Hard to Say Goodbye

Monday, July 13, 2009 at 12:41 am 26 comments

blow a kissI’ve realized that I now have one week to pack up my life if we are going to arrive in Austin on time.  Never having achieved superhero status, I think I’ll have to concentrate my efforts on packing – not posting.  If I can sneak in a post here and there I will, but just in case I can’t, here is an idea of what I will be doing for the next few weeks.  (to those who have tagged me, don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten.  Those posts are just a bit delayed 🙂 ).

I’ll be saying goodbye to the Meyer Lemon tree that we planted less than a year ago.  See how it lovingly put out two lemons for me.  I hope they’ll be ready to eat before I leave.

 Meyer lemon

This is my little mango tree.  It was uprooted twice to make room for large machinery during a construction project in the back yard.  It was 1/2 the size when we planted it.  Too bad we weren’t able to have any fruit before leaving.  I’ll miss it.

 mango tree

This darling avacado tree  is about 3 feet tall.  It has the potential to become 30 feet tall.  It’s already grown a foot.  Hopefully we’ll meet again.  It will be taller, and I’ll try not to get any older – good luck with that!

 Avacado tree

This is the chrysallis of a caterpillar that ate up all of my milkweed – notice the bare branches.  Apparently his brother is a moocher.  Good luck little butterfly within.

 caterpillar and chrysallis

This toad lives under the milkweek plants.  Would it be rude if I said I won’t miss him?

Toad under milkweed plant

 

Here is the pineapple plant I planted.  After eating a store bought pineapple I put the leafy top in water until it grew roots.  Then I planted it.  In a year or two we will have a fresh sweet pineapple. Rather, whoever lives here will have a pineapple.  Think they’ll save me some?

 pineapple plant

Sun bromiliads are some of my favorite plants.  They are very cheerful looking.

 Sun bromiliad

This is the tripple Chrismas palm we had planted and tied an orchid to its trunk. 

 Tripple Christmas Palm

 Thanks for the lovely bloom, I’ll miss you too.

 

goodbye orchid

These are our yard birds – no pink flamingos even though this is Florida.  Will I miss them?  Naw, they’re coming with us!

Yard birds

To put things in a different perspective, this is the children when we moved into the house. 

Kids in 1999

This is them now.  After loading the birds there will be some room left in the moving van so I’m taking the kids too!

kids in 2009

 

(blow a kiss image from here)

Entry filed under: Family. Tags: , .

The Verdict Is In Living in a Fishbowl

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. wordjunkie  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 1:28 am

    Ooh, take the toad too. he looks adorable.
    That is a fabulous garden, Era, you are blessed with green fingers.
    Good luck with the move.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 5:20 am

      Thanks WJ. If I take this toad, all his toady friends will want to come too. Trust me, there are a lot of them.

      Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 7:56 am

    it’s always sad to leave a place with a lot of memories. i know from personal experience…

    good luck with all your packing!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 8:22 am

      Thanks. This packing is a mountain of a job!

      Reply
  • 5. Nitya  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Love, love your garden! Maybe once you are settled into the new place you can start looking at new plants there too?
    Can we borrow your toad or his friends? None seem to visit our garden sadly.
    Happy moving…

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 10:38 am

      Thank you! I like crepe myrtle trees. They have lovely pink, white, or purple blossoms. I hope to get a pink one. I’ll ask toad what he thinks about travelling 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Nelia  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 10:01 am

    Great photos of the kids! How are they handling move?

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 10:40 am

      They are temporarily distracted by picking out new bedding and paint colors for their new rooms. This is the first time the girls won’t be sharing a room.

      Reply
      • 9. Nelia  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 8:21 am

        Ooh. And it doesn’t read that they’re too heartbroken about having their own space…

        Reply
        • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 9:36 am

          Having their own space was one of the conditions of a willing move.

          Reply
  • 11. Doraz  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Your garden will be missed, but you have new ground waiting for your magic! I can see you planning away in your head what you will be doing at your new place! I have gone back to the home we sold in 2000. My husband built it. It was weird to see all the plants had grown! I looked, then I moved ahead. My house now has our personal touch. You will have fun redesigning your place! I will stay tuned! 🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 11:12 am

      It is strange seeing the places we once called home, and noticing the changes. How did you know I’ve been designing in my head? You’ve read my mind! 🙂

      Reply
      • 13. Doraz  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 8:41 pm

        Scary, huh? I just figured you to be the creative type and a person who likes to “vision” their creation! 🙂

        Reply
        • 14. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 10:19 pm

          🙂

          Reply
  • 15. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Look how much they have grown, the kids I mean 🙂 Look forward to what is to come along your way. Imagine how much more the kids are going to grow in the new place you will call HOME.

    Its always hard to say bye to one nest and move on to the next. Trust me though, somehow the next nest always seems to be bigger and better 😉

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 11:24 am

      I know what you mean. It’s all good 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    It’s tough to leave a place you’ve obviously loved so well — sometimes I still dream about being back in New York in our log home out in the woods, which we left behind over seven years ago now.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 10:28 pm

      Log home in the woods does sound dreamy!

      Reply
  • 19. Camille  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    You’ll love the crepe myrtles here, and I’ll bet you can come up with lots of gorgeous stuff to plant. I wish I had a green thumb, but all I can grow is cast iron plants. 🙂 Your garden is simply astounding.

    I know it’s sad to say goodbye, but you have friends and family here waiting to say hello. Here’s to an uneventful, stress-free, and happy move.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Monday, July 13, 2009 at 11:46 pm

      Oh yes, thank you… uneventful move! Can’t wait to join you in Austin.

      Reply
  • 21. starlaschat  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Beautiful Garden! I would imagine that it would be hard to say good bye to. What a wonderful green thumb you have. I’m glad the kid get to have the joy of getting excited about having their own rooms I bet that will make the move a little easier.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks, I will miss the garden. Oh yes, the kids are into self expression via their room decor! I will do my best not to interfere with their choices.

      Reply
  • 23. S. Le  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Your children are so lovely. Precious.

    It must be very difficult to leave behind such a beautiful garden! Very nice!

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 4:31 pm

      Thank you. It is tough, but it was great while it lasted and we have to make whatever comes next the best it can be.

      Reply
  • 25. Tony  |  Thursday, July 16, 2009 at 4:59 am

    You have a beautiful yard & garden, the lawn is so ultra green & lush looking. We have just one fruit tree a peacharine, peach x nectarine,that hasn’t produced any fruit yet, I pruned it recently & I think I ruined it

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Thursday, July 16, 2009 at 7:43 am

      Thank you. After a severe drought, it’s now raining almost everyday so things are looking much better now. Hopefully your peacharine will be just fine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

