Now Look What You’ve Done…You’ve Created a Monster!

Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 2:00 am 16 comments

Bride of Frankenstein (2)

I don’t want to talk about myself anymore, but as I stated in yesterday’s post, Mom Gone Mad @ On A Wing and a Prayer tagged me to post about “seven reasons that I am awesome”.  In yesterday’s post I shared Hubby’s List.  Today I am going to share my list, because, after all – that’s what the tag instructed and  I do try to follow instructions 🙂 .  I promise to be brief – or at least I’ll try to be brief.   Lord knows I’ve talked about myself more than enough in this blog.  Anyway, here I go…  talking about myself again.  (for more shameless self promotion see 25 Incredibly Long Winded and Convoluted Facts About Me).

7 Reasons I am Awesome

1.  I’m surrounded by amazing people.  I have a great Hubby and children who make me laugh – when they aren’t making me pull my hair out.  I have wonderful friends who are smart and proactive.  They keep me up to date and challenge me to be better (just so I can keep up with them).  And now, I have amazing blogging friends whose blogs keep me thinking and entertained.

2. I love to laugh.  I can be a somber, stressed out, and high strung sort of girl, so I actively seek out laughter – comedies, friends with great senses of humor, witty blogs etc. 

3.  I thrive on the unusual.  Hubby has a work schedule that has him come home past midnight when projects get to a critical state, and out of town on work related travel – an average of 40 weeks out of the year.  No problem.   If Daddy is late from work too many days in a row, I pack up the kids and take them to the office to have dinner with Daddy.  If he’s on an out of town project during school holidays, we make a road trip out of it instead of having him fly to his destination.  Sometimes he’s all about work ( a lot of the time), but we’re right there with him!

Right now I’m stuck and can’t think of anything else – it took me long enough to come up with the first three…

 * continued a couple of days later*

4. I won’t hold a grudge.  I simply won’t do it. (not always easy, but worth the effort)

5. I try to see something positive in every circumstance.  The last time I took my Dad to his dialysis treatment, he had been having increasing health set backs and we were both in a sober and contemplative mood.  But it was an outrageously beautiful autumn day and healthwise, he was having a decent day.  I remember telling myself to enjoy this time with him – our thrice weekly drive to the dialysis clinic.  It was indeed a beautiful day and I still remember it fondly.

6. I love dance, poetry, music,  art, and architecture.  I love decorating things and making them pretty.  I am motivated by colors.  I love to create using my hands, either with words or paint, or craft techniques.  I love the expression of  ideas and feelings in artistic forums.  These things make me very happy.

7. I love nature.  This is a little bit of a contradiction because I also like to be indoors where I am safe from excessive heat and bugs.  But I do love the beauty of nature.  When we go on trips I enjoy looking at great manmade achievements: bright lights in big cities, palaces, monuments, bridges, and buildings.  But nothing beats natural beauty like looking out at Lake Tahoe in California, seeing hillsides meet the ocean in St. Thomas, the  mountainous tea plantations of Munnar in India , the massive oak trees,  the River of Grass /Everglades, and towering royal palm trees in Florida.   I could really go on and on and on…

In the tradition of tags, I am going to tag a few specific bloggers to post 7 reasons that they are awesome on their blogs and in turn tag some of their friends to do the same.  However, this tag is open to anyone who reads this post and feels inspired to participate.  Have fun with it!  

I also tag Raji, Sudharsana, and Lakshmi (no links because they keep their blogs private unlike my exhibitionist self 🙂

Camille @ The Eclectic Mom

S. Le @ I Feel Unusual

Purple Hatter Man @ Purple Hatter 

Dennis, Tucker, Trixie, and Trouble the Kitty @ Dennis’s Diary of Destruction

Just a Mom @ Purple Colored Glasses

Emma @ Not so Usual/formerly Musings of a Mindless Banterer

Javajunkee @ Just for the _ell of it

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

Hubby’s List Secret Worlds

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 7:49 am

    i definitely love to laugh too! 😀

    nice list!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 9:59 am

      Keep laughing – it makes the world a better place 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Hannah  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 9:16 am

    You do indeed sound awesome, and I am glad you are moving to Austin to spread some of that around!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 12:40 pm

      Thanks Hannah. From all the good things I’ve heard about Austin, I hope I’m nice enough to fit it 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. S. Le  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I will ponder this and try to respond.

    Yours is a brilliant list.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 12:40 pm

      Thank you, I’m blushing now.

      Reply
  • 7. Raji  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Some of your list is just like me! like seeing the positive in everything … does that make me awesome too, I wonder?!!

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 12:55 pm

      Of course you’re awesome! See my entire tag list you’ll see that you’ve been tagged!

      Reply
  • 9. Doraz  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Thanks for sharing …..Hope one day we can meet in person and have some laughs!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 12:44 pm

      I would love to meet in person! Someday we’ll have to make it happen 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Lakshmi Srinivasan  |  Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Awesome list and it is you from what I’ve seen so far! 🙂 hmmm – now the challenge of writing about myself – well I love a challenge – so will definitely do one soon! stay tuned!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Friday, July 24, 2009 at 8:34 am

      I can’t wait to read your awesome list!

      Reply
  • 13. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Friday, July 24, 2009 at 1:11 am

    hello era its dennis the vizsla dog oh way wow finaly a meem wot i can definitly git dun!!! if i git stuck thinking of reezons why i am awsum i am shoor that trouble and tucker wil hav no difficulty finishing the list up for me with reezons why they themselvs ar awsum wether they ar gud reezons or not is another kwestchun of korse!!! ha ha ok bye

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Friday, July 24, 2009 at 8:35 am

      Dennis, I know all the reasons will be awesome! I look forward to reading them.

      Reply
  • 15. Camille  |  Friday, July 24, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Aack! I started reading this post, thinking “Oh man, I’m sure glad I didn’t get tagged. How awful to have to write 7 awesome things about myself. But Era was able to do a brilliant job.” Gee, thanks, Era! Now, I’ll have to actually think nice thoughts. Hmm, it may take me a while. 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 12:34 pm

      I know you’ve got plenty of material 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

