Living in a Fishbowl

Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 2:00 am 23 comments

Cat peering into fishbowl

Packing.  That act of digging out long forgotten relics from drawers and cabinets.  Trying to figure out just why you own certain things.  Better yet, trying to figure out why you still own those things.  Then the ultimate decision – to keep or not to keep?

Doesn’t it seem that you need something only after you’ve given it away?  This phenomenun  is only punctuated by the fact that the articles in question  have been sitting silently, unused for several years.  Now try foraging through vast amouts of nick nacks, unearthing dust bunnies and contributing to the house’s general disarray, only to receive a call from the realtor stating that someone wants to come see your house.  Quick! Shove it all into a closet or under the bed! Get the broom and the dust mop!

This message is brought to you by the masters of the 10 minute tidy.  How do we hide all the boxes though? *shrugs shoulders and tears off piece of packing tape*  Have a great day everyone!

(picture from here)

Entry filed under: Family. Tags: , , .

Hard to Say Goodbye The Ooops Factor

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. richajn  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 2:16 am

    You have an amazing knack for finding just the right pics!

    Thoug I’m not moving, know just what you mean. LIving in a ‘small’ appartment, space is at a premium. Esp now with Kiddo. I’m actually seriously thinking of selling off the sofa and the bed, so that we have more floor space!!!

    And I’m wondering how the h*** I accumulated so much stuff. Or why. And what to do with it now?!?

    Just when you give away stuff, you realise you need it. And the stuff that you keep – well, keeps lying there for another 10 yrs!

    that’s life.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 5:19 am

      sign…yep that’s life.

      Reply
  • 3. emmap  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 2:32 am

    this is the first house i’ve lived in for more than a few years. honestly, one thing i like about moving is that it forces me to get rid of some of the junk… including the forgotten junk I’ve shoved in closets and under beds… good luck with all the packing!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 5:21 am

      Thank you! I will use this opportunity to purge. Must discard junk, must discard junk, must discard…

      Reply
  • 5. cindy  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 7:55 am

    ugh, just thinking of moving makes me want to scream! lol good luck!

    i have an advantage this time when i move though…i know that we will need to move by next june, so i am slowly working my way through our clutter, room by room. will i have it done by next june? um, i hope so?…

    Reply
  • 6. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Based on our moving experience, I would say … GET RID OF AS MUCH STUFF AS YOU POSSIBLY CAN!

    Reply
    • 7. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 12:36 pm

      I agree!

      Reply
  • 8. Jax  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Three piles, or is it four? Keep, donate discard, & sell. Your post yesterday was delightful. Loved the pictures.

    Reply
    • 9. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 12:36 pm

      Thank you!

      Reply
  • 10. starlaschat  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Boy, clutter and going thru stuff and making decisions. One of my least favorite things to do. Not fun. When I hit the picture on this post I thought for a second I was going to see a picture of piles of stuff and boxes. ;+) Hang in there.

    Reply
    • 11. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      I just might put a picture like that in here, lol.

      Reply
  • 12. S. Le  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    I have moved house at least 15 times in my lifetime (so far) and packing and “culling” is the worst bit. Good time to be ruthless about getting rid of things you’ve been waffling about. Good luck to you!

    Reply
    • 13. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 4:30 pm

      Right you are. The “dispose pile” must be bigger this time!

      Reply
  • 14. Hannah  |  Wednesday, July 15, 2009 at 12:04 am

    That’s why I think it’s quite healthy for a family to either move or “pretend move” every five years or so!

    Reply
    • 15. Era  |  Wednesday, July 15, 2009 at 5:04 am

      Good point. I think we should try the pretend move every few years too!

      Reply
  • 16. Eric Richardville  |  Wednesday, July 15, 2009 at 12:56 am

    I always feel guilty when I throw things away. I have things that are so stupid and yet have such a paramount meaning to me. I eventually throw them away and then have a day if mourning.

    Reply
    • 17. Era  |  Wednesday, July 15, 2009 at 5:05 am

      I like that. Throw it away and then have a day of mourning. I think I’ll try it!

      Reply
  • 18. Doraz  |  Wednesday, July 15, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Era, before you know it…with the blink of an eye….you will be there! 🙂

    Reply
    • 19. Era  |  Wednesday, July 15, 2009 at 11:18 am

      Looking forward to it. But somewhere in the back of mind… there is the nagging fear that I’ll be sitting in my new house one night thinking “what am I doing here?”. You know, once all the hectic activity subsides.

      Reply
  • 20. Tony  |  Thursday, July 16, 2009 at 5:02 am

    I call Michelle the pack-o-matic, when we have moved in the past she is awesome. I am still standing around wondering what to pack or unpack first & she has the whole house packed/unpacked in no time. She’s a moving superheroine

    Reply
    • 21. Era  |  Thursday, July 16, 2009 at 8:10 am

      Do you think she’d agree to come help me?

      Reply
  • 22. Glennis  |  Thursday, July 16, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Love the photo..
    Sometimes you have to be ruthless and just throw things out, have a clean sweep.

    Reply
    • 23. Era  |  Thursday, July 16, 2009 at 7:47 am

      True, you just have to dig in and toss stuff out. Thanks for stopping by and nice to meet you Glennis.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

