Movers and Shakers

Thursday, August 13, 2009 at 12:00 am 22 comments

Moving VanWhenever something heavy in our house needs to be moved, Hubby and I go through the same ‘song and dance’.

He insists we can move it ourselves.  I explain that I have the upper body strenght of an earthworm despite the immense improvements I’ve made through pilates.  He says just hold it it “like this and I’ll do most of the lifting”.  You know where this is going don’t you?

We make an attempt.  His side goes up, mine barely budges.  My back starts to hurt and I yell “put it down quick, I can’t hold it” or “I just can’t get a good grip on it”.  He scowls at me in utter disgust and disappointment.  It’s a true fact that my 81 year old mother is stronger than I am.  I never claimed any reasonable amount of strength and have accepted this shortcoming from an early age.  Yet time after time, Hubby is miffed by my inability to reposition large, heavy objects around the house.

Having this bit of background information, I’m sure you can imagine the awe with which I witnessed a single mover pick up a chest of drawers and carry it upstairs all by himself.  Moving our entertainment center to another room (last year) was almost the death of me (the heavy piece of…).  Yet, these guys just grabbed these large pieces of furniture and carried them up the stairs.  Yes, they have hand carts and dollys and rolling bases in their arsenals that make moving things easier, but a serious amount of strength and effort is still needed.  I move one box of books and I need a 20 minute break!  These guys work nonstop!

To all the movers out there, keep up the good work.  You are much appreciated.

PS: although my stuff came in two shipments about a week apart, the movers did a really good job.  Nothing broke.  When we moved from Miami to Fort Lauderdale, the movers broke a bed and other miscellaneous items.  This time was much better!

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff.

Lime Green Lamborghini! Symbiosis

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. wordjunkie  |  Thursday, August 13, 2009 at 3:06 am

    Wait, I think earthworms may have tremendous upper body strength, since they move without any legs and such. And ants carry many times their own body weight, rather like your movers.
    Yet who ever claims to be as strong as an ant…

    Waiting for lots of pix of the new house and garden. You left that cute toad behind, didnt you…

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, August 13, 2009 at 8:19 am

      Well, I’m not sure earthworms are considered as having upper bodies. They do use core strength and their jaws to creep/chew their way through the earth. I’ll rephrase to say that if we are moving the same piece of furniture, the earthworm has the advantage!

      Gotta find that camera upload cable! My electronics and filing system are still in a shambles ( is that how you spell that word? I don’t think I’ve ever seen it in print before.)

      As for the toad, we bid each other adieu.

      Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  Thursday, August 13, 2009 at 7:38 am

    next time we move, i am definitely hiring movers…for the big stuff anyway! it takes us waaayyyy too long if we have to carry it since i have the strength of a five year old and my husband has a shoulder injury….

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, August 13, 2009 at 8:39 am

      Hiring movers is definitely worth it for the big stuff. We were able to save money by packing most things ourselves. We left the breakables and the big stuff to them.

      Reply
  • 5. Jax  |  Thursday, August 13, 2009 at 9:03 am

    We usually hear complaints about movers and other hired workers. Thank you for sharing your very positive experience. I’ll be asking you for the name of the company if we ever have to move.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, August 14, 2009 at 1:07 am

      Fortunately this was a good group.

      Reply
  • 7. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Friday, August 14, 2009 at 1:24 am

    When we moved across country the movers broke a fair amount of our stuff, but most of the important things came through okay (like the grandfather clock, thank goodness). Moving, ugh!

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Saturday, August 15, 2009 at 12:42 am

      Broken stuff is always a downer. We were missing a couple of boxes but they were found in the next truck.

      Reply
  • 9. Tony  |  Friday, August 14, 2009 at 3:42 am

    We moved once & a removal bloke carried our washing machine up stairs to our 2nd storey apartment on his own. I was suitably impressed. I usually lift one side at a time in a half lift half slide combination if I have to move one & grunt lots

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Saturday, August 15, 2009 at 12:46 am

      Washing machines are crazy heavy. I’m impressied too.

      Reply
  • 11. Hannah  |  Friday, August 14, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Hey, you sound like me! You and I should totally work out together.

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Saturday, August 15, 2009 at 12:47 am

      I could really use a workout buddy. I becoming even flabbier than I already was. I just can’t seem to push myself to get exercising!

      Reply
  • 13. emmap  |  Monday, August 17, 2009 at 5:37 am

    i was laughing… actually picturing the above “scene” w/ hubby enfolding. That is great that nothing broke… Yippee! and I wonder hos much those guys can bench press? btw, i have NO upper body strength either. *sigh*

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Monday, August 17, 2009 at 6:32 pm

      Do you think we can achieve Michelle Obama arms? For all the working out I’ve done, I should have better guns.

      Reply
  • 15. S. Le  |  Monday, August 17, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Sounds like my place!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Monday, August 17, 2009 at 6:35 pm

      You mean you guys do the it’s too heavy dance too?

      Reply
  • 17. Gary  |  Tuesday, August 18, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    That cracked me up! You two sound so like my wife and I. I want to get something moved and I get all worked up because my wife can’t move it. LOL

    Thanks for the laugh Era and glad to hear nothing was broke in your move.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Tuesday, August 18, 2009 at 2:32 pm

      Glad it gave you a chuckle 🙂

      Reply
  • 19. dipali  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 12:39 am

    I’ve shoved stuff around myself, mostly, as my spouse tends to be the armchair planning variety. Otherwise I call upon the kids, if they are there.We have stopped shifting stuff now, though:(

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Monday, August 24, 2009 at 3:50 am

      Extra help is always good.

      Reply
  • 21. Deepa  |  Thursday, August 27, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Hi Era!! Are you here now? Welcome, and do email me about which neighborhood you chose, and how you’ve liked our desert-like weather here!!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Friday, August 28, 2009 at 12:40 am

      Hi Deepa, good to hear from you. Talk to you soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

