If You Give a Kid a Camera

Friday, June 5, 2009 at 2:00 am 32 comments

If you give a kid a camera …

You open up  a whole new world of expression.

Heather and little Heather

You just might change the way she sees the world. 

Heather's dew drop

A new perspective is revealed

Lone flower

 She may even see herself in a different light

Heather as Drama and Comedy

 But I urge your utmost caution – don’t let this happen to you!!!

She snuck up on me

Did I catch you off guard Mommy?  Oh my.

Heather's Surprise 

 Thanks Uncle Karl, for giving her the camera.

PS:  All pictures courtesy of Heather.  The hideous one of me was taken with my cell phone during an unsuspecting moment.  Luckily she deleted the close up of  my lips.  I would have felt compelled to include it here against my better judgement.  You know, in the name of art.

PPS:  Thanks to all of you who left encouraging comments on The Last Supper and I Need Your Help concerning our move.  It means a lot to me.

Entry filed under: Children, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: .

The Last Supper…No, not that one! If You Let a Kid Create

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 7:52 am

    that’s great that she has a camera! maybe she will develop a new hobby? 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 9:03 am

      Yeah, I’d say it’s a full blown hobby already. And the fact that the camera takes videos has kept her really busy. The link is a sample of her work.

      Reply
  • 3. Meluhhan  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Those are lovely pics! And she one of you isn’t hideous at ALL! On the contrary, you look great, you big fisher. Oh, and I read your he said, she said posts. I’ve ruined many a date talking about math. And I’ll tell people, family included, ‘Do you want me to prove this theorem for you if you don’t believe me? No, really, I insist, it’s no trouble at all!’ 🙂 You get the idea..

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 9:02 am

      I’m sending the kids over with their math homework in hand!

      Reply
  • 5. Jax  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Heather’s really talented. All of the pictures are beautiful. I especially like the first two. Any photographer would be proud of the second one.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 9:21 am

      Thanks, I’m amazed that she noticed those little things.

      Reply
  • 7. S. Le  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Heather shows real talent and is lovely besides!

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 10:58 am

      Thank you. I’ve got to encourage her to keep taking those pictures.

      Reply
  • 9. Nelia  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Meluhhan : Re fishing. I know, right? Could Era or her daughter be any more gorgeous?

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 10:57 am

      Awww, shucks. But let me ask you this, would you like someone taking a picture of you from an angle just below your nostrils? Didn’t think so.

      Reply
      • 11. Meluhhan  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 11:48 am

        They’re both absolutely gorgeous, Nelia. And if you can have a picture taken at a strange angle and still come out looking like that, you shouldn’t be complaining at all. 🙂

        Reply
        • 12. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 12:25 pm

          Ok, I’m just gonna say thankyou and move on.

          Reply
  • 13. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    She is truly an artist. Hollywood watch out 😉

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 12:56 pm

      Thanks. Someone ask Steven Spielberg to give us a call 😉

      Reply
  • 15. Nitya  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Era, I so enjoyed this post. My son has been running around with a camera since he could hold one and it proved two things to me. One, cameras are a lot tougher than they make them out to be and two, allowing him to take photos of me can create enough low esteem to work out the rest of my life…. 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      Cameras are pretty tough. I’ve sure dropped a few in my day and they continued on with a few mere scratches.

      I think they’re saving up the candid shots to use as leverage when they are older and want to stay out late with their friends.

      Reply
  • 17. nat  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    hehheh. be on your best from now on.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 2:49 pm

      I’ll have to hire a makeup artist to follow me around. Emphasis on artist.

      Reply
  • 19. searchingwithin  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Being a photography lover myself, I am fully aware of the joy that is possible. Just look at the expression she has revealed so far. How wonderful.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 2:53 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m thrilled that she’s found something she loves to do. And I think she shows great promise.

      Reply
  • 21. starlaschat  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    I Love that! Give a kid a camera, I think everyone should have a camera they are so much fun! That reminds me of a kid I know I may put a bug in his Grandmas Ear. I think he would also love to have a camera. Great Pictures, Well done can’t wait to see more!!!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 5:38 pm

      Thanks Starla. It is great to see the world through the eyes or lens of a kid.

      Reply
  • 23. Doraz  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Such a talented group…and great looking, too! The camera is as fun as you make it! I am glad to see you all having fun with posing~~~~~:)

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 9:11 pm

      Thanks. They’re a great bunch when they’re not saying “Mommy, I’m bored”.

      Reply
  • 25. Eric Richardville  |  Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 2:37 am

    My mother-in-law is addicted to her camera. I think she will love it. Very nice post.

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 2:50 am

      Thanks Eric.

      Reply
  • 27. Mom Gone Mad  |  Sunday, June 7, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Jeez, woman! Can you get that perfect skintone in a box somewhere? Pliss to send some:-)

    – – – – – – – gorgeous, talented family – if you’ll excuse the profanity!
    *hugs*

    Reply
    • 28. Era  |  Sunday, June 7, 2009 at 9:55 pm

      Perfect skin tone, huh? Thank God for fuzzy pictures 🙂

      Reply
  • 29. Tony  |  Sunday, June 7, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Great photos she took. She really looks like the daughter of a friend of mine, she could pass as a twin sister

    Reply
    • 30. Era  |  Sunday, June 7, 2009 at 9:56 pm

      Thanks, I’m going to appoint her as official family photographer.
      Long lost twin – now that sounds like an adventure.h

      Reply
  • 31. Eric Richardville  |  Sunday, June 7, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    I have something for you on my blog. Enjoy.

    Reply
    • 32. Era  |  Sunday, June 7, 2009 at 10:14 pm

      Thanks for the award, Eric!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

