Enter the Dragon… the Series Continues

Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 12:00 am 16 comments

I’m sorry, I couldn’t resist.  I chose a title that evokes images of mystery, intrigue, and Bruce Lee… only to write about the area next to my front door.   Anyway, Welcome !!!  And come on in!

As part of the Oasis at Home Series, I figured we might as well start at the beginning.  This is our front entry way (the front door is towards the left and the entrance to my office is on the right).  This is  one little corner that I try to keep neat no matter what the rest of the place looks like.

 

Entryway

The  Asian inspired trunk  was originally purchased to contain the mess that is the children’s school bags after a long day at school.  Now it provides a convenient place to sit and put on shoes before going out, or it’s a great place to take shoes off when coming in.  I know that silk plants are a big NO NO in many circles, but I haven’t been able to bring myself to let this one go yet.  (Don”t worry.  After we’ve been here for a while, I’ll get some real house plants again).  

What are some of the household items that you will not part with?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Oh No They Didn’t! The Green Room

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tony  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 5:19 am

    I actually did think I was in for a Bruce Lee video clip. A very nice entrance area. Your new home in Texas sure is lovely

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 7:13 am

      Thanks, Tony.

      Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 7:53 am

    that trunk is beautiful! 😀

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 8:17 am

      Thanks, I walked out of Marchalls pretty happy the day we found it!

      Reply
  • 5. Gary  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Awesome entry way Era. The trunk is very nice as is the art and tile!

    Household items I will not part with. (thinking….thinking) Ah, I know! My big screen TV and remote. No way I will part with those!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 11:13 am

      No way I’d part with those either! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. S. Le  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Gorgeous! I love your entry! Mine has an antique church pew.

    Household items I cannot part with: Coffee maker, cutting board, funky bits of furniture, an antique telephone desk. Now I suppose I’ll have to show you some of this stuff. Thanks for the blogging ideas!

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 11:14 am

      Ooooh, the church pew sounds cool! I’m waiting for pictures 🙂 .

      Reply
  • 9. Just a Mom  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Nice entry way!
    I don’t have much that I wouldn’t part with anymore. We got flooded back in 2001 with Tropical Storm Allison and I lost most of the stuff I thought I could never part with. I guess I would have to say all the family pictures that decorate my house.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 11:44 am

      Oh no! Sorry to hear about that. Family pictures really are treasure.

      Reply
  • 11. Doraz  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    You do have style and flair for the beauty of objects in this world! Nice!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 10:12 pm

      Thank you.

      Reply
  • 13. dipali  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Very nice, Era!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 6:09 am

      Thanks Dipali!

      Reply
  • 15. emmap  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 1:34 am

    i love your entry way! and i dont do real plants because i KILL them! lol!!!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 6:20 am

      I also was a great plant killer. I learned a few tips about what kind of plants survive any conditions – including- me, and I’ve been able to keep them alive for a while. I was so lazy, next to my kitchen sink would go dry! Eventually I gave myself a stern talking to. I have also learned that house plants need to be switched out every now and then. When they look like they’re starting to be unhappy I plant them outside and they usually recover. Of course, then I need a new house plant!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

