The Verdict Is In

Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 2:00 am 38 comments

scales of justiceIn the not too distant past, I updated my blog daily.  However, the past two weeks have been a blur of relocation activity that on some days… there have been no posts.  How uncharacteristic of me!  I’ve been engagged in a whirlwind activity, but I do hope to resume a more regular posting schedule.  I just wanted to let you know that the verdict is in!

In the post I Need Your Help , I included a poll to get your opinion on which city my family and I should choose for relocation.  The results are in and you have spoken!  53% of those who voted chose Austin, TX over Atlanta, GA and Chicago, IL.  So Austin it is!

Ok ok, I admit the poll wasn’t the  main deciding factor, but I do appreciate your opinions.  Now that the decision has been made, I have one week to find a place to live, organize the transition, and figure out how to pack up and transport all the stuff that we’ve accumulated over the last 10 years.

When we moved into our current house we had no furniture, at least none worth mentioning.  Then as the kids got older, we decided that we would prefer to sit on sofas rather than lawn chairs and beds (see More Paper Please for an account of  our furniture misadventures).  Now we’ve got to pack it all up and move.  So here begins another chapter in our lives.

In additon to suffering from “what am I supposed to do with all this household crap-itis”, I am awash in records transfers.  I need to transfer medical records from all sorts of health facilities for five people and find new physicians.  I never liked going to doctors anyway – maybe I’ll skip this step (just kidding,  sort of).  I also just realized that I need to inform the local schools that the kids are transferring.  I don’t want to get brought up on three counts of contributing to the delinquency of a minor when they stop showing up for school (alas, more record transfers).

It’s taken a month or so, but I’m finally getting excited about this move.  Knowing myself as well as I do, I know there will probably be a few sad and nostalgic days as well.  Hey, it’s all part of the process.

Entry filed under: Family. Tags: .

!!! Centennial Celebration!!! Hard to Say Goodbye

38 Comments Add your own

  • 1. richajn  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 3:47 am

    like you said, hey, its all part of the process.

    dont worry. it’ll be all right. once you get over the paper work and the search, am sure you & the kids will be thrilled to explore a new place.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 7:22 am

      You’re right, it is turning out to be an adventure. Although, I could do without the paper work 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Good luck with the move! 😀

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 8:30 am

      Thanks Cindy!

      Reply
  • 5. S. Le  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Sounds nightmarish to me! Hope it all goes smoothly for you. I also hope you like living in Texas. I would not.

    Anyway… bonne chance!

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 9:39 am

      Lol, I’m glad Texas has your stamp of apporval. As for the rest… one day at a time. Thanks for the good wishes!

      Reply
  • 7. Doraz  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Era, the fact that you all made a decision is great. Now, as you said…move ahead and see how it goes. Take it slow and easy. Maybe you can have a yard sale. That is what I did the last time I moved. I then donated stuff that did not sell! It was great. Now I have all new stuff to clutter things! You are all together. Main thing! Have fun with the move! Everything is crazy! LOL 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 2:14 pm

      Things are crazy indeed 🙂 . I had a yard sale at the beginning of the year because I wanted to reduce clutter. Now that circumstances are changing, Hubby is worried that we might need to buy some of the very things we sold! Right now it’s hectic, but I do intend to have some fun.

      Reply
  • 9. Nelia  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Congratulations! I, personally, love to move. I fresh start, but past experience. I’m so excited for you and yours!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 2:15 pm

      I like your perspective – fresh start and the wisdom of past experience! I’ll remember that.

      Reply
  • 11. Camille  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Howdy, pahdna!
    Yay, we’ll be neighbors! (Well, sort of, anyway!) Our little oasis in Texas is really great, and the rest of Texas is an amusing side note. I grew up in that amusing culture, so I can speak with experience. If you want *true* Texas flavor, just ask! LOL
    In your honor, my post today is about Texas sayings: http://theeclecticmom.blogspot.com/2009/07/texas-talk.html

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 2:16 pm

      Thanks Camille. I’ll mosy on over and check it out! BTW, do I need to buy a 10 gal. hat?

