Oh No They Didn’t!

Monday, September 14, 2009 at 3:19 am 14 comments

Shame on YouWe interrupt this broadcast of the Oasis at Home Series to bring you the following rant.  The series will resume tomorrow, but right now I need to get a few things off my mind.

#1.  Kanye, didn’t your mama teach you better than that? 

#2.  Serena, what were you thinking? 

and last but not least

#3.  Congressman Wilson, a little decorum please!?

As the late Rodney Dangerfield would say “… no respect, no respect”!  I was watching the Video Music Awards on MTV.  Yes, even I like to know what the young-uns are up to these days.  The evening was off to a great start.  The much anticipated Michael Jackson tributes opened the proceedings in grand fashion, the host made his grand entrance,  and  the first award of the evening was being presented. Taylor Swift won Best Female Video for the song “You Belong With Me”.

However, her special moment was rudely cut short.  Kanye West sneaks up on stage, takes the microphone from Taylor, and spouts how Beyonce Knowles (also nominated in this category) produced one of the finest videos of all time.  What?!  Who made Kanye judge, jury, and executioner?

http://www.mtv.com/videos/misc/435995/taylor-swift-wins-best-female-video.jhtml#id=1620605

After Kanye hands the microphone back to Taylor, she hesitates for a moment (I’m guessing in disbelief and shock).  She is then played off the stage to keep the show on schedule.  She leaves the stage without finishing her acceptance speech.  What a shame!

Personally, I was ecstatic when Taylor won.  First of all,  it’s a great song!  And secondly, it’s a CLEAN song!  There’s no peddling of gratuitous sex, scandalous behaviour, our foul language that needs to be bleeped.  How many songs fit that bill now-a-days?  There were no suggestive moments or hoochie clothes that I have to emphasise as inappropriate to my daughters.  That’s right, a winning song and video that doesn’t involve a stripper pole or the like – go figure.  Then comes along Kanye who demolishes her moment.  What was he  thinking?  What is he ever thinking?  However, redemption occurs when Beyonce wins for Video of the Year (happy now Kanye?) and calls Taylor up to the stage to have her moment and finish her speech. 

“This is amazing,” Knowles said. “I remember being 17-years-old, up for my first MTV award with Destiny’s Child and it was one of the most exciting moments of my life, so I would like for Taylor to come out and have her moment.”

Beyonce and Taylor 

Beyonce, that’s being a real winner in my book.  This makes up for that too low cut dress and all the hoochie gyrating in some of your most recent videos (sorry, I’m old fashioned, that way).  I applaud you for your graciousness.  It set the evening right.  Congratulations Beyonce and Taylor.  

Kanye, apologies are nice, but when you have to keep apologizing for the same behavior over and over again, your sincerity and intelligence come into question.

*  *  *

The music world had its drama but not to be outdone, the world of sports contributed to the “when celebrities attack theme”.  Serena, what happened, dear?  Threatening a line judge with bodily harm?  No she didn’t threaten to kill her, but it still wasn’t pleasant.  Williams used profanity and offered to place the ball “somewhere” on the line judges person.  Not Cool.

Now to be fair, I must admit that in the past I relished John McEnroe’s childish outbursts of racket throwing and line judge berating.  I think that’s what got me interested in tennis in the first place.  But I’ve grown up since then.  I expect more from professionals.  I haven’t heard of this behaviour from Serena before and I hope it never happens again.  Her opponent Kim Clijsters was in the midst of a great comeback.  She was excelling and Serena … well, we all have one of those days.  When the seemingly well-behaved have an outburst, it always feels more outrageous and scandalous than when someone known for such behavior “has at it”.  For example, if I were to start using four letter words in my posts (I’m not talking about “that” and “also”) people would be shocked – I think.

