I’m Back! Did You Miss Me?

Friday, June 19, 2009 at 2:00 am 32 comments

road tripWhat?  What do you mean you didn’t   KNOW   I was gone?  OK, you’re right, I didn’t tell you I was leaving – so let me fill you in now.   I was on a road trip !!! 

With the decision to move to another state looming over our heads, we decided to go on a reconnaissance mission.  That’s right, our little mini van has logged over 4000 miles in the last 8 days.  That’s tons of miles!!!  Get it?  An American ton is 2000 pounds and we travelled 4000 miles!  … *I sense blank stares and cricket noises in the background *…  Alrighty then, moving on. 

This was quite the road trip and I’ll be telling you all about it.  Today I’ll start things off by listing a few observations from the highways and byways of America.

  1. We live in a beautiful and geographically diverse country.  Yet,  from the interstate highways, a lot of it looks the same.  There is definitely something to be said about taking the scenic route – unless you’re trying to save time and cross four states in one day.  (Yeah, I’m exhausted)
  2. The stuff brought to keep your family entertained in the car can quickly turn into a whirling vortex of clutter under your feet.  It’s amazing how much trash can accumulate in a car after the first few hours of a trip.  All attempts to keep possessions organized fail miserably and the vehicle deteriorates into a miniature, self contained landfill.  SIGH…
  3. During the nearly 4000 miles that we logged, calories were burned only by breathing, talking, and pressing the accelerator – whenever cruise control wasn’t in use.  Despite this fact, we consumed record amounts of junk food in an effort to keep ourselves awake while barrelling down the freeway at 70 mph (approx 115 kph).  
  4. Certain states monitor highway traffic more closely than others.  If travelling through Georgia, I recommend that you take your time.    We saw several state troopers in action.   
  5. Have you ever seen tire fragments on the side of the road and wondered “how did that happen?”  We saw the remnants of a tire rolling down the highway in the lane next to us after it exploded off an 18 wheeler a.k.a. semi tractor trailer.  Thankfully the driver didn’t lose control of his rig.  That would have been disastrous!
  6. Radio stations with programming you like become harder to find the further you get from home. 
  7. Technology is fabulous!  I was able to write a few posts before the trip and schedule them to auto post while I was on the road.  I was even able to use Hubby’s iPhone to reply to a few comments.   Free Wi-Fi in hotels -awesome! 
  8. State lines may be artificial divisions, but each time you cross one, it gives you a great sense of accomplishment.

(image from here)

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Our World, Travel. Tags: .

Enough Fond Memories

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I absolutely love road trips! 🙂 I love just viewing the scenes around me and all the weird little stops along the way. My parents took all of their kids in an RV and we went from NY to South Dakota once, as well as from NY to Florida. And there were no hotels involved…just sleeping in the camper. Good times 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 10:39 am

      Uh! The RV… I so want to do that. We always talk about it but so far have never done it. One of these days though…

      Reply
  • 3. June  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Hey Era, sounds like a lovely trip. I have only driven across california and nevada and was so struck by the beauty. And that there were errmmmgood roads that made the driving fun. Now only if we had them roads in your country in law 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 12:32 pm

      Nothing like a good road trip. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by the new highways being built between Bangalore and Mysore. Improvements are definitely being made. In the smaller cities however, I suppose you can still see a buffalo or two holding up traffic 🙂 .

      Reply
  • 5. Doraz  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Road trips have many opportunities.
    I love them, too!
    You have a captive audience.
    You have tons of entertaining moments.
    You have lots of junk food available to eat.
    I could go on and on…
    Glad you all had fun~
    🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 12:34 pm

      Talk about a captive audience! 😉 One of the things I like most about these trips is how much family time and interaction we get.

      Reply
  • 7. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    A road trip always starts off with Adi complaining from the back ” Amma, I am bored, what can I do now “. This mind you is 20 mins into the drive 😉 lol
    We still love doing road trips. Cause the I am bored, changes to a game of trivia, singing and watching a movie ! What would we do without one of them DVD players in the van !!! 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 1:24 pm

      You’ve got to love technology!

      Reply
  • 9. S. Le  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Nice. I like being new places but not the traveling to get there bit. There are inherent problems with that. A paradox if you will. Happy you had a good time. Happier still you are back.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 1:26 pm

      Thanks, it’s good to be back. Travelling can be strenuous so I definitely get your point, especially when I’m trying to get to the next rest stop to pull over and take a break!

      Reply
  • 11. starlaschat  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Auto posts very clever! Someday I may need to ask you how that works. Hope to see some picture of your trip. Welcome back.

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 6:33 pm

      Good to back, and yes you’ll be seeing pictures of the trip.

