Enough

Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 2:00 am 18 comments

Horn of PlentyWe often find ourselves wanting more out of life –  more of the good and less of the bad.  I find myself in this position all the time.  However, life is all about balance. 

Sometimes balance means having options but not knowing which road to take.  At other times balance means having only one available path.  Sometimes balance means things work out without a hitch, and other times it means that nothing goes according to plan.  There are times when balance means climbing high mountains, and there are other times when balance brings one step forward and two steps back.  

At Believe in Yourself my friend Luisa posted this lovely poem which really sums up the balance of life. 

I pray you enough sun to keep your attitude bright no matter how gray the day may appear.
I pray you enough rain to appreciate the sun even more.
I pray you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive and everlasting.
I pray you enough pain so that even the smallest of joys in life may appear bigger.
I pray you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
I pray you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
I pray you enough hellos to get you through the final good-bye.

Check out the full story @ Believe in Yourself, it’s quite moving and  gets us to thinking about what’s really important.  Have a wonderful day blessed with enough!

Oh, by the way, Luisa has another blog where she posts the joke of the day.  Check out Laugh with Doraz, it’s great fun!

(image from here)

Entry filed under: Inspirational, Miscellaneous Stuff, Poetry and Prose. Tags: , , .

Caged Lions, Stormed Castles, and Incomplete Puzzles…Oh My! I’m Back! Did You Miss Me?

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 7:50 am

    this is a beautiful poem. i totally agree…instead of wanting more, more, more, we should be content with enough.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 8:10 am

      It’s a new mind set isn’t it?

      Reply
  • 3. jentrinque  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Thanks for the link!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 10:43 am

      You’re welcome, enjoy!

      Reply
  • 5. Nelia  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Thanks, Era. I just dropped by her site. I can tell I’m going to have a good time over there.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 10:51 am

      She’s one of my daily reads.

      Reply
  • 7. starlaschat  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    That was really well said Era. And the poem at Doraz site Believe in yourself really is a wonderful wish. I really appreciated that poem too. Thanks for posting it.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 1:30 pm

      Hi Starla. When I first read the poem, it was as if it was speaking directly to me. I’m glad you liked it, even the second time around 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Doraz  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Era, reading all this is sending chills all over me! I am sooo happy you like that poem and that you found that story. I love it. I really embrace the message. Thank you for the mention of my blogs. I appreciate your kindness. I appreciate you!! You are someone who embraces the challenges of life, and you do what you need to do to survive~~~~ 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 1:51 pm

      Friends like you make it a lot easier 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Doraz  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Thanks Era~~~~~
    What’s cooking???
    🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 11:13 pm

      Oh, same old relocation conundrum…

      Reply
  • 13. Gary  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    That really is a wonderful poem! I have been a long time fan and friend of Luisa’s. Her blog is awesome as is yours Era. 😀

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 11:14 pm

      Thanks Gary and its good to have you back! I’ll be checking out your camping adventures on your blog.

      Reply
  • 15. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 10:31 am

    This is a good blessing — especially the last line.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, June 19, 2009 at 10:40 am

      Enough said, right 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. dipali  |  Monday, June 22, 2009 at 12:28 am

    This is so profoundly true!

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Monday, June 22, 2009 at 7:24 am

      It is deep isn’t it. I really like this poem.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