*  *  *

Well, it’s been discussed enough, but I can’t conclude this post without mentioning Congressman Joe Wilson.  You know, the Republican Congressman who yelled out “you lie!” during Barak Obama’s speech on healthcare to the joint session of Congress on September 9, 2009.  I know what it’s like to be passionate about a subject, but an outburst during the President’s speech?  Come on.  Now once again I have a confession to make.  I enjoy the footage of the British Parliamentary hearings when they get loud and confrontational.  I’ve seen Tony Blair handle incoming missiles from Members of Parliament and I’ve always admired the way he kept his cool.  Margret Thatcher was also a cool cookie.  In the same vein, I believe President Obama can handle it, but that’s not our system.

I also feel the issue is done.  The congressman apologized.  I say leave well enough alone.  Move on people.  Censuring him beyond what’s already occurred, is only glorifying the incident.  I’ve seen enough of this guy on TV.  The President accepted his apology, and that’s that.  And as for the people who booed President George W. Bush when he was introduced at President Obama’s inauguration, TSK TSK TSK!  Shame on you!  There’s no need to be snide.  Whatever one’s stand on any given issue, can’t we be civil to each other? 

Now I’m all riled up.  I’ve got to go find and Oasis at Home and chill out there.

Have any current events annoyed you lately? 

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

Back to the Oasis at Home Series Enter the Dragon… the Series Continues

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. S. Le  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 10:19 am

    The ones you mentioned are good examples of celebrities behaving badly. I totally agree with you. There are others but I don’t like to stir the soup. People yell at me when I do.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 10:49 am

      Stir away, it makes for good times 😉

      Reply
  • 3. Tony  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    That was so rude of the Kayne bloke who ever he is. I’ve never hearsd of the arrogant little upstart before but I already don’t like him. I like Beyonce’s songs & it was really nice of her to do that for Taylor.
    I saw Serena do the threatening thing on the news. Shame, Shame, Shame on her. Should have been disqualified. I can’t stand how some people are so full of their own self importance that they think it acceptable for them to act like that. Shame, Shame, Shame…
    I’ve never heard of Congressman Joe Wilson either but he gets a trile shame from me too. Shame, Shame, Shame on you Joe, didn’t your Mama teach you manners…

    Reply
  • 4. Tony  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Ummm Typo, Joe gets a tRiple shame

    Reply
  • 5. Tony  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Doh!!! I got it wrong again it should be triPle. It was the P I originally missed not the R that I erroneously overemphasised

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 6:39 pm

      Kanye is a very talented rapper, but I’ve never seen an ego like his- ever. He’s had a couple few of these self important outbursts but I suppose as long as he cranks out the hits, he’ll be hard to subdue.

      Reply
  • 7. Gary  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    I couldn’t belive it when I saw that! What a JERK! Makes me glad we don’t have any of his music in our house…..seems like he’s making enough already anyway.

    There was NO reason for him to do that and take away the spotlight from Taylor.

    I did think it was VERY cool of Beyonce to give the spotlight back to Taylor as she deserved. You gotta respect that!

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 6:42 pm

      I was so angered and disgusted by the whole situation.

      Reply
  • 9. sraikh  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    I thought it was acrazy weekend, starting with Serena and then Kanye. I didnt watch either because I dont watch TV but read them online.

    And that dress, I always think, when someone wears that lowcut, dont they feel the need to hitch it up every few mins. I know some of my outifts show too much cleavage and I always trying to hitch them up

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 6:50 pm

      Crazy indeed! I also didn’t see the Serena incident until I saw something about her disqualification on the web and of course, I had to investigate. But I did see Kanye in all of his glory. I like Beyonce’s music but her dancing and costumes on “All the Single Ladies” and similar songs are just too much for me.

      Reply
  • 11. Hannah  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    I find your views on music videos and stars very refreshing, possibly because they’re so much like mine! 🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 3:06 am

      🙂

      Reply
  • 13. emmap  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 1:32 am

    wow~! so much drama at the awards! see what I have been missing out on since I have gotten rid of the Dish??? oh, and I agree with the shout-out during the speech. it doesn’t matter what side you’re on… grow up! sheesh!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 6:14 am

      We had gotten rid of our dish for a couple of years also. You’re really not missing much. There’s just more channels with nothing good to watch.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