      Reply
  • 13. Nelia  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    The only question that matters :

    Did you or did you not bring your cute butt (as well as those of your hubby and kids) to Colorado?

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 6:34 pm

      More to come on the trip, stay tuned…

      Reply
      • 15. Nelia  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 5:02 pm

        For your sake, I hope the details include Colorado! Don’t make me come out to Florida!

        Reply
        • 16. Era  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 6:20 pm

          Visitors always welcome!

          Reply
  • 17. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 12:49 am

    My MP3 player was crucial to the success of our cross-country drive when we moved from New York to California, because when you’re out in the middle of the high Texas desert, there is NOTHING on the radio.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 6:55 am

      Exactly! We’ve been planning to get a decent speaker system for our MP3 or at least burn a couple of decent CD’s from it. Procrastination came back to bite us in the butt when we were crossing certain remote areas with nothing to listen to but road noise.

      New York to California – wow, that must have been an amazing trip! I’ve got to see those parts of the country some day.

      Reply
  • 19. Tony  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 2:03 am

    Ahhh travelling & junk food, like Laurel & Hardy or Batman & Robin, you just can’t have one without the other
    I was following a semi once when a trailer tyre blew, scared the absolute daylights outta me

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 6:59 am

      Can’t have one without the other! Travelling is my excuse to eat like a pig. I’m not sure what my excuse is at other times. Those semi’s can be scary business. Once I was crossing a bridge in New York ( I think it was the George Washington Bridge) and I accidentally took the level used by the big rigs. They were merging into the two lanes all around me and I wasn’t sure they could see my little mini van. It was a tense bridge crossing!

      Reply
  • 21. Mom Gone Mad  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 5:47 am

    Sounds like a great trip! So, did this help you guys decide where to move?

    We’re on tenterhooks here. Throw us a crumb, girl:-)

    And yeah, how do you do that autosave stuff? very intrigued now since I have an Indian vacation coming up in a couple of weeks!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 8:51 am

      If this blog were a soap opera or a Tamil series, (shout out to Maid in Malaysia) you could accuse me of trying to hold out for ratings. However, I’m in more suspense than anyone!

      Reply
  • 23. maidinmalaysia  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 7:43 am

    era!
    you are hugely sincere.
    how amazing of you to still blogaday even on vacation —
    now, i’ve gone and forgotten what i wanted to say…
    also , the term to autopost is soon going to be referred to as “doing an era”

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 8:34 am

      LOL! Yay, some thing named after me!

      Reply
  • 25. PURPLE HATTER  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 9:49 am

    ERA, I DROVE ONE OF THOSE 18 WHEELERS FOR 20 YEARS AND I HAVE LOGGED OVER 4 MILLION MILES ON THE AMERICAN, AND CANADIAN HIWAYS. NOW I DISPATCH TRUCKS AT NIGHT WHILE OWNING MY OWN BUSINESS I RUN DURING THE DAYLIGHT HOURS. I STILL FIND TIME TO BLOG, HOWEVER CRAZY THAT MAY SEEM. I DO NOT SLEEP MUCH NEED SOMETHING TO DO!

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 12:18 pm

      Did you say 4 MILLION MILES!??! Wow, now that’s a road trip! I was wondering, when a tire blows out on a semi, how do they change the tire? That must be a big job. Thanks for visiting my blog.

      Reply
  • 27. emmap  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 11:11 am

    that sounds like fun… ROAD TRIP!!! i’ll be on mine in about a month. can’t wait. luckily on this one i will only have to cross one state. but i am not looking forward to being the only adult driver… ugh. glad you made it there and back safely. and thanks for your email! 🙂

    Reply
    • 28. Era  |  Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 12:13 pm

      Hi Emma! Being the only adult driver is tough. I suppose in a couple of years your oldest will be able to help you out 🙂 .

      Reply
  • 29. bringonthejoy  |  Sunday, June 21, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    what a sense of perspective you’ve given me. We were just short of 1200 miles in the round trip it took us to get from Edinburgh, Scotland down the length of Britain to the bottom south-west corner, which is a county called Cornwall in England, then 10 days later back home again. Here in the UK that counts as a big trip. You live in a HUGE country, it’s so easy to forget how vast the USA is. I’ve heard people say Americans would drive the equivalent of the length of Scotland just to go out for dinner, which I presume is a slight exaggeration, but now I’m wondering….

    Reply
    • 30. Era  |  Sunday, June 21, 2009 at 5:26 pm

      Lol! We Americans can be a little crazy like that. Good to hear from you again. How are you doing?

      Reply
  • 31. dipali  |  Monday, June 22, 2009 at 12:08 am

    That trip sounds exhausting! And fun.

    Reply
    • 32. Era  |  Monday, June 22, 2009 at 7:21 am

      It was exhausting! But stay tuned for the fun.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

