Mama is Ready for Summer

Monday, June 15, 2009 at 2:00 am 24 comments

School booksAhhh summer!  What a great time for fun and exploration.  Free of the obligations of school, children have plenty of time for independent learning.  

I’m sure June Cleaver  would spend the summer encouraging her young boys to go outside and explore while she prepared nutricious meals and straightened up around the house.   See how fantastic she looks as she prepares dinner!

June Cleaver

Wilma Flintstone is another TV mom whom I have always admired.  Look at what she had to put up with – a caveman husband, an infant daughter, an elephant which doubled as a shower and a vacuum cleaner,  and a pig for a garbage disposal!  Despite all that pressure, she never had a hair out of place… and look at those pearls – I mean rocks.

Wilma Flintstone

 These TV moms have inspired me to get ready for a productive summer.   Anyone want to watch some classic TV re-runs?  Don’t worry about the kids, they’re busy researching the effects of too much television on developing minds.   We’ve got the rest of the summer to ourselves.

Domestically Challenged

 

 (image of books from here, June Cleaver from here ,and Wilma Flintstone from here)

Entry filed under: humor, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , .

I’d Like to Thank the Academy… Eeny Meeny Miney Moe

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meluhhan  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Aw, come on Era. Your kids didn’t raise themselves into being the talented youngsters they are! You juggle it all marvelously. Besides, your kids need a mom, not a perfect housekeeper. Not having kids gives me amazing perspective on parenting, lol.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 10:42 am

      You should write a book and I would definitely buy it 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 7:45 am

    i totally snorted when I saw the pic of you eating cheez doodles on the couch while watching t.v. LOL! I think many of us can relate to this…

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 10:47 am

      I guess no one will believe me now when I say that I really don’t eat cheeze doodles. Chocolate is my poison of choice.

      Reply
  • 5. Just a Mom  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 10:26 am

    LOL…I love this post! Do you have room on your couch for me? 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 10:48 am

      Come on over there’s plenty of room. Moms need play dates too 😀 !

      Reply
  • 7. Nelia  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I’ve always been partial to Betty and her contagious laugh. Plus, Betty’s patience with her son Bam Bam is beyond admirable.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 11:15 am

      The Rubbles were an adorable family and Bam Bam was simply too cute.

      Reply
  • 9. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Aww am jealous of you. Even if summer comes along, I cant stop working 😦 I wish I had those wonderful days back !! Enjoy it 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 1:50 pm

      Will do 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. S. Le  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    I love your photo. Time to relax!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 6:56 pm

      Oh yeah!!!

      Reply
  • 13. Mom Gone Mad  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Oh I get it. This is your totally lame attempt at trying to make us believe that you aren’t a smashing mum. D-UH.. like thats gonna work.

    Besides if that was true, Patti wouldave made toast outta you for not doing right by her Tam grandkids:-)

    Now move over, woman and share em Cheese Doodles.

    p.s. This picture encapsulates perfectly how I prepare for the bikini season.

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 6:58 pm

      Good point about Patti. I didn’t think of that. About bikini season, I didn’t know we had we the same workout! There’s space on the couch but you’d better bring some more snacks. This bag is almost done.

      Reply
  • 15. Nitya  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Giggle. After months of keeping 3 kids to a routine, I can tell you really need the time out…. I will send the chocolates care of armchair in front of the Tv. Just make sure one of the kids can be convinced to open the door! 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 10:59 pm

      Lol! I’ll tell them it’s pizza delivery. They’ll open up fast enough!

      Reply
  • 17. Doraz  |  Monday, June 15, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    We all have “those moments!” You are the best with entertaining people, so get with it! Do not slack off! Summer is here! 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 5:22 am

      Get with it. Right. Here I go! 🙂

      Reply
  • 19. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Mmmm, Cheez Doodles …

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 5:22 am

      I know, yummy!

      Reply
  • 21. June  |  Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Ha ha! Thats what i call a domestic diva! The kids can do the growing up by themselves. They will have to do it someday. A quick start is good 🙂

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 6:28 pm

      I’m all for raising independent children!

      Reply
  • 23. starlaschat  |  Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Cute picture Mama. LOL Looks like the command center with the remote.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Wednesday, June 17, 2009 at 2:28 am

      Central command ready for duty LOL !

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

