Lime Green Lamborghini!

Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 1:00 am 9 comments

Lime green lamborghiniFor me a car is transportation.  It represents a means to an end.  RPM and torque are not major concerns of mine.  But even a non car enthusiast like me, can appreciate an exotic jolt.

On our latest road trip to Austin, we decided to point out cars with rare colors to entertain ourselves.  We chose yellow – not realizing how popular yellow cars have become.   Time to pick a new color. 

While wending our way out of Florida on the Ronald Reagan Turnpike, I noticed a distant green spec in the rear view mirror.  I told everyone in the van to look out for something unusual to pass us in a few minutes.  The color was definitely unusual, but there was also something unique about the shape, even as a small blip in the mirror.  Then it came up and overtook us in a stealthlike manner.  As it glided past us, we realized it was a Lamborghini.  Sleek, and racy.

Why didn’t we have our cameras ready?  By the time we thought of it, the sportscar was ahead in the distance (held back by other traffic – otherwise I saw no reason for its tires to even touch the road).  I decided to push our faithful Honda Odyssey to catch up so I could get the winning photo. 

I dug in an pressed the accelerator.  We inched closer.   Somehow, the green prize remained elusive.  I gave the engine more juice.  We pulled ahead of the field (secretly hoping no cops were watching).

Once we hit 80 mph the road noise got a little louder.  At 85 mph the vibration in the cabin began to increase.  At 90 mph I realized that just like the star ship Enterprise, we had pushed the engine to near maximum capacity. Any more would cause the nuclear core to meltdown initiating the self destruct mode.   I could almost hear Scotty the engineer telling captain Kirk that the ship was breaking apart!  We hadn’t even reached warp speed 1. (the speedometer goes up to 140 mph, but I don’t think the van will be going with it).

So I took my foot off the accelerator and let the van coast back down to the legal speed limit.  I re-engaged the cruise control.  My speedy friend got away.  But at least we were entertained for 15 minutes… of our 24 hour drive.  Drive safely All!  Check her out in all her glory!!!

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , .

I’m Tickled Pink Movers and Shakers

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jax  |  Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 9:45 am

    That car is very sleek!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 11:56 am

      Yes it is!

      Reply
  • 3. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 10:30 am

    We have all kinds of crazy cars out here in California. My favorite is an orange Lotus that goes by from time to time!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 11:57 am

      Orange lotus – that sounds wild. That was one of the cool things about living in the Miami area. Always interesting cars to see.

      Reply
  • 5. S. Le  |  Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Husband would love that Lambo!

    Reply
  • 6. Raji  |  Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Beauuutiful! Reminds me of this great picture I have next to a red Lamborghini Countach in Paris. I took the picture since it looked like a cool car, what did I know. My cousin, a car lover, who had just stepped away for a moment, shrieked when he realized he had missed the chance to be photographed next to his dream car! Ever since then Lamborghinis and I have a bond.

    Reply
    • 7. Era  |  Thursday, August 13, 2009 at 1:50 am

      That’s awesome. I only wish I had the presence of mind to have someone take a picture.

      Reply
  • 8. Tony  |  Friday, August 14, 2009 at 3:38 am

    A Honda Odyssey driving at warp speed, I am impressed even if you didn’t catch the Klingons Lamborghini

    Reply
    • 9. Era  |  Saturday, August 15, 2009 at 12:45 am

      LOL! Live long and prosper!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

