It’s Official!

Monday, August 10, 2009 at 7:20 am 26 comments

Texas StarAfter a month of debate, soul searching, general freaking out, and a mad dash across the southern United States … it’s official.  I’m a Texan of the Austinite variety!!!

After lengthy negotiations, a bank induced “Easter Egg hunt for money”, and a ton of paperwork, we finally have the keys to our new home.  Lone Star State – here we are!  I am embracing this change in location whole heartedly, although I must admit I still feel a little timid and apprehensive. 

Can I call myself a Texan yet?  I’m practically just off the boat.  Do I need a 10 gallon hat?  I hate getting in a car and not know where I am going.  I like knowing a place so well, that I go into autopilot mode to get around.  It’s been a couple of weeks and sometimes I still feel like I’m a guest in my own home.  I am getting used to the place though.

Marathon sessions with Ikea assembly projects, painting , and kitchen cupboard organizing have started to make house feel more like home.  I’ve opened most boxes and I do know where 97 percent of my stuff is – not bad eh?  Now we just need to put in the time and memories.  ‘It’s a new dawn, its a new day, it’s a new life… and I’m feeling gooooood!!!’

 

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

Moving!!! I’m Tickled Pink

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 7:42 am

    glad to hear that all is well in your new home! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 7:56 am

      Hi Cindy! It’s good to hear from you. I haven’t had internet for a couple of weeks 😦 . Things are moving right along and I hope to get back into the swing of blogging 🙂 .

      Reply
  • 3. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Thats great progress. Guess you did not leave anything for us to help with !! 😉

    Cant wait to meet you all in a few days !

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 5:33 pm

      We left you the making happy memories part!

      Reply
  • 5. Just a Mom  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Have fun putting in those memories! We will let you slide with honorary Texan but you have to put in your 20 years to become a REAL Texan!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 5:34 pm

      20 years huh? Well, let’s start counting!

      Reply
  • 7. S. Le  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 10:34 am

    You must show us around your home! I demand a tour!! Happy to hear you are doing well. Best wishes to you and your family!

    Do you say “howdy pardner” now?

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 5:36 pm

      I’ve been working on “how ya’ll doin?”

      As soon as I find the upload cable for my camera, I’ll start with some pictures! That’s in the 3% of the things I haven’t located yet.

      Reply
  • 9. Raji  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Austin is so thrilled that you chose it, it is giving you a very WARM welcome. Did you notice? 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      The welcome is much appreciated, but where’s the rain???

      Reply
  • 11. Hannah  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Welcome to town!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      Thank you, Hannah!

      Reply
  • 13. Tony  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Wow you’re there, welcome to Texas, do you have a ranch??? Did Flat Tony enjoy the trip, or did he wander off & get lost along the way. He has a bad habit of doing that, stubborn independant creature that he is…
    Glad you made it & welcome back to the blogosphere….

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 5:39 pm

      Flat Tony actually helped us out during the big move, although he couldn’t resist a little wandering!

      Reply
  • 15. Lakshmi Srinivasan  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    oh wow – sounds like you are feeling right at home already! that is great. will be there soon to start making some memories! keep the breakable away so the memories are happy ones and not otherwise! 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 6:31 pm

      Lol! We’ll have to work on the breakable situation.

      Reply
  • 17. Camille  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Welcome, welcome! Gosh, I’d hoped you bring the rain with you. No dice.

    Just a few things to keep in mind…

    “Y’all” is used only when referring to more than one person (contrary to popular belief).
    “Fixin’ to” means someone is getting ready to or just about to do something (as in “I’m fixin’ to whollup you on the head if you touch my pick-up again.”)
    Every street in Austin has at least two names, so it’ll take you twice as long to find your way around. Some of them have more than two, and some of them don’t exist anymore, since the Big Cheeses frequently rename streets and lakes, and old-timers continue to call them by their previous names.
    Your cowboy boots are appropriate anywhere in town, with any attire. You HAVE bought a pair for every member of your family, haven’t you? 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 12:34 am

      Hi Camille! I really tried to have the rain follow us. Boots for the whole family – I think I might meet with some resistance there 🙂

      Reply
  • 19. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Monday, August 10, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Yay, welcome to Austin! Now you have to start doing your part to “Keep Austin Weird”! 😉

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 12:35 am

      Weird means we’ll probably fit right in 🙂 !

      Reply
  • 21. emmap  |  Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 1:17 am

    oh, i don’t envy you with the marathon projects… i get to that point in which i feel like if i don’t ever do another new project, it will still be too soon! good luck and congrats on the move!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 8:39 am

      Thanks Emma! Things are coming along pretty well though. Soon we’ll get back to normal which means me ignoring regular housework 🙂 .

      Reply
  • 23. dipali  |  Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 9:26 am

    It all sounds good, Era. Beautiful town.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 9:30 am

      It is a beautiful town. I’ve got to get my camera back in operation!

      Reply
  • 25. Jax  |  Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Congratulations on the house keys. Great to have you back at Today’s Thought. Welcome to Austin. Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy! God bless you all.

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 9:31 am

      Thanks Jackie!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

