The Green Room

Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 12:00 am 26 comments

When we saw our new house for the first time, one of my immediate reactions was “We’ve got to get rid of that green paint!”  But as the rigors of moving began to wear me down and fatigue set in, I started liking the green wall color more and more.  I never would have chosen the color myself, but now I think it’s great!

Across from the entry way featured in yesterday’s post is the green room.  This room would typically be used as a formal dining room but we’re not very formal people.  We eat in the breakfast area just off the kitchen.  Thus goes the story of why there is no dining table in the formal dining room.  Some might say we converted it to a formal living room, but it’s not as formal as it may look.  We lie down on the sofa and put our feet up all the time.  As you may be able to tell from the following pictures, I like pottery –  a LOT.  I used to hang out in stores like Old Tyme Pottery and Garden Ridge but I’ve kicked that addiction now – for the most part.

Green Room

The armoire is where I keep our sweaters and jackets for the cooler months.  Pick them up on your way out and hang them back up on your way in.  In as much as it’s there, I thought I might as well decorate the top of it and brighten the place up a bit.

armoire top 2

It’s funny how the same furniture looks so different in a new house.  These pieces were all in separate rooms in the old house and gave off a completely different vibe.   (here’s the same room from a different angle) 

Green Room Other View

I’m a big fan of batik prints.  This one, as well as the one above the sofa are two pieces of batik fabric purchased over 8 years ago at a craft shop in Madras, India for about $8 dollars each.  (Urmila, if you’re reading this, do you remember that shopping trip? *my sister -in -law took me to a lot of nice places for shopping*)  Over the years we placed them in various do it yourself frames purchased at Michaels (a craft store).  However, a couple of years ago Hubby and I decided to invest in “proper” frames and it has made all the difference.  

dancing lady 3

 Here’s a close up of it.

dancing lady 2

 What items have you purchased or received that have remained favorite treasures over the years?  Do you have certain things that you collect and buy a new one every time you see one in the store?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

Enter the Dragon… the Series Continues Elaborate is Wholly Unnecessary

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emmap  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 1:37 am

    again… GORGEOUS! i wish i had money to collect something… never had any, so dont know what i’d collect… hmmm…

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 6:21 am

      I know for a fact that you have an awesome collection of blog posts that I enjoy reading!

      Reply
  • 3. richajn  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 1:39 am

    WOW.
    I LOVE the green room!
    It’s the EXACT shade of green I chose – after much haggling with HD 😀
    And the similarity doesnt end there. I’m a scuker for pottery and terracotta – and batik!! If only my house had more space – and no 10 month old crwaling arnd – I would have bought tons of the stuff. Instead, over the last year or so, I’ve given it off, or packed it up. BUt my eyes still glaze over each time we pass a road side stall with terracotta and pottery!!

    are you my long lost sis by any chance? 😉

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 6:33 am

      Hey Sis! It is the same color! I was wowed when I saw your Oasis at Home post. Trust me, I Know what it’s like to have little ones running around. For years we had no proper furniture, just a bunch of baby paraphernalia. After about six years I couldn’t take it anymore and purchased a nice sofa which sort of met with disaster which I wrote about in More Paper Please!. It may not look like it, but I’ve also been downsizing my stuff. Eventually I hope to get to the minimal zen style – obviously that will take a while.

      Reply
  • 5. Tony  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Wow, what a stunning room, it’s absolutely beautiful

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 6:34 am

      Thanks, it was the first room we set up when we moved here. It was truly an oasis because the rest of the place was full of half unpacked boxes and packing material.

      Reply
  • 7. cindy  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 7:42 am

    i LOVE the green! so cheerful! 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 10:16 am

      Thanks. I have to credit this one to the previous home owner 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. S. Le  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 9:21 am

    I love that shade of green. It is the exact colour of our Den. Your furnishings are lovely and well placed. You could be an Interior Decorator. Excellent!

    I have many items I’d hate to part with. Some of my favourites are vintage library furniture we have in our den. I’ll post it sometime.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 10:19 am

      Thanks, I almost went to design school but it was way too expensive and I’ve already spent too much of my life in school 🙂 . So I practice on my friends houses. Yes, they are very gracious and trusting people!

      Library furniture is cool. I once saw someone with an old card catalogue in their house. It was awesome.

      Reply
  • 11. Doraz  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Just beautiful and inviting. I will be over soon! LOL 🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 10:20 am

      I’d love to have you over 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. Gary  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Era, you have AWESOME taste! Your home is BEAUTIFUL. Well decorated, furnished, the works! I will now NEVER post a photo of my house. LOL

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 11:07 am

      1. Thanks!

      2. Oh no, don’t say that! Post, post, post!

      Reply
  • 15. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I like the green room, and it’s very well decorated! Sorry I haven’t commented lately, I just realized that somehow your RSS feed got lost from my reader — the movers must have broken it!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 11:19 am

      Hey Dennis, good to hear from you again. It’s definitely the movers! 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Just a Mom  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

    I like the Green room. I am not brave enough for color in my house so my walls stay white!
    I used to collect dolls from other countries when I was a kid. Now it seems I collect scented candles. My youngest daughter makes fun of me because I never burn them but they are all around my house!

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 12:17 pm

      I know what you mean, color can be intimidating. As for candles, I was such a candle fanatic! I had all kinds of candle holders, candle gardens, and candle wall sconces… I’ve downsized a bit on the candle collection but I still have my favorites. I think I’m more attracted to the different types of candle holders than the actual candles. I never used to light mine either, until I saw an interior decorator on TV who said light them at least once when you first get them. So that’s what I do now. Who has time to sit and watch candles burn? The glow is beautiful, but the time – where is the time? I just had an aha moment. I need to take some time and enjoy my lighted candles. Thanks for the nudge 🙂

      Reply
  • 19. Raji  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    The green room is my favest in your house, I can’t believe you did not like it at first!!

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 11:49 pm

      As the realtor would remind me, I didn’t even like the house at first, lol.

      Reply
  • 21. Hannah  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    You know, I’m with you. My first thought would be, EGADS! That GREEN! But I have a feeling it wouldn’t take long before it grew on me and became a statement of personality. It just takes confidence, you know? A completely unapologetic attitude about your green room. Your guests will take their cues from you. And with that blue and white pottery, I definitely think you’re making it work!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 11:57 pm

      “Unapolagetic attitude” – I like that. One thing I’ve realized is that the green background really makes the pictures stand out. However, I wasn’t able to muster the unapolagetic attitude with the yellow and orange faux finish that was in the office. I had to paint that room real quick. I’m not sure if my do over was successful. The color is golden in the day but some kind of weird green at night. I think I’d better address the lighting in that room.

      Reply
  • 23. dipali  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 2:12 am

    The green is looking so good! Unexpectedly so, may I add. I love whatever I’ve seen of your house:)

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 6:50 am

      Thank you 🙂

      Reply
  • 25. Trish  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    wowww its soo beautiful!!
    Now i am off to read your other posts.

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Monday, September 21, 2009 at 11:50 pm

      Hey Trish, thanks for stopping by my blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

