Really???

Friday, June 26, 2009 at 2:00 am 27 comments

Chicken fortune cookie

The other night we had dinner at Pei Wei – an Asian Diner.  At the end of our meal we did what most people do at restaurants that serve fortune cookies.  We opened them!   Sorry, I’m Captain Obvious.

Mind you, I don’t advocate that anyone conduct their lives according to fortune cookies – I certainly DO NOT!  But it is fun to read them.  So we each read our message out loud.  Out of the five cookies that we opened, three seemed applicable to our relocation conundrum and musings.

Cookie#1

               Adventure can be a real happiness.

 

Cookie#2

               Success is a journey, not a destination.

 

Cookie#3

               It is sometimes better to travel hopefully than to arrive.

 Life is about our experiences, not necessarily where we have them.

(image from here)

Entry filed under: Family, Travel. Tags: , .

Hotlanta! But for the Kindness of Strangers

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. In Love with my life  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 2:09 am

    So true, so true..

    Even fortune cookies are telling you…go ahead. Maybe THIS is what will change your life, for better.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 10:25 am

      3 out of 5, who can argue with those cookies?

      Reply
  • 3. richajn  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 2:30 am

    🙂
    sometimes, we get the messages / reassurance we most need in the most unexpected ways.

    so is the universe is trying to tell you that the move will be ok 😉

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 10:22 am

      Interesting, isn’t it?

      Reply
  • 5. wordjunkie  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Confucius say when three cookies concur, listen to the cookies.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 10:24 am

      I like the way Confucius thinks.

      Reply
  • 7. cindy  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 7:42 am

    that pic of the fortune cookie cracked me up…lol

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 10:01 am

      I like that one too 🙂 .

      Reply
  • 9. Nelia  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Pearls of wisdom and those suckers are tasty. Cookies provide so much good in the world.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 10:16 am

      I see that you and my daughter share a fondness of cookies. I like cookies a lot too. I’ve become sort of a connoisseur now. Once I tasted my daughter’s recipe from home economics class, I refuse to let them buy chilled cookie dough at the supermarket. I expect them to make cookies from scratch. Hey, if I’m gonna get fatter, it might as well be from the good stuff. Here’s her recipe.

      Reply
      • 11. Nelia  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 3:38 pm

        You know, Era, I haven’t quite forgiven you for not including Colorado on your relocation list. But this recipe will get you 99% of the way there.

        Yet another thing that my virtual twin and I have in common.

        (Now if only your daughter would send me a freshly made batch.)

        Reply
        • 12. Era  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 5:05 pm

          Only 99%? This is an awesome recipe!

          Reply
          • 13. Nelia  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 5:47 pm

            I gotta have some sort of bargaining chip with your daughter…

            Reply
            • 14. Era  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 8:00 pm

              Ahhh, leverage.

              Reply
  • 15. Doraz  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    I would say that those cookies are worth taking a listen to, right? 🙂
    I love the one you have in the pic!
    LOL
    🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 2:08 pm

      Can you imagine getting that one after having the General Tsoa’s Chicken? Who was this general anyway? Whoever he was, he must have liked food!

      Reply
  • 17. starlaschat  |  Friday, June 26, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Wow how nice to receive such nice wisdom from fortune cookies.
    I like it when that happens. I like the thought and reminder to enjoy life where we are at regardless of circumstance.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 12:22 am

      We’ve got to make the best of what we’ve got.

      Reply
  • 19. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 12:54 am

    I’ve always wondered why they call them fortune cookies when they seem to mostly contain advice and proverbs. But I have to admit that I do like it when I get ones that are applicable to whatever is on my mind at the moment …

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 1:12 am

      It really is fun. And I’m all for fun.

      Reply
  • 21. Nitya  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 1:54 am

    I am glad that there are so many positive signs! And I think you and your family are handling this really well!
    Way to go!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 3:25 am

      Thanks for the support 🙂

      Reply
  • 23. emmap  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    nice! mmmm pei-wei. now i am hungry. i had the pad thai and edamame there a few days ago for lunch. my fortune said, “you will be successful in a business of your own”.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 3:34 pm

      I’ll raise my glass to that. Cheers!

      Reply
  • 25. Tony  |  Sunday, June 28, 2009 at 4:12 am

    “That was not chicken” would make me wonder if they had a stray cat problem?????

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Sunday, June 28, 2009 at 4:26 am

      Ohhhhhh…

      Reply
  • 27. S. Le  |  Sunday, June 28, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Seems you are meant to travel!

    Love the photo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

