I’ve Been Told…

Thursday, September 3, 2009 at 3:00 pm 14 comments

state of TexasThat everything is bigger/better in Texas.

You’ll get no arguments from me.  With the beautiful, winding hill-country roads, miles seem longer, but more scenic.  With the two story brick and stone exteriors, houses seem taller and more formidable.  With temperatures in the 100’s,  the climate seems warmer, though still bright and cheery.  With every store (or seeminglyevery store) being a 24-hour one stop megaplex, shopping is serious big business.  But what I want to know is – why do MY days seem shorter?

Is it just me?  Or are there just not enough hours in the day?  I wake up, make/pack lunch, and then shephard the flock off to school.  I unload the dishwasher and do a little housework (emphasis on little).  I pay bills (there seem to be a lot more of those lately) and organize home maintenance appointments/projects.  Noon rolls around before I know it. 

There are school meetings that must be attended, kiddies in need of after school pickup, and somewhere in between all that, I make dinner.  I do a light kitchen clean up (emphasis on light) and before I turn around it’s 8:00 pm.  I don’t even have time to watch Whoppie Goldberg and the other ladies on The View!  I brought Gone with the Wind home from the library (yes, I’ve seen the movie but I thought it would be fun to read the actual book).  I’m on my first renewal, but I haven’t even started reading yet!

One thing that’s NOT bigger in Texas, is my kitchen.  Yet, it seems like I spend a larger portion of my time cleaning it.  Could it be that *gasp* I’m cooking more?  Is it because I have less dishes and have to wash the ones I still own more often?  Or have I suddenly developed and intolerance for messy kitchens?  Beats me. *throws hands up in the air in bewilderment*

All I know is that something has gotta give.  How am I supposed to keep up with my blog reading?  How am I supposed to come up with decent posts?  How will I sit on the sofa eating bon bons a la Peggy Bundy?  Hopefully I’ll have my act together soon.  How I miss Peggy.

Peggy Bundy

PS: I finally found my camera upload cord!!!  (actually Hubby found it) Now I can start posting pictures again.  Yay!

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous Stuff.

Game Day – It’s What We Train For Blessings

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. richajn  |  Friday, September 4, 2009 at 2:42 am

    era,
    can i tell you how familiar all that sounds! esp on weekends, when I’m at home. and I have just 1 kid – not even school going at that!! hahaha.

    “All I know is that something has gotta give. ” My thoughs exactly. But what? Do we leave the clothes unwashed, or the counter dirty? Sigh. Tough choice na ? 😉

    hugs for you girl.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, September 4, 2009 at 3:49 am

      Ah, finally someone understands. *hugs back*

      Reply
  • 3. maidinmalaysia  |  Friday, September 4, 2009 at 3:28 am

    yay! for finding the camera upload cord! was sulking — from not seeing any pix

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, September 4, 2009 at 3:52 am

      I just need to find some time to get organized…

      Reply
  • 5. cindy  |  Friday, September 4, 2009 at 7:52 am

    glad to see you found your camera! 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, September 4, 2009 at 8:33 am

      Now I just gotta find some time to use it 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Gary  |  Friday, September 4, 2009 at 10:39 am

    I know EXACTLY what you mean Era! I have about the same schedule here at my house! LOL

    Looking forward to seeing some photos!!

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, September 4, 2009 at 11:01 am

      Seriously Gary, where does the time go? Nick must have seemed to grow up in a flash. I can’t believe I’ve got one going to highschool next year!

      Reply
  • 9. sraikh  |  Sunday, September 6, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    We need moe hours in the day.
    Or sleep less?

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Sunday, September 6, 2009 at 2:00 pm

      Nice to see you here, Sraikh. Less than 5 hours a night? I can’t manage. Isn’t there some scientific breakthrough for adding hours to the day? Can’t we squeeze anything extra out of Einstein’s theory of relativity.

      Reply
  • 11. Camille  |  Sunday, September 6, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Yeah, that whole kitchen cleaning thing stinks. A while back I instituted the “if you cook, you don’t clean” rule. It’s been working great! Even if I cook something really simple, I can claim to have cooked. Works like a charm. I figure I win either way … either I don’t have to cook (and instead clean with four other helpful bodies) or I don’t have to clean.

    Lately the kids who don’t want to clean pay the kid who wants to earn money to do their cleaning for them. That works great too.

    And as to other cleaning, let’s just say my clutter tolerance has gone way up. 🙂 Mess? What mess? That a project in progress. (That’s my little homeschooling secret … everything’s a project in progress.)

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Sunday, September 6, 2009 at 8:52 pm

      I think you’re onto something. I tried to teach clean up as you go, but it didn’t take. I’m at the point where I don’t even want them to look at the kitchen because that simple act seems to generate crumbs and sticky smears on the counters and floors. I’m considering stretching police tape across the door and denying entrance, lol.

      Reply
  • 13. Tony  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    You have reminded me of a Bigger & Better in Texas joke. I will post it soon.

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Friday, September 11, 2009 at 8:38 pm

      Cool, I love a good joke.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

