Elaborate is Wholly Unnecessary

Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 12:00 am 30 comments

I call dibs on this space… “What space?” you ask all surprised.  “It’s only 12 inches deep, five feet high, and 3 feet wide!”  True, there’s no place to sit and relax there, but I claim this space in the name of order and simplicity. 

When we first moved into our new house, everything was chaos.  This little niche became the hotspot hangout for every stray piece of paper, loose change, and various odds and ends.  It was an easy spot to rest things down when we had no dining table and no sofa. 

Before I go on, I have a confession to make.  All my life I have struggled with clutter.  I accumulated things that I might need sometime in the future.  I was unable to get rid of things that had never been used and besieged by things that had long outlived their relevance.  With all this clutter afoot I couldn’t function properly.  Bills were forgotten, appointments were missed and motivation was at an all time low.

So what did I do?  I went on a purge campaign!  I still have a way to go, but what an improvement!!!  I started small areas where I could tame the clutter, master organization, and stave off procrastination.  I banished everyone’s clutter  including my own.  When I noticed that someone left something there that didn’t belong, I would have them pick it up and find some other place for it (even if that other place was a junk heap in some other area of the house – ahem, like our garage).  

After about a week of my vigilant patrolling, we stopped dumping our junk in this spot and I decided to decorate it.  It’s one tiny area that I can manage to keep neat with little to no effort.  With  simple metal wall art and a few candles, this space has been rescued from the ever shifting sands of disarray.  It is one small victory in the battle against clutter and one giant leap for me.

The niche of anti clutter is between the kitchen and the family room.

Niche

Here’s a closer look although there’s not that much to see. 

Niche Closeup

Now that this spot is tamed, I really need to tackle the garage! 

Garage Mess

What’s your little reclaimed space and what’s your next “need to be tamed” project?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

The Green Room An Oasis of Memories

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 1:45 am

    What needs to be tamed here is pretty much the entire house. But I think it will probably never happen. I did recently tidy up the wires behind my computer though.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 1:47 am

      Electronics and the wires that go with them – taming those is a feat! We’ve got wires behind our TV that we need to tame because they are sticking out from behind the equipment. It’s unsightly, but that job somehow never seems to get done around here.

      Reply
  • 3. richajn  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 2:07 am

    wow.
    love the metal work. those pieces look gorgeous together. simple. neat. and yet sooo nice.

    era, i think u’re my ‘decor-twin’ if there’s some such thing!
    I used to have a pretty similar wall metal piece hanging in my earlier house. With a few candles under it 🙂
    Now they’re all languishing in some drawer somewhere

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 2:10 am

      How funny, first the green walls now similar art. Yep, separated at birth 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. emmap  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 2:39 am

    i am gonna go out on a limb here and say my reclaimed space ismy pillow, and i need to tame the entire rest of my house! lol!!!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 6:46 am

      Own that pillow! lol!

      Reply
  • 7. cindy  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 7:38 am

    my entire house needs to be purged for sure…lol

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 7:56 am

      Trust me, I’ve been there lol.

      Reply
  • 9. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 8:31 am

    With a house as spectacular as yours, the garage is bound to look like this…. sometimes I wonder if my house ends up looking like your garage though !! lol. Awesome work with the decorating Era 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 9:50 am

      I’ve seen pictures of your place and it seems quite lovely to me. Now I need to make it there in person 🙂

      Reply
      • 11. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 2:29 pm

        That would be wonderful…. when are you coming ? 😉

        Reply
        • 12. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 5:14 pm

          Soon, I hope!

          Reply
  • 13. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 8:32 am

    My need to be tamed project is ‘ My Closet ‘ Its begging to be taken care of and I dont seem to have the time…. its one of those things that I put off for the weekend and the weekend goes by sooner than the weekdays. It has been waiting patiently for me for many weekends now ! lol

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 9:52 am

      Lol! Closets are truly the last great frontier… along with garages. My closet is full and I have nothing to wear so I think I’d better get to that too 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. S. Le  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 9:28 am

    My most organized space is my clothes cupboard. I’ve all my clothing colour organized and by type of clothes. My shoes are either lined up on a rack or in clear plastic stackable boxes on a shelf. All the hangers are either white or silver.

    Worst space? The den, likely. It seems to be a “catch-all” room. I need to get it sorted a bit before next weekend! Having guests.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 9:54 am

      Ah, nothing like guests to inspire the quick tidy as I call it. An organized closet!? That’s awesome. You are now officially my inspiration.

      Reply
  • 17. Gary  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 10:40 am

    About the only neat and tidy area in our house is MY desk. I live with 3 teenage boys and a 5 year old boy and all are S.L.O.B.S.

    My wife and I have plans on reclaiming the entire house! There are a few things we would like to do to our house and reclaim it. We will start doing these really awesome things after the oldest three MOVE OUT! LOL

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 11:39 am

      Sounds like a plan! Lol. You know you’ll miss them, though 🙂

      Reply
      • 19. Gary  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 12:31 pm

        Maybe a little after a few years of them being gone. 🙂

        Reply
        • 20. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 1:31 pm

          🙂

          Reply
  • 21. Just a Mom  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I love how you tamed that spot!
    We have a bar ledge between the kitchen and the living room that used to be the catch all place for us. I put a few wineglasses in a basket and a picture there and that seems to have fixed the problem.
    My area to tackle next is our formal living room which has somehow turned into the messy art room.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 1:33 pm

      I haven’t set up my art corner yet. But there’s another area that’s gonna need taming.

      Reply
  • 23. Veda  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    We moved just last March. My husband ended up working half the week. So at the end everything just got shoved into the garage. Now that he’s laid off, he’s keeping his sanity by slowly reclaiming that space.

    For me, the fireplace mantle. So easy to set wallet, keys, mail, or phone on. (Out of reach of little hands!) But I keep a vigil on that space. The other space is the top of my upright piano. Same deal-out of reach of little hands. But so discouraging when filled with clutter.

    Keep up the fight!

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 5:35 pm

      Hi Veda, thanks for visiting. Sorry to hear about the lay off, I hope some opportunities open up soon. The top of my piano is also a reclaimed space. In fact that’s tomorrow’s topic. Yes, I will keep up the fight. Hope to hear from you again.

      Reply
  • 25. Tony  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Purging junk is always good. Nice little spot. The garage is really nice & big. I would love a proper garage, where we live now only has a carport & a small shed which is always 3/4 full of firewood at this time of year

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      I’m told we get hail storms that damage cars here in Austin. My goal is to clear the garage so we can get the cars in. After nearly 10 years we finally tamed the clutter in our old garage. Now we’ve moved and it’s back to square one.

      Reply
  • 27. Doraz  |  Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Well, we are not going to talk about that right now. Sensitive subjest! Your home is great! You are doing a fabulous job! Keep it going! 🙂

    Reply
    • 28. Era  |  Friday, September 18, 2009 at 6:15 am

      Thanks 🙂

      Reply
  • 29. dipali  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 2:07 am

    This is lovely! My household is more than three decades old and we are fighting a losing battle against paper in particular:(

    Reply
    • 30. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 6:48 am

      Paper is one of the hardest things to tame. Bills to be paid, bills that need clarification, junk mail, papers from school, etc. It’s endless. I still struggle with paper. I put many papers in files but if I can’t see certain ones then I forget that I need to refer to them so there is an ever present pile on my desk.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