      Reply
  • 13. Just a Mom  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    HOWDY and welcome to Texas! 🙂
    Good luck with the moving part! I vowed last time we moved that that was it for me. The next move my kids will have to do for me because I will either be moving in with one of them or into a nursing home!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 2:24 pm

      Howdy and thank you! 🙂 My kids are holding out hope that maybe we’ll move back after a couple of years. But I’m like you, once I get where I’m going and I’m comfortable, I tend to settle in and not want to move again.

      Reply
  • 15. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Yippeee ! So Austin it is. You think we can meet when I am in Austin this August ? Adi has been asking to meet Humsi, Jani and Arvind ! Good luck with the move. Let us know if we can be of any help 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 2:26 pm

      Come on over, we should be there by then, but we might still be living out of boxes 🙂

      Reply
      • 17. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 4:15 pm

        Maybe one of the days I am there can be “Lets Unpack and get settled day” 😉

        Reply
        • 18. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 4:17 pm

          That’s sweet of you to offer but I couldn’t dream of torturing you like that 🙂

          Reply
  • 19. Lakshmi Srinivasan  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Welcome Neighbor! 🙂 Happy moving.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 2:26 pm

      Thank you kindly, ma’am 🙂

      Reply
  • 21. starlaschat  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    It is all part of the process. I’m glad your getting excited too.Sounds like you have been very busy and will keep up the busy pace. Glad to hear it is coming together for you and your family. I hope it is smooth sailing.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 2:28 pm

      Thank you Starla, I’m jus getting comfortable enough to start posting again.

      Reply
  • 23. Meluhhan  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Baby steps. Moving a life isn’t easy. But I bet the kids are loving the boxes!

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 3:33 am

      We haven’t even gotten the boxes yet!

      Reply
  • 25. Hannah  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Hi Era! Finally found a link to you via Camille, so I could thank you for the comment you left me a couple weeks ago at A Quiet Spot. It’s wonderful that you’re moving to Austin, although I wish we had more pleasant weather to offer you. Summer notwithstanding, it’s a terrific place to live!

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 3:34 am

      Hi Hannah, welcome to Today’s Thought! From our visits so far, I really do think Austin is a great place to live. It sure does get hot though, lol

      Reply
  • 27. Nitya  |  Thursday, July 9, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Happy moving!

    Reply
    • 28. Era  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 3:36 am

      Muchas gracias!

      Reply
  • 29. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Making a big move for us was a lot of work even without kids — I can’t imagine how complicated it is with all the stuff you’re going to be doing. But I’m sure Austin will be great!

    Reply
    • 30. Era  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 3:37 am

      I think Austin will be great! There will be an adjustment period but I think all in all it’s a good move.

      Reply
  • 31. Tony  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 4:27 am

    Enjoy the fun… We’ve moved heaps but have stayed put in our current house for 3 1/2 years now & I don’t ever wanna move again, it’s a nightmare. As I said, Have Fun….

    Reply
    • 32. Era  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 8:46 am

      Lol, thanks Tony.

      Reply
  • 33. Deepa  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Alright!! Welcome to Austin!! I look fwd to meeting you!
    Deepa

    Reply
    • 34. Era  |  Friday, July 10, 2009 at 4:58 pm

      Thank you, likewise!

      Reply
  • 35. dipali  |  Saturday, July 11, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Austin is a beautiful town! With lots going on. Enjoy.
    All the best for the house hunting and the move.

    Reply
    • 36. Era  |  Saturday, July 11, 2009 at 6:59 am

      Thanks so much!

      Reply
  • 37. emmap  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 2:28 am

    awesome! i finally have a sec to catch up! i think Austin will be fun!!! good luck!

    Reply
    • 38. Era  |  Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 5:20 am

      Thanks! I think so too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

