Back to the Oasis at Home Series

Friday, September 11, 2009 at 12:00 am 23 comments

While this is part of the Oasis at Home Series, these pictures are not of the inside of my house.  I thought I’d share a little bit of our larger environment. 

While weeding our somewhat barren and sparse flower bed, I saw some single tiny shoots that looked like blades of grass… but slightly different.  They almost looked like young green onions.  I didn’t know whether to pluck them or ignore them.  I tried to pluck them, but they were tenacious.  So I decided to ignore them.  Maybe next time I’d get them.  Well, four days have gone by and look what they did.  Little white flowers!  Small, simple, and stunning.

Three flowers 2

The sago palm on the left side of the picture below is lovely, but what I like most is that humming birds drink nectar from the red flowers of the plant next to it on the right.  Too bad, I wasn’t able to capture one of the little birds in action.

Sago Palm

Although the area is experiencing record drought and portions of my lawn look like they can spontaneously combust, the arrow-grass in the common areas of our neighborhood is in glorious bloom.  I really love ornamental grasses.  In fact some grasses are simply delicious.  Corn and sugar cane are two of my favorites.

Arrow Grass

One of my favorite types of tree is the Crepe Myrtle.  There are plenty of them around, but this one seems to be having a hard time with the drought.

Crepe Myrtle Tree

See how crispy it’s leaves are?  I hope I can water it back to health.

Crepe Myrtle Leaves

The following picture is of a rosemary plant.  I don’t know if this is the edible kind or just an ornamental, but it is all over Texas and all over my yard.  And boy does it smell good.

Rosemary

 

Below is a picture of society garlic.  When we moved in I gave it a good trimming.  As you can see it has forgiven me because it has put out these lovely light purple blossoms.  When you cut this plant is smells just like garlic.  When I finished trimming the rosemary and garlic plants, all I could think about was rosemary garlic mashed potatoes.  It really does smell that strong and that good!  I also hear it keeps biting insects away.

Society Garlic 2

And finally, one of the things I love most about living in Austin is the beautiful hillside views that remind me of St. Thomas.

Hill View 

Share your oasis, won’t you?

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

If I Didn’t Know Any Better… Oh No They Didn’t!

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. S. Le  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 9:58 am

    What a lovely area! I love the plants. Do you know what the “onion bulb” flowers are? Is that your home and balcony in the photo of the tree? Very nice.

    Thanks for the suggestion for a blog topic! I was struggling today thinking of something to post. I’ll do it! Check in.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 11:24 am

      I know it’s some kind of wildflower. possibly a rain lily but I’m not positive. That is actually my neighbor’s balcony – we don’t have a balcony. Can’t wait to check out your post!

      Reply
  • 3. Oasis at Home « I feel unusual…  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 10:09 am

    […] at Home Era at Today’s Thought challenged us to post our Oasis at Home.  Thanks for the post idea Era!  Here’s mine […]

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 11:25 am

      You’re welcome! I’ll be right over!

      Reply
  • 5. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Wow Era, you sure know your plants 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 11:26 am

      Thanks. We finally got some rain last night so hopefully my tree won’t be crispy any more 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Gary  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Does my camper at the resort count as my home oasis?

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 1:40 pm

      Absolutely!!! It’s all about the individual. An oasis can be a book on a shelf, a candle on a cake, or a favorite pair of shoes.

      Reply
  • 9. Tony  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    You have a beautiful garden. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 8:42 pm

      Thank you. Now that we’re finally getting some rain, maybe I can plant a few flowers of my own.

      Reply
  • 11. Hannah  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Hooray for rain! You should have blooms bursting all over the place in a day or two.

    We have rosemary and I use it for cooking plenty of times. Enjoy!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 8:35 am

      Goody! Rosemary potatoes it is! Good to hear from you. How’s the modem situation?

      Reply
  • 13. cindy  |  Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 10:54 am

    very pretty indeed! love those white flowers! 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:53 am

      Thanks. With all the rain they’ve been springing up in the grass too. They don’t last too long though.

      Reply
  • 15. Doraz  |  Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Just beautiful! 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:54 am

      Thanks. Interesting how such tiny little unplanned things can be so day brightening.

      Reply
  • 17. Camille  |  Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Those little white flowers are what we always called rain lilies. They spring up hours after even a light rain. And yes, the rosemary is edible. I frequently steal stalks from my neighbor’s plant. (Don’t tell!)

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 8:45 pm

      Lol, your secret’s safe with me.

      Reply
  • 19. Oasis At Home « Old Fart  |  Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    […] @ Today’s Thought did a  post called Oasis At Home& I thought I would follow suit. Here is the left side of our yard that was once an untidy mess […]

    Reply
  • 20. Tony  |  Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Hi Era, I’ve just posted my Oasis @ Home

    Reply
    • 21. Era  |  Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 8:46 pm

      Great! I’ll be over to check it out.

      Reply
  • 22. Just a Mom  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 10:44 am

    I love the Hill Country! Speaking of Oasis if you haven’t yet checked out the Oasis Restaurant there in Austin you need to add it to your to do list!

    Reply
    • 23. Era  |  Monday, September 14, 2009 at 10:50 am

      Will do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

