current home. I think very old photos and bits and bobs of flotsam floating around my house are my “special” items. I’ve moved so many times in my life I’ve learnt that home is where your stuff is and the most important item in the home is the family.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 10:42 am

      Well said, well said.

      Reply
  • 7. Veda  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I received my first piano lesson when I was 15. I had wanted to learn to play since I was little, but my parents couldn’t afford the piano or lessons until I was in high school. I had 3 1/2 years of lessons, so I can play well enough to enjoy, but I don’t play for others. Couldn’t get my older children interested. Maybe the 2 year old? We’ll see.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 12:21 pm

      I don’t play for people either – such pressure! lol . Good luck with the 2 year old- maybe there lies your virtuoso. BTW, do you have a blog? If so please send me your link and I’ll gladly visit 🙂

      Reply
      • 9. Veda  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 6:55 pm

        I’ve been blogging for about a month now. http://vedasmorethanok.blogspot.com
        Stumbled across your blog when I was looking for a golden apple. Love that pic.
        I’ve enjoyed your writing. You seem a kindred spirit. My blog is still a little sparse. Most of my few visitors know me personally. I’ll have to write something about myself soon for you.

        Reply
        • 10. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 7:27 pm

          Thanks for the link, I’ll be over soon.

          Reply
  • 11. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Umm, hmm, probably just the grandfather clock. It’s named Henry (after a character in my first book to be published) and we’ve had it for years. It even managed to survive the trip from New York to California without being destroyed by the movers!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 12:23 pm

      A grandfather clock, that’s awesome! We had one years ago. I don’t remember what happened to it, but I’m pretty sure it was gone before the hurricane could have done it in. Congratulations on the book!

      Reply
  • 13. Doraz  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Maybe we can hear you one day soon! 🙂 Love it! Just beautiful!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 5:27 pm

      I wouldn’t punish friends like that, lol 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. Tony  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Now the piano is one thing I wish I’d learnt as a kid. Tried once much later in life but I couldn’t make each hand do 2 different things & read 2 lines of music at the some time.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      That’s always been tricky for me too. I guess every instrument has its challenge. I tried playing the euphonium for a semester in college. I passed the class alright but the lip vibration and air flow control (called the embouchure) needed in order to play it took so much effort that I gave up all hopes of playing a brass instrument.

      Reply
  • 17. Tony  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    @ Dennis: Henry/Henery??? Your Grandfather clock has been spamming me…

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 5:38 pm

      ROFLMAO!!! I saw that spam in your comments. Who knew Dennis’ Grandfather clock was involved! That’s a good one Tony, I’m still laughing.

      Reply
  • 19. sraikh  |  Saturday, September 19, 2009 at 2:48 am

    Aww.. its nice that there is something that binds the whole family together.

    An object that is close to my heart.. hmm when I was anew bride and visited my dh’s family friend in India, they had a Rajasthani puppet and I commented that its very nice. The host said( jokingly)
    take it down and bring it with her and the shameless I am made a move to get up and take it down from their wall. It has since then travelled from india to US to SIngapore backl to US and to various homes here.. Its the first thing I hang in the new house.I’m sure it must be around in some of my pictures

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Saturday, September 19, 2009 at 4:24 am

      That’s awesome. I think it would make a great blog post. Do share the pictures.

      Reply
  • 21. dipali  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 2:09 am

    Such a rich storehouse of memories there!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 6:49 am

      Definitely one of my favorites especially now that my father is no longer here.

      Reply
  • 23. emmap  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 4:54 am

    i started at age 4… i was the only one who stuck with the piano. i wish I had a nice piano. I dont know that I have much of value… just scrapbooks with pictures of the kids growing up.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 6:55 am

      As you know, value has nothing to do with dollar signs. It’s all about memories like the ones housed in your scrapboods and especially the ones in your heart. You started at four and stuck with it. That ‘s awesome!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

