A Happy Place

Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 2:00 am 22 comments

Life can be brutal.  A positive attitude is essential and laughter really is the best medicine.   In fact my friend Doraz has a blog dedicated to that very thought.

As you may have figured out by now, I am a blog-a-holic.  I thoroughly enjoy reading blogs.  In fact, I can read blogs all day long.  Just ask my annoyed Hubby and wholly unsupervised children (I’m working on this – I’ll let you know how that goes).  While putzing around the blogosphere a couple of months ago, a came across the Happiness Project.  In one of the posts, Gretchen (the Author of the Blog) mentions keeping a mental checklist of things that always make her happy – memories, quotes, silly occurrences etc.  She refers back to the list when she is having a tough time or feels sad.  She calls it an area of refuge.

I’ve been thinking that I’d like to start up my own area of refuge.  I call it my happy place – a list of things that make me fall out of my chair with laughter.  I can’t trust my memory to bring these things to mind when I am at my saddest so I plan to keep a record of them so they’ll be available at a moments notice. 

I encourage you to start such a list also.   Maybe we could all share some of our funny make you laugh moments.  In later posts I’ll include funny movies and things like that.  Please share some of your “happy place” moments.  You don’t have to think of them now.  I know  it takes time to remember.  You can bookmark this page and send onethem in as they come to you.  I’ll start the ball rolling with a post from Mom Gone Mad at On a Wing and a Prayer.

I need to learn mindful eating. As opposed to mindless binging on crisps.

I am eliciting help from the folks at RealAge, who have incidentally estimated my real age to be 56. Or was it 58? Either way, it was the T.V’s fault.

RealAge experts offer the following spiritual pearl, in all likelihood nicked from a tome-like buddhist treatise entitled The Zen of the Raisin.

“To teach yourself how to eat mindfully, start with a raisin. Take a deep, relaxing breath as you pick it up. Look at it for a few seconds. Smell it. Place it in your mouth and roll it around on your tongue. Feel the wrinkles. Now bite. Note the chewy, gritty texture — the sweet, fruity, astringent taste. Extract all the flavor before you swallow. That’s kind of the idea with mindful eating — to savor the look, smell, texture, and taste of every bite. And it works! It had a huge impact on curbing chronic binge eating in a recent study.”

Sweet! Thank you RealAge. After an intimate sexual encounter with the solitary raisin, I’ve gone and scarfed the entire box.

My utter lack of food spirituality is killing me. There is no hope..

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

Poitu Varain I’d Like to Thank the Academy…

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nitya  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 4:55 am

    That had me LOL.
    I am not saying any more because wordpress is not publishing any comment of mine… but I am here and reading and commenting!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 6:47 am

      Sorry to hear wordpress is treating you like that. Bad wordpress, bad wordpress! However, this comment came through and as always, I’m glad to hear from you.

      Reply
  • 3. maidinmalaysia  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 5:20 am

    this post by “stray grey matter” — made me shout with laughter when i first read it

    http://straygreymatter.blogspot.com/2009/04/myriad-kaleidoscopic-moldy-stuff.html

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 6:54 am

      What a riot, especially the last part about the Bryan Adams concert! Thanks for sharing. I’m going to post the finished list for sure.

      Reply
  • 5. wordjunkie  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 8:00 am

    I’m rather addicted to art and comic blogs myself.
    My current happy place moment is of my daughter swimming unassisted, whooping with joy each time she finishes a lap .

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 11:50 am

      That’s certainly a happy place moment. Congratulations to your daughter!

      Reply
  • 7. Jax  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I can’t help smiling when I recall a story I read recently in Guide magazine. A young person was playing chess with his/her Mom on the beach by Lake Michigan. The Mom won. The child exclaimed, “Poop!”. A seagull promptly obeyed right on the kid’s head. The Mom laughed until she cried.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 11:51 am

      That’s a good one!

      Reply
  • 9. Doraz  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 10:17 am

    In those moments we feel like we can not go on, we all need that happy place to fall back on.

    Glad you are finding your place.
    Should bring you lots of smiles~~

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 11:56 am

      Thank you Doraz. For great fun check out my friend Doraz’s site Laughing with Doraz. Her joke of the day leaves me in stitches.

      Reply
  • 11. S. Le  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Brilliant! Loved it.

    I also am, by my own admission, a Bloggaholic. The first step is admitting you have a problem. But blogging and reading blogs is not a problem so hey, what are we going on about?

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 11:56 am

      Excellent point!

      Reply
  • 13. jentrinque  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Very funny and something I needed today! I can’t think of anything to contribute, but if I do, I’ll add it!

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 4:48 pm

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll be back!

      Reply
  • 15. Mom Gone Mad  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Aww.. here I am on a morose PMS-y day and you pull out of one of my funny bone days. *Hugs Era*

    Right now, you’re it. My happy place. Thanks, hon!

    Def. following up this idea. Gotta love Gretchen.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 10:22 pm

      If this made your day just a little brighter then mission accomplished.

      Reply
  • 17. Eric Richardville  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    That is a very good idea. It is nice to have a safe place to allow yourself to go and escape. I think we all could use laughter that’s for sure.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 10:23 pm

      True Eric, and your blog is definitely a happy place.

      Reply
  • 19. Dennis the Vizsla  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    I’m not sure I could spend that much time savoring a raisin unless it was covered with chocolate when I started.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 10:51 pm

      I totally agree. Chocolate is my only incentive to eat raisins.

      Reply
  • 21. cindy  |  Friday, June 12, 2009 at 7:59 am

    I’m starting to become a blogaholic, but I guess there are worse things you could be. 🙂 Reading and writing are definitely good hobbies to have, as well as learning new things from people on the internet, so I’m not too worrried about my habit yet. lol.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Friday, June 12, 2009 at 9:16 am

      You’re right there are worse things. But I will admit that I need some balance 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

