The Little Dryer That Could, But Then Didn’t

Monday, August 24, 2009 at 2:00 am 16 comments

clothes dryerLast week Camille and Raji dealt with rebellious and ailing appliances.  This brought to mind my one time dryer which has since gone to the great appliance warehouse in the sky.

It all started with a simple load of laundry…

I put the clothes in the dryer and pushed the start button…

Nothing. 

So I pushed the button again...

Still nothing. 

This can’t be happening.  I’ve got a mountain of wet clothes and no clothesline to dry them on.   I didn’t even know where the nearest laundromat was! *panic*

Details fade with time.  I don’t remember exactly how each and every event unfolded.   I do remember going to my friend Meena’s house where she graciously let me use her dryer.  And there are some additional details *pregnant pause* that are etched into my brain.

I remember searching the Yellow Pages of the phone book and calling  repairmen.  AAA Repair, AAAA Repair, Almost New Appliance Repair… you get the idea.  Skip forward a few letters in the alphabet and no one would give a free estimate.  I was assured, however, that the $20 estimate fee would go towards the cost of the actual repair.  So I waited anxiously.  When the repairman arrived, the dryer was empty and waiting for him.  He put down his tool box and stared the errant appliance in it’s giant eye.  Then he did the unthinkable…

He pushed the start button…

It started.

It started?!  Why that conniving little…! 

He opened  the door and it stopped. 

He closed the door. 

He pressed start again…

The dryer started  rotating and making that familiar dryer in operation sound.  You know, that lulling hum (minus the clicks of a metal zipper or button hitting the sides as it tumbles and rolls). 

Of course I was feeling pretty silly.  He looked at me and said “I’m still gonna have to charge you for the service call”. 

I hand over the 20 bucks and roll my eyes as he leaves.  Well, at least the dryer is working again.

I walk over to the laundry area and transfer some wet clothes from the washing machine into the dryer (with the repairman coming I had started a load).  

I push the start button…

Nothing.

So I push the button again… 

 Still nothing. 

That was the last day that dryer spent in my house.  May it rest in peace … or tumble on extra dry into eternity. 

Check out Camile’s Machine Uprising.  It’s entertaining and I think most of us can relate.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Are We There Yet? Passing It On

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 7:48 am

    LOL! this is horrible!

    sometimes i’m really glad that i don’t have to deal with my laundry at all…i drop it off, someone else washes, dries, irons, and folds it for me. still, having appliances on site would be really nice…

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 9:08 am

      That sounds great – I don’t much care for doing the laundry… and there are five of us so it can really pile up.

      Reply
  • 3. Camille  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Well, at least he only charged you twenty bucks. These days, it’s more like sixty.

    Your story reminds me of the time some years ago that I found DH grumbling and sighing because we were going to have to get a new dryer, because he couldn’t get it to work. We couldn’t afford it (not that we could last month, haha), and he wasn’t happy. I walked into the laundry room, looked at the dryer, closed the door (which wasn’t completely closed), and pushed the button. Voila. Really, that man needs to do more laundry. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 9:09 am

      Lol! That’s a great story.

      Reply
  • 5. Jax  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Hi. The good news is that the children are now old enough to help you with the laundry. Have a great week.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 10:18 am

      And they do. You have a great week too.

      Reply
  • 7. S. Le  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 11:37 am

    It’s the same with cars at repair shop.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 3:03 pm

      That is true, I’ve had cars pull a very similar stunt.

      Reply
  • 9. Hannah  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Oh, now that is truly evil. Weren’t you tempted to chase the repairman down the street? 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 4:41 pm

      I was tempted to give him a piece of my mind, but then again, I’ve been told I need to hang on to all I’ve got 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Tony  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Why that rotten little mongrel appliance…
    $20 for him to do nothing, unbelievable, are you sure he wasn’t a politician, I am in the wrong job…

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 5:49 pm

      I think he was more of a snake oil salesman.

      Reply
  • 13. emmap  |  Tuesday, August 25, 2009 at 1:33 am

    are you kidding me??? for real! as good as flushing it down the toilet!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Tuesday, August 25, 2009 at 4:08 am

      No kidding.

      Reply
  • 15. dipali  |  Tuesday, September 1, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    These things will conk off when you need them the most:(
    RIP, dryer.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, September 2, 2009 at 9:35 am

      Now that the microwave door has started sticking shut, I am resigned to that fact.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

