From the Road… Getting There is Half the Fun.

Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 7:43 am 22 comments

And I do mean from the road.  Our recent road trip was a whirlwind of activity.  Over the next few posts I will share some of this experience with you.  Sorry Nelia, we couldn’t make it to Colorado this time.  But when we do get there, I hope you’ll have the welcome mat rolled out.

In order to evaluate possible relocation sites  (employment upheaval – everyone in the country seems to be going through it) we decided to tour a couple of the cities that are possibilities.  Our path led us from Florida to Georgia, through Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana, then on to visit relatives in Texas.

Here’s a pictorial overview of the journey. 

Brave explorers ready to go!  Yes, the one in the back is knitting.  It keeps her busy.

 Ready, Set, Explore!

It takes about 8 hours for us to get out of Florida – it’s a tall skinny state like many of our beach goers (sorry no picture of that).  However, here’s a lovely stretch of highway with yellow flowers as we near the state line.  (I know, it’s a little disappointing after talk of sexy beach goers, but that is a sexy stretch of highway!)

 I-75 Florida soon to enter Georgia

After about seven hours of sitting in the car, we stopped to eat and stretch our legs.  Still in Florida *sigh*.

 NFla meadow

Georgia is on my mind.  We finally enter Atlanta SEVERAL hours later.

 Entering Atlanta

Nice view of Atlanta.  I’ll have more on Atlanta in tomorrow’s post.  After a couple of days in Atlanta – on to Texas.  We passed through a few other states on the way. 

Sweet Home Alabama!  These tanks in Alabama look really cool, although I have no idea what’s in them.

Tanks in Alabama

 

Now we’re entering Mississippi!  They have the best state welcome center – that I’ve ever been to.  They give you a complimentary cup of ice cold soda.  Feels great after sitting in the car for so long.

 Mississippi Welcome Sign

The Mississippi Welcome Center is even nicely decorated.  I think I’d like to visit Mississippi again.

 Inside Mississippi Welcome Center

This is a view of the mighty Mississippi river with Louisiana in the distance.

 Mighty Mississippi

Welcome to Louisiana!

Entering Louisiana

Late that evening we roll into Texas.  Jasmine is silhouetted against the sculpture outside the Texas welcome center.

 Texas Welcome Center

It was late when we got Dallas, so no picture.  We spent the night with our cousins.  Poor things, how did they get stuck with us?  We had a great time and they were wonderful hosts.  Thank you L,V, N, and J !!!

Next morning –  onto Austin. 

 Entering Austin

Here is the classic overpass system- I love it when a whole bunch of overpasses cross each other!

Austin Overpasses

Driving on the overpass!  I know, I’m easily entertained. 

Entering Overpass System

This is the new commuter train that services the greater Austin area.  Maybe we’ll get to try it out someday. 

Austin Commuter Train

In Austin we were also taken in by generous relatives.  Thanks for putting up with us R, R, K, and K !!!  Well, this was the trip in a nutshell.  Tomorrow I will post about Atlanta.  See you then.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff, Travel. Tags: , .

!!!Stressed!!! Hotlanta!

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 8:10 am

    your trip looks super fun! did you get an idea of where you may relocate?

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 8:24 am

      Got an idea, but holding off until some details get worked out.

      Reply
  • 3. Doraz  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Well, you are on your way to many wonderful, exciting adventures with your family! I loved all the photos. I felt like I was riding along! Next time can we stop for coffee, please? LOL 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 11:01 am

      Maybe even a bite to eat 🙂

      Reply
      • 5. Doraz  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 7:15 pm

        Sounds good to me!
        🙂

        Reply
        • 6. Era  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 7:51 pm

          🙂

          Reply
  • 7. Nelia  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 11:02 am

    (Sigh.)

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 11:04 am

      LOL! Trust me, I would love to come and visit.

      Reply
  • 9. starlaschat  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Loved the pictures!!! I feel like Ive been on a road trip.

    Funny Nelia a sigh just says it all huh Era. :+)

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 12:11 pm

      It was a great trip, but I’m still recovering. Sooooo tired.

      Reply
  • 11. Just a Mom  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Great pictures! Being from Houston. I know all about the overpasses! I hate them due to my fear of bridges, but I have gotten better I only partially close my eyes when I drive over them! 🙂 Just kidding but I do hate them!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 1:10 pm

      LOL! I like them because they make me think of a future with outdoor escalators and flying cars. I know it sounds silly but…

      Reply
  • 13. Eric Richardville  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    That looks like fun. The driving isn’t fun but getting there is great.

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 10:12 pm

      I think I’ll be doing a little more walking for now 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    I would totally throw up if I even thought about doing something in the back seat that required as much attention as knitting does — amazing!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 11:22 pm

      Somehow she manages.

      Reply
  • 17. emmap  |  Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 2:32 am

    i know it was a whirlwind; but definitely educational for your kidds, i am sure. glad you made it back safely and good luck with sorting out/weighing out your options.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 7:22 am

      Thanks Emma. I think we’ve just about sorted things out. When it’s a done deal, I’ll tell the tale.

      Reply
  • 19. richajn  |  Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 3:21 am

    some road trip! looks like u guys packed quite some miles!
    way to go!!!

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 7:25 am

      Hi richajn, thanks for visiting my blog. This was by far, the longest roadtrip we’ve done so far.

      Reply
  • 21. Jax  |  Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Did you wave to me when you passed through Louisiana?

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 10:37 pm

      Absolutely!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

